We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, centrally located hotel”
Review of Clover City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clover City Center
Ranked #43 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Spotlessly clean hotel in a great location behind Trader's Hotel and close to Bogyoke Market. Yes, it's in a small dark street, but that describes most of the streets in Yangon! I stayed here for a couple of nights at the beginning of my trip, and decided to come back again for my last night. The staff were very helpful in providing me with any information I wanted, and getting my bus ticket for my onward journey.

When I returned I arrived at the hotel at 5am after an overnight bus journey, but the staff were extremely accommodating and were able to have a room ready for me by 6am! Like all accommodation in Burma at the moment it's overpriced, but I couldn't have asked for better service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngridHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed here during our last night in Yangon. Checked in here around 10-ish at night and to our horror, our last USD$100 had some stamped marks (from money exchange) and they couldn't accept the cash, nor credit card. Thankfully, there is a hotel nearby (3 mins walk) that could accept the USD and we managed to get some kyatts out of it, but at much lower value. Lesson learned, make sure your USD is CLEAN from any stains.

Came in to the room, was glad to see the toilet clean and new - that's a plus! But unfortunately the bed sheet and pillow covers are MAJOR letdown. My head seems to slide off the nylon-like pillow, no matter what position I put my head on. I end up sleeping on a towel...seems more comfortable that way.

Breakfast is located at the ground floor, just next to reception - using coupon provided and a western continental breakfast with egg, toast, beans and salami. Quite a crowd of people during this time, but was glad to check-out after 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask if they have cotton pillow case :P
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozerozeroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel is a spot of neatness located on a rather dirty street. Pros include location- within walking distance of the Aung San Bogyoki market and some of the downtown attractions. The room was rather small, but clean. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. They arranged a taxi for a day trip to Bago and also helped book our flight to Bagan.
As tourism picks up and more competition comes in, i feel their prices will drop. At present its overpriced for what it delivers- for asia.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

it is quite unbelieveable that we paid over 90 dollars for this place as the pictures posted on agoda.com are totally fake and misleading. at the entrance to hotel there is unbearable smell of sewer to greet you and the haphazard building delivers tiny dwellings called "superior rooms". Plastic sheets are horrible and the small bathrooms don't even allow you to sit properly on the toilet. At night sound of chinese businessmen singing karaoke from the next door hotel kept us awake.
The only positive thing I can say is the fact that the staff was extremely curteous and helpful. however stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattModine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The 'PROFESSIONAL' photos are misleading - they are off the other Clover hotel :(

hotel is in the backlane to Traders- very dingy, dark, smelly :( . Not a place you want to come back to
Its truly functional
Positives
Hot water
Clean sheets
2 bottles of mineral water
Location - 2 mins from Scotts market

Negatives
No room service
Only breakfast (at USD 5 Very very expensive)
TV is mounted at a height- cant watch it easily
super slow internet
Very noisy surroundings- some choir was singing ALL through Sunday :(

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mittalnehamittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

When our taxi drove into a little, dark alley dropping us at the hotel front door, we were a bit worried. But after seeing the interior & the room, we were quite impressed. To our understanding it is a brand new hotel. All things were tidy and in order. Staff were cheerful and helpful.

The hotel is comparable to an Ibis hotel - room is not big but clean. Reasonable rate - the Traders Hotel right behind will cost you several times more. Overall a nice choice at the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvinlee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Rooms white. Linens slippery and you need to beware that your quilt and pillows will fall onto the floor easily. Linens look clean.

Unbearable smell of sewage in the room and all over hotel occassionally (not all the time and depends on your luck). Staff of hotel said that ALL their rooms are smelly. (Haha!). They are nice enough to spray the room with air freshener but the sewage smell comes back immediately soon after. Recommend to bring your own potpourri kit.

Bathroom with no shower screen makes floor wet like bathing at gas station's bathroom!

Hotel management accommodative and service is prompt with friendly staff.

Hotel situated right behind the Traders Hotel where the car park entrance is. Not recommend for rainy season as the street right outside Clover may get very muddy (I guess) as it is uncovered and a typical backplane of a 3rd world country.

Better value and lower price in hotel opposite Traders (not in backlanes) with color of building "Red".

Guess will think twice should I have a choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie-Oliveraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#34 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
270 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#26 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
163 reviews
0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#60 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#31 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#11 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover City Center

Address: No. 217 32nd Street | , Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £33 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover City Center Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Australian Embassy, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Shri Kali Temple. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Yangon hotel. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, 24-hour room service, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas. Guests can choose from 84 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Clover City Center Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover City Center Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing