We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical hotel, clean room, and good location”
Review of Clover City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clover City Center
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Practical hotel, clean room, and good location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Location: The hotel is in downtown Yangon. Downtown Yangon consists of wider, busier main roads horizontally (and full of vendors), and narrower single-way streets longitudinally marked with numbers like 32nd street. Clover City Plus Hotel is located at the same street. You can walk to Bogyoke Aung San Market or Sule Pagoda from hotel for about 10 minutes. There are restaurants on the main road particularly Anawratha Road.

Room: My room was tidy and clean. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioner worked well. (Important in such a hot weather!) Wifi available in the room and the signal was ok. Don't expect fast connection. Toilet was ok but don't flush toilet paper into the bowl.

Price: 60+ USD per night (including tax and service charge) without breakfast in May from Agoda. (Originally stated >70 USD.) It seems to be acceptable since accommodation in Yangon is known to be much more expensive than in other SE Asian countries.

Staff: Friendly. I met one staff who speaks English very well during the day. Not so well for the night shift staff. The staff helped me to call taxi. It cost 3000 kyat to Shwedagon Pagoda and 8000 kyat to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Largeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover City Center, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Largeflower,

We thank you for your great review.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the location convenient, staff helpful and your bed comfortable.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    211
    167
    33
    15
See reviews for
23
164
102
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you are a tourist in Yangon and want to find a balance between price, location, quality and access to facilities this is a good hotel to stay. Hotel is tucked off in thin lanes of city center but interiors are well maintained that you will forget the outside lane completely. Location is in walking distance to many important tourist attractions and taxis are available round the clock. Staff was very helpful in everything. Yangon is expensive for hotel stay this place provides you best possible bet at optimum cost right next to Shangrila's location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharatMendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover City Center, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear SharatMendu,

Thank you for your comments about our location, exceptional staff and great value for money. Your high recommendation is most appreciated.

We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good overall. Yes, it’s a bit expensive for South East Asian standards, but the distorted supply & demand balance for hotel accommodation in Yangon has pushed prices up across the board. The hotel was well located, with easy access to some of the main hotspots, markets temples etc. Room was basic and a bit bare (wifi worked which is always a plus in Yangon). The shower was ok, although I (6ft1) had to do a bit of a limbo to get under it! Breakfast buffet was not great so I suggest you keep you appetite for some of the other great food that Myanmar has to offer… Staff was super friendly, helpful and overall just happy yo share their knowledge of the city!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DA_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover City Center, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear DA_Singapore,

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that you liked our location, warm and friendly staff. Thank you for your comments about breakfast. We will work on that.

Now that you have discovered us you must come back again, soon!

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The location is superb, sule pagoda is just 10 mins walk, all the interesting markets is just 5 mins walk

The hotel staff are very friendly, they were willing to entertain our requests

Wifi: above average

Comfortable bed

Easier to get the cab

Things to improve

They might add. In Burma food to their menu

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TVC1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover City Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear TVC1212,

Your suggestion is well taken to add more local style food to the menu.

It is with great pride that you say the Clover City Center hotel location is superb with a brief walk to interesting markets the Pagoda etc.

More pleasing is your enjoyment of our friendly entertaining staff, the WiFi, comfortable beds and ease of getting a cab etc.

We wish you lingering joyful memories of us.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have stayed for 2 nights only. This place is very close to some major attractions of the city, some of the markets etc. However my stay was purely for business so what mattered for me was that it provided the basic needs of accommodation and services fine and it was clean. People were really nice. It is located on a back-street alley, facing some hotel's garbage bins etc so it is not a pretty location if you are there to enjoy the place. If you don't care about that, it is perfectly fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AErinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover City Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear AErinc,

As a business traveler you are very kind to take a moment to express yourself regarding your stay with us.

Very notably as you say, we are very close to major attractions, complements our staff and concluding with the Cover City Center is perfectly fine.

We get the feeling we will be able to extend these same courtesies to you again.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have spent only one night with my wife in this hotel. Rooms are new and clean, with a small bathroom and no hot water (quite common in Myanmar). It is in a quite busy and narrow street behind a large 5 stars hotel, but conveniently located. Internet connection is included and working fine. All in all it has been a good choice for our very short staying in Yangon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0bert0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover City Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear r0bert0t,

We wholeheartedly with pride agree with you: All in all the Clover City Center has been a good choice for our stay in Yangon.

Travel well – enjoy.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here in March – I have stayed here before and I returned, so that says something, I suppose! Pluses are clean rooms, which are important to me, and good location right in the heart of the city. Every cabbie in the city knows where Trader’s is, so it is easy to have them take you there and then just walk around back to the Clover City Center. As others have said, there is also the Clover City Center Plus a few doors down, but basically indistinguishable from the Clover City Center (I have stayed at both).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcurtis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover City Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear mrcurtis08,

You have described us so well that I want to say every word one more time:

“Stayed here in March – I have stayed here before and I returned, so that says something, I suppose! Pluses are clean rooms, which are important to me, and good location right in the heart of the city. Every cabbie in the city knows where Trader’s is, so it is easy to have them take you there and then just walk around back to the Clover City Center. As others have said, there is also the Clover City Center Plus a few doors down, but basically indistinguishable from the Clover City Center (I have stayed at both).”

In our industry we hear the negatives rather quickly.

We will always remember your thoughtfully kind words.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#50 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#44 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover City Center

Property: Clover City Center
Address: No. 217 32nd Street | (upper block), Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover City Center Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. Also within easy reach are Australian Embassy, Bogyoke Aung San Market, Shri Kali Temple. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Yangon hotel. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, 24-hour room service, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas. Guests can choose from 84 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Clover City Center Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clover City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover City Center Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing