We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hesitation recommending this hotel”
Review of Golden Guest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Guest Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here. The room was big and clean and without a single bug in sight. You even get a fridge filled with free beer, soft drinks and water. The owners are very friendly and speak excellent English so are great people to ask all the questions you want to ask about Myanmar when you first arrive. The breakfast was very good if you ask for the Mohinga and Coconut curry soup. The location is around 30 mins from town in a taxi but this isn't a problem as there are plenty of taxis and it only costs 3500k ($3.5). It's also handy if you're only spending 1-2 days in Yangon and it's much closer tot the airport than the places in town.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Patrickmassey4761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is my third stay at the Golden Guest Inn and I just love it. It's not far from good food (try the Shan restaurant nearby), and Hledan shopping area. It's quieter, cleaner, and much more friendly than anywhere else I've stayed in Yangon. It is run by a lovely hospitable family in their old colonial mansion and it's constantly improving and developing. The house and rooms have a wonderfully warm feeling to them (compared to many other places here). It's really great for families, friends or solo travellers. We've already booked in our next stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I just completed my fourth stay at Golden Guest Inn in Yangon over the past 14 months. So obviously I find this a good place to stay. It is fairly convenient to both the airport and downtown Yangon... depending on traffic! Each time I have stayed there have been upgrades and improvements to the facility. Although the rooms are pretty basic, they are spacious, clean, good aircon (although it labored in the 40 C degrees temperature), free beverages in the fridge, etc. A highlight is the friendly gracious service of the owners/managers family who live on site.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The Golden Guest Inn has a nice peaceful vibe when you enter its gates, and it is a great retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city life outside.

Equipped with excellent facilities, I always felt at home and relaxed when I returned to the inn. The only thing that bothered me was the weak water pressure of the showers in the rooms. Other than that, everything was great.

The staff is very polite and helpful and are determined to ensure that I had a pleasant stay.

tip: ask for the coconut noodles when given the breakfast order form, it is delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel for me is my 'Home away from home'. Staff are extremely friendly, obliging and well mannered, Hotel is clean and the breakfast is very good that even a second helping is required. The hotel is also strategically situated to good food outlets within walking distance. The staff have obviously learnt well from their manager who is very helpful and friendly. Every time I travel to Myanmar this is where I want to stay. It is always a pleasurably experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsianOutreachMsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've stayed at this inn 3 times now, and have grown rather fond of the place. Very cosy feel, simple rooms, comfy beds and pillows. My only gripe is the lack of water pressure for hot water, which really doesn't matter much in the summer months. Best part - breakfast. Fantastic offerings, make sure to order 'aung naw kao swee' or coconut noodles (not in the standard menu) for breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandaykwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I would recommend Golden Guest Inn to any one. Great value and the owners are very gracious, helpful, and considerate. I was able to converse in English, which for me was important. The rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
5.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
521 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
421 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 179 in Yangon (Rangoon)
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mango Hill Inn
Mango Hill Inn
#2 of 179 in Yangon (Rangoon)
82 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thanlwin Guest House
Thanlwin Guest House
#2 of 102 in Yangon (Rangoon)
144 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bond
Hotel Bond
#6 of 179 in Yangon (Rangoon)
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Guest Inn

Address: No. 182 Insein Road (near Than Lann Bus Stop), 9th Quarter, Hlaing Tsp, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £26 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Guest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Guest Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing