We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well below par for a hotel that cost USD60 a night”

Royal White Elephant Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal White Elephant Hotel
Ranked #128 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well below par for a hotel that cost USD60 a night”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Hotel location and entrance are alright but once you walk through the door, one can't stop fantasizing of a property from the soviet era. The reception is in the corner of the lobby with a few chairs, tables and paper all around. Staff are pleasant though and always carry a smile. The lift worked but once on the floor one can't help noticing the state of the carper and the foot mat which are almost on the verge of disintegration. In the room the handle is loose and the key has an outdated plastic handle. They have used solid, oversized teak furniture but poorly designed and have it literally clogged the passage with very little space left. The bathroom is big enough and looks more like it's in an import from a lower middle class housing set up.

The bed has a red floral Chinese blanket but the linen looks fairly clean. I have not put my head on the pillow but hopefully I can still have a peaceful sleep. There are a few mosquitoes already and I wouldn't be surprised if a few other insects prowl the floor later in the night. The AC and the electricity though have been stable so far.

In short Myanmar and Yangon badly needs new hotels in all ranges. The staff need training and the equipments need to be upgraded and badly...I am sure this will not be the last of reviews you will be getting re: Yangon. But hey the city is lovely and growing and that is what will keep bringing people from across the globe.

Room Tip: Book in advance and try to book a standard to get better value as I don't think there is big dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btakhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    13
    10
    13
See reviews for
3
7
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

it was very bad ... after 2 week a this hotel never again .the first day was terrible tv doesnt work no hot water .water fall around the room , le service etais vraiment mauvais so dont try it never. the price is low but no no dont try it never!

Room Tip: the rooms are so bad, double bed is 2 small together so u can feel a piece of wood in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cedric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Paid USD 200 for 2 nights, rooms are old but OK, Minibar, TV (CNN, ESPN) and Aircon, better show up for breakfast (6-9) early otherwise you have to eat what's left over by the early birds (happened to me at 8.30) ... And better don't show up there with an overstayed visa, even if it's only a few days (which is actually not a problem at all in Myanmar, but for the staff there it is, made a really big deal out of it...) ...

Location is nice as it's very close to Inya lake and University campus, lots of small restaurants at the lakeside, Taxi to the city center takes around 25 minutes, 15 to the airport

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLJM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I've stayed at worse places, but not by much. Reserved on their own website, for a mid level room. About $38 US or $28 if you paid local currency. Now they've doubled the price, and are very unresponsive to booking requests.

Breakfast was pretty bad. It took two attempts to get a taxi that wasn't trying to fleece me, even though they assured me the driver had a meter. Nope, sure didn't.

Room service was ok, about $9 for chicken. Hopefully this hasn't doubled, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaimitoCartero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sæby
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Booked hotel on Agoda, but made an error, and couldn't correct it on Agoda. I had to change the date, but this was not possible. Emailed the hotel, which changed the date without fuss. Good food in dull restaurant, provided breakfast package to take along next day, leaving early.
On retrun from a trip to the south this hotal and many others were full, but they helped us find an alernative

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jensjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

we have room for 3, it was large room with one double and single bed, everything was run down, bed sheet were glean but old, room was dirty and so was bath room. Hotel is out side of center but quite nice area, close to lake where we had many nice walks and meet nice lovely local people, lots of different restaurants. Staff was friendly.
Brekfast was buffet with fresh fruit and local food, interesting and tasty, just need to be brave to taste it.
In Myamar you have to have cash...NO ATM's for foreign credit cards. And bills need to be smooth. Not every bank chance money either.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattitii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

we know it's low rated, just don't know how terrible could it be.
we booked the day before we arrival the .

and we have 4 person. this is the only hotel have a 3 beds room at last min.
the extra bed is just a mattress without the frame. cost 10 USD.
the first day our room is 104 superior room, the room have no window. the bathroom is smelly, the room is dirty, there is so many bad bugs and flys.
second day, we change to 2 room, and we found the price for foreigners is 90 usd, and standard room is 55usd. but for location is 1500 kbs which is 2 usd.
and the room is still dirty, we stay in 319, which you cant find the electric switch, after we called them, they open from outside some where.... and the bathroom the hot and cold water pipe is invert.
they had a room service at around 23:00, we did not called them, they served hot water and a small pack of the tea. but not happened on our second day.

the breakfast the first day is good, more location foods. it's tasty. but the second day they changed, i can eat the fruits only.

In Yangon, beauty land II which we stay on our first day , it is cheaper and clean and more organized. but we booked too late when we back to yangon. T_T

Room Tip: Do not stay this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch_Den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#114 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
63 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#77 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
4.4 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#98 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#66 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
186 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grace Treasure Hotel
Grace Treasure Hotel
#79 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#30 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal White Elephant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal White Elephant Hotel

Property: Royal White Elephant Hotel
Address: No 11 Kan Street, Hlaing Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11051, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal White Elephant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal White Elephant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal White Elephant Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing