We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic accomodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clover City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clover City Center
Ranked #32 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Basic accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here one night. Breakfast is an optional $5 per person, but we didn't have it. Rooms are small, but clean and modern. Nice Sony flat screens hanging from the wall. Hot showers. Wifi is free and was fast for Myanmar.

Here's my only complaint. The sheet and duvet are like polyester. So very uncomfortable.

Staff was very friendly. Very centrally located and a good value. If it weren't for those uncomfortable sheets I don't know if I'd stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    209
    165
    31
    15
See reviews for
23
161
100
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed here 2 nights - prepaid rate via Agoda.. prepay via travel website is the only way to pay with credit card, since almost nobody in Burma takes credit cards yet. If you adjust your expectations, this hotel is fine for what it is -- basic, clean, good location. Superior room is fine for 1 person but will feel cramped for 2 people. Don't bother with the hotel breakfast - go to a local bakery or even Traders Hotel lobby has pastries for takeaway. Wifi is okay, not the speediest but faster during off-peak hours. Bathroom is a toilet / shower combo - Asian style - and yes, it's better if you wash yourself under the tap vs the shower. The floor will likely be flooded after a shower (there are flip flops provided for this very reason) but you can avoid flooding with some basic shower planning (ie, shut off the water when you are soaping or shampooing). My room stank of smoke when I checked in -- smoke was wafting in through the vent in the bathroom. Solution: turn on the fan and the smoke blows back up. Air-con is strong and works well. Unfortunately, the electricity is controlled by the key but this includes the fridge.. so don't store anything perishable in the refrigerator because it will shut off when you leave the room.

Room Tip: Taxi driver will likely not know where this is.. just tell them you are going to Traders Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank izzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed at Clover City Central for 3 nights. It is located behind Traders Hotel in a small back lane.

Pros: Good central location with many food options. Taxi rides to the main sites like the Shwedagon Pagoda is about USD 2. (2000k). And transfers to and from the airport about USD 7-8 (7000k - 8000k).

Cons: Weak shower: had to stand under the tap most of the time. Satin-liked sheets that kept slipping off the beds and provided little warmth, cotton would have been a better choice.

Paid about USD 100 for the room. Pricey by any S.East Asian country standards but there are little other options as Yangon is seeing a large influx of toursit and the accomodation and infrastucture seems underprepared to handle it.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew_X79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

One must understand how undeveloped Yangon is to understand that this hotel isn't actually that bad. The filth and poverty here remind me of Tirana Albania, Arusha Tanzania or Havana. That said, Havana is 1000 times more interesting to me personally. The street the clover city City center is on is quite dirty and stinky like most things in this part of town. We were taken first to the affiliated Clover City Hotel (not City Center) mistakenly, so make sure you clarify this with your taxi.

The room was tiny and totally white which gave it a sterile hospital quality. The staff seemed friendly and were eager to please. We opted out of breakfast here and ate instead at the big, Trader's hotel around the corner. We also had drinks at Trader's the night before which has a very nice bar area. If you want to save some money, stay at Clover and hang out at Traders, otherwise stay at Traders.

I travel a lot and love it. I have been many places and was so excited about Burma. After going there, I realize this excitement was I'll founded. The place is dirt poor and offers little. I am sure people more cultured than I will object, but for the average traveler, there are much better places to see in my humble opinion. I do want to visit the beaches in the south some day, but that can wait.

Trader's hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

I am very suprised at the positive reviews of the hotel.

I got to the hotel and was shown my room -- the first thing I noticed was the sewage gas stench! It was overwhelming and actually made my eyes tear up. I was told to keep the airconditioner on, which would get rid of the smell. After 30 min. (during which time the power went out), I went back down to reception and asked what to do about the horrific smell in my room. I was told, "all of the rooms smell". I went back to my room, opened the window, and let the air run another 30 min. During that time, the power went out again.

Also, it should be noted that directly across the street is some sort of church/temple/whatever, that blares over a loudspeaker a sermon of some sort for around 90 min. every evening. I could hear this quite clearly in my room.

I checked out and went down the way to Traders. For a bit more money, I got a very well appointed room that didn't smell, and I could actually sleep in.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassondra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed two nights here. The room was small and the bathroom smaller, but it had been renovated 9 months previously and was clean, quiet and safe. Definitely not luxury but had everything we needed including TV, Internet, New western style beds and spotless linen.

Breakfast was simple but good and again clean. Staff friendly.

It is within walking distance of all the centre of city attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Not cheap but comparatively cheaper than hotels in its surrounding. Great location / hotel for a short one night stay in Yangon

Not on the main road but a 3-5 min walk in either direction to the main bustling roads. Great location.

Bed sheets + pillow cases are made of synthetic cotton. Though not entirely uncomfortable, there is not much friction to hold your pillow in place (slippery pillow!) . If you are staying a few days, I would recommend bringing a pillowcase.

Wi Fi is THE BEST we have experienced in Myanmar!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenceLeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#41 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#16 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
#43 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#23 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover City Center

Property: Clover City Center
Address: No. 217 32nd Street | (upper block), Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover City Center Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Australian Embassy, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Shri Kali Temple. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Yangon hotel. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, 24-hour room service, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas. Guests can choose from 84 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Clover City Center Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, JovagoAsia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Clover City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover City Center Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing