We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room stunk of sewage”
Review of Yoma Hotel

Yoma Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yoma Hotel
Ranked #113 of 169 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Room stunk of sewage”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We arrived late one evening and were shown to our room. It smelled very strongly of lemon grass and there was a machine bubbling away producing steam. We should have realised something was not right but asked for the machine to be removed as it was wierd. Went for a quick meal and came back and the room smelled a bit odd. When we woke up in the morning the room stunk of sewage. We asked to change rooms and were told this was possible and would be done by the time we came back. it wasnt but found the the lemongrass machine was back. it was late and Rangoon was packed and were unable to find another room and so had to, reluctantly spend another night in a room where everything, including the sheets stunk of sewage. In the morning i went down stairs and gave the reception a stern talking too and checked out. The manager apologized and gave us a $3 (three dollar)/10% refund. While the wifi, hot shower were excellent and the staff were polite it is just unacceptable to rent rooms out that not are not even habitable. so i have to unfortunately give this hotel a poor review. If you go here and your room smells of lemongrass....ask for another room as i really doubt they have sorted the drains out. i think if i had been given a room that did not smell of sewage i would have been happy to stay here longer

Room Tip: avoid staying in a room here that has anything but a normal smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elephantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the 3rd floor. Room was very clean and the bed was soft and comfortable. The hotel serves a variety of food. I recommend the sweet and sour pork. Most chicken dishes come bone in. You will be a little far from the city here, but minutes from the airport and within 2 miles of a nicer mall offering more western styled food choices

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Normal rooms were $50 but we took a $35 room which had an incredibly low ceiling, touched my head and I am 5ft 9! A bit like a hobbit room but was very clean with fridge and tv, aircon and water. Bathroom was downstairs from the room but not shared. No noise and comfortable. Bit of a walk to anywhere but we didn't mind. Can't comment on breakfast as we left early for a flight with a standard crappy breakfast box. They did kindly give us coffee before we left through (unusual for Myanmar) and there was good free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I was very easy for us to make a reservation at this hotel via email.  The staff was very responsive.  The bed was a foam mattress, like a very soft tempurpedic, which was surprisingly comfortable.  The location is on the eastern side of downtown Yangon, and it was an easy walk to the man downtown area.  The staff was very helpful in getting us reservations in Mandalay.  It was one of the best hotel staff we experienced while in the country.  They had a good breakfast which they brought to your room.   Wifi was excellent.

Try to get a room on a lower floor as there's no elevator.  Also, our room didn't have any windows but it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaffna, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I stayed in three different rooms on three different trips to Yangon over my holiday.
The rooms with no outside windows were large, comfortable and well-equipped. The room with outside windows was a bit smaller, but was very comfy with a great view over the railway and the mosque.

The rooms were all very clean and well-equipped, with everything functioning.

The staff were incredibly friendly, competent and helpful.

There are loads of great restaurants, bars and shops on the couple of blocks around this hotel and it is also relatively easy to walk around to some sites such as Sule or Botataung if you don't mind walking and enjoy wandering at a leisurely pace taking photos and stopping in tea shops.

I stayed in this hotel because it was near a friend's house, but I would recommend it to anyone as it was so friendly and well-organised.

Breakfast in bed at a time of your choosing was also a plus!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have windows - ask for 204, 304, or 404 if you'd like natural light. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piculetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Then room (twin superior) was large, air con worked well and was quiet, staff were very friendly and had answers to all my questions. Not a bad position, room and bathroom was clean, hot water was good, restaurant across the road had wicked noodle soup. Would definately stay again. Was meant to be staying with friends but they had to ostpone for a week. probably not a great place for meeting other travellers if on your lonesome.

Room Tip: Some of the cheaperrooms have a rather low ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cephalopodeatsshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yangon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A small hotel on Bogyoke Aunt San Street, Pazundaung Township, Yangon.

The clientele seem to be local business people, with a scattering of tourists.

The rooms are fairly large for this type of establishment but once inside it is run down. The sheets are clean, the aircon works and the bar fridge is not turned off when you leave the room.

But they need a plumber. Either the tap leaks or the douche pipe leaks.

On the plus side the current staff are great. They speak good English and are very helpful. But that could change with staff turnover.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver Green Hotel
Silver Green Hotel
#113 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Laurel Hotel
Grand Laurel Hotel
#62 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Star Guest House
Royal Star Guest House
#29 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pearl Inn - 3
Ocean Pearl Inn - 3
#24 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pearl Inn II
Ocean Pearl Inn II
#50 of 169 in Yangon (Rangoon)
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoma Hotel

Property: Yoma Hotel
Address: 146 Bogyoke Aung San Street | Pazundaung Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and JovagoAsia so you can book your Yoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoma Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing