We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but very recently decorated room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clover City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clover City Center
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small but very recently decorated room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is a really nice little budget hotel. The copious numbers of staff were positively falling over themselves to be helpful.

The room was very small with few places to put luggage but clean and recently decorated. It had AC, working satellite TV and a hot water shower.

Taxi drivers can struggle to find this. Firstly there is another Clover hotel which seems to be better known - note it is a different hotel! It is in a little, dark at night, one-way side street (32nd Street) directly behind the large Traders hotel.

We found the location good it is only a few minutes walk to the fabulous Bogyoke Aung San market and you can walk into the downtown area easily.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    211
    165
    31
    15
See reviews for
23
162
102
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
BRUSSELS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

positive : brandnew, well situated in city center (right behind the Traders hotel) ; very friendly staff ; room and bathroom clean ; reasonable breakfast.
negative : AC noise prevented me from sleeping, switching off is no option as hotel uses sheets and pillows of synthetic material making you sweat as a dog. cotton please !!!!
rate booked via Agoda was a bit high also for the quality offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VINCE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed there for one night with my wife on the highest floor facing the back. Our double bed almost occupied the sleeping area with the dressing area separated by a column, bathroom is extremely small and everything gets wet whenever we shower. Our room is furnished completely in white and was spotlessly clean and very quiet.

Location is great being just behind the Traders Hotel, but the access road can only take in a 9 seaters coach, so we have to walk along the back lane to reach the hotel. The place is just a stone throw away from both the wet market and Scot Market, Sule Pagoda and a 15 minutes walk from Chinatown.

The complimentary set breakfast is but horrible but one can always pop in to Traders Hotel for a nice and exorbitantly priced meal. If you want a clean, quiet and centrally located hotel, this is it.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor and facing the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pccheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

the main problem at the clover city center hotel is the noise from the air con from the opposite traders hotel....worse on the front, a little bit better at the back. we had to change rooms.

the rooms are small, but otherwise ok and clean. staff is really nice and helpful and the breakfast is ok as well. i arrived early in the morning and i could get into the room as soon as i was there, that was really a plus for them.

if it wasn't for the noise i'd give it a ''good, but the noise on the streetside is really loud, so ask for a room at the back!!! not really good value for money!

Room Tip: if it has to be the clover than choose a room at the back and higher floors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Barker, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We only needed one last night in Yangon before our flight home. This hotel was excellent value for money and the staff (as is the case throughout Myanmar) could not have been more helpful and friendly. The WiFi was free and working very well throughout the hotel. The room was small but newly refurbishing and clean. If you like your traditional western breakfast you would be disappointed as this was a 100% asian breakfast buffet but then again this is the reason you travel in the first place. It's got a great location, walking distance to the Shwe Dagon Pagoda.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurence_baillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
363 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

There is lot to say about the hotels in Yangon and their prices. Had this hotel cost about half what I paid, I may have found it acceptable.

The room was small as I would expect single room to be. The TV was mounted on the wall. I didn't like the bedding at all.

The best part of the hotel is that is is right on back of the Traders. You can escape the craziness of Yangon and go to the cafe in the lobby and use the internet there on your laptop. You just need to order something to get a free code.

The service that I received from the employees was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoyaltyLobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

I'm shocked at the generally positive reviews for this hotel. My own experience was vastly different. The Clover City Center Hotel is located on a small, dirty back street--I thought that the taxi driver had made a mistake. The lobby is miniscule and the staff, though friendly, weren't very helpful. They didn't even have a map of Yangon. And I don't mean a free map--not even a map of their own for the guest to look at. Nothing. The room was tiny. The beds took up the entire room. In order to get out of the second bed, I had to slide out the end. The bathroom was bad as well. The bottom of the toilet leaked so the floor was wet the whole time. The sink wasn't attached to the pedestal so I was afraid it would come crashing to the floor. The cleaning staff didn't clear the trash from the room the next day. The view was of garbage on the roof across the street. A really terrible introduction to Yangon. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRBinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#44 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#17 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#29 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
#46 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover City Center

Property: Clover City Center
Address: No. 217 32nd Street | (upper block), Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover City Center Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Australian Embassy, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Shri Kali Temple. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Yangon hotel. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, 24-hour room service, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas. Guests can choose from 84 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Clover City Center Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, JovagoAsia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover City Center Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing