We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cleanliness, terrible bathroom and overpriced”
Review of Hotel Pho Sein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pho Sein
Ranked #116 of 174 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in Dec at the same time as the SEA games. Paid around US$80 per night, way overpriced. This hotel is probably worth $30-40. We didn't have much choice due to peak season.

We booked the deluxe room via an online hotel booking website. In the picture there was a sitting area, but when we checked in our room was way smaller without the sitting area. According to them there were two types of deluxe room. So if you want the sitting area make sure you specify in the booking.
The staffs were very polite and helpful and they changed our room the next day because we arrived late.

We moved to room 602, the room is quite spacious, but their standard of cleanliness is very poor. We had a small kitchenette area with a sink. There were ants everywhere around the bench and the sink. There were stains here and there on the sofa. The blanket was covered by bedsheets top and bottom, but it looked old and dirty. We just made sure it's completely covered by the bedsheets at all times.

The bathroom was TERRIBLE. It was like half done, I posted some photos. The hot and cold water system were separated. There was no shower screen so when you shower the whole bathroom/toilet was wet. The toilet paper was unreachable as the holder is all the way behind you on the wall as you use the toilet. It was just the worst hotel bathroom I've ever seen. But apparently every room is different, so I'm not sure about the others.

Breakfast on the rooftop restaurant was quite decent. Not much choice but ok to start the day.

Wifi was intermittent. Sometimes it's good, sometimes it's not.

Staffs are probably the best part of the hotel. They're all friendly, helpful, some speaks decent English, some not. But they're all nice.

Overall it was an ok stay. Won't return though, might spend a bit more and stay in a 4 star or higher.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank straw610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a bland modern multi storey hotel quite some way from the city centre. The rooms are a decent size but the lighting is completely inadequate for reading. We stayed twice and both rooms had poor quality bathrooms with individualistic systems for obtaining hot water. There is a roof top restaurant which serves adequate breakfasts (very quickly) but there are few restaurants in the locality for supper. Rooms at the front suffer from traffic noise (but do have more sunlight)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front suffer from traffic noise (but do have more sunlight)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks for work. It was decent value for Myanmar, at $65 for the superior room. Large room, good aircon, TV, minibar and hot water (but terrible bed). Wifi very weak in the rooms, but works well in lobby and restaurant. Restaurant is average, but there is free room service delivery. The staff are trying very hard to give good service, and were very welcoming and helpful. If coming from the airport, skip the overpriced shuttle and grab a taxi for 8,000 kyat instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is like most Myanmar hotels... not up to the standards you expect in Thailand, for example. Room was adequate. We paid $100 for a family of 3 after paying $80 in Bangkok for what would be a luxury hotel, by comparison. Room had poor lighting and the beds were not comfortable. Bathroom was okay but not enough light to see what you need to see in the mirror. Staff was helpful but limited English. Breakfast was okay. Internet was good. Location is not the best... out of the way from most sights, but a good quiet night's sleep. Not enough sockets in the room to plug in your phones or other devices. Okay for a couple of nights...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBill53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Feb, booked on Agoda to make sure we had accom on arrival, they do have a shuttle, which we used on arrival, however it is US$25.00. Room was OK, think we had a standard room, about $65.00. Old large TV, but we weren't there to watch it, that was the only power point so used it for charging phones, cameras & hair dryer.Had hot water & the aircon was good. WiFi upstairs in the openair restaurant, used for breakfast, dinner & drinks.Breakfast was just OK, but same as most places we stayed in.There is a 24 hour mini mart at no 108. Close to Swedagon. 2000 kyats, approx $US2.30 in & out of the centre. Staff were pleasant but certainly not as good as other places we stayed. Service in the restaurant can be slow, esp if the girls are serving. They supply hot water when needed, just tell them you want very hot water.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreverdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Affordable rooms in Yangon are tight, so sometimes you need to be happy with what you can get. This hotel is recently opened, just before I got there. So it sounded like it was new. I googled it and found a local English paper showing this new hotel yet to open!

It isa new hotel , but the building is NOT new. They dolled up the front to make it look new, but its an older building. I could tell right off when I walked into the room and found everything so dysfunctional!!! Plugs in places you cant reach. No place for your bags that makes any sense. Must have been old offices or something that someone redid to make into a hotel.

That said there is good and not as good here. First off the price was right. I got a good deal on Agoda. I didn't pay a lot so I don't want to complain too much. Later I saw it wasn't on Agoda. Not sure if it is now or not. Other modern hotels could be priced several times what I paid.

Help was nice, however EVERYONE in Myanmar (save a few handicraft vendors at Bagan temples) is nice...so very nice! - so that is almost a given in the whole country. Worlds nicest people anywhere.

Location isn't downtown, but that isn't always bad. Downtown is busy! This is north a bit but too far to walk, You will take cabs where you have to go. Downtown is full of people and foreigners are no longer so rare. Yes a few people could be intrigued by you, but not that many anymore.

Go a few miles here and start walking, especially to the NE of this hotel and your a sensation!
Just like all over the rest of the country. Not many foreigners walk around up here. We found several fun walking areas to the NE of here. Places where people all eat out, the local fresh/traditional market and more. These people all stare and get excited over foreigners. Not like downtown. They love their pics taken. We got thousands of people pics, not just there but all over the country. Downtown though, its a bit different and if you just stay downtown you wont know what Im talking about. Yes there are people there interested in foreigners too but to a much lesser degree. There is a difference.

There is a rooftop bar, restaurant, and that is where the breakfast is served. You can get a somewhat decent view around town, and can see the Schwedagon Pagoda too. Its really not far.
Every day at breakfast they put up a board. You choose one of their options. It's not a lot of food. No buffet, no way.

When you exit the hotel turn LEFT and you will find a lady cooking on the street if you like that kind of deal. Food looked good. After that is a busy medical clinic with people coming and going in and out. After that is a branch of a convenience store you find in Thailand too..108 Mini Mart. You can get sundries, water, drinks, booze, beer, ice creams, etc etc in there. I was a regular there! Very convenient.

For eating, we tried the Indian place down the road. Good but VERY expensive. Far more than I pay for Indian food at home. What became our regular is the local eatery another 1- 2 down from the Mini mart. Waiters are young boys, which is common in Myanmar. Ages about 9-12. They have school during the day and go there at night. The one with glasses and his sister there with glasses too....often at the register are kids of the Dad who runs the place. There is ONE menu for the whole place as most are regulars and don't need a menu. Its for foreigners in English. No prices though. Nothing is all that expensive. Portions are small. A chicken curry arrived and it was like a dessert dish with one little piece of Chicken and a smidgen of sauce!
Well its priced cheap ...so just keep eating until your full. Rice, roti, and other things can fill you up. They also have pastries on display and they sit all over the place on dishes. Guess your on the honor system when you eat one as they cant keep track of them all over. I loved the bean paste one. We went back there several times. Its often busy and its the kind of place you sit on tiny chairs or those little plastic stools. Not the most comfortable for large foreigners but that's the standard not only here but in much of SE asia.

I was able to store bags here and return to the hotel. Just leave the bags against the far wall in the lobby.

Internet here is spotty like everywhere in Myanmar. That's a national problem. Hope it gets better soon. They say internet only works in lobby, but it often works on the first floor too, when it works, as its right over the lobby.

I paid the mid category price on Agoda but I don't think it matters. If I was to do it again Id take the low category as my guess is I was given the low category anyway, at least the first trip. Second trip there was a bathtub and much larger bathtub. So maybe I got the right category the second time but that was just one night only before flying out.

Electric plug--- the first room only had one and the TV was plugged into it and it was way back behind the TV. Not at all easy to get to. Needless to say we had to unplug that TV and it stayed unplugged the rest of the time. The second check in room had 2 plugs, one easy to get to and one you had to kill yourself to get to under a ledge and behind the bed, yet it was there.
------------------
Aside from the hotel, I enjoyed the zoo! 2000 Kyat and not far. Also Schwedegon Pagoda is the #1 sight in the country nearby. Don't miss it. We went once in the daytime and stayed 5 hours. Then returned another day at night and again stayed almost 5 hours. No place quite like it.
$5 admission for foreigners. No food or drink sold. But its worth it! Makes a Thai temple look terribly boring after you have been here! Bring camera with lots of batteries and chips. You can take pictures of everything and everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We spend 3 nights at the Pho Sein hotel, 2 on arrival in Yangon, 1 before out flight back to Europe (rooms 303 and 601). Rooms are okay and clean, not small but not spacious either. Bathrooms are okay too, hot water for shower and bath. AC and TV work (not always the case in Myanmar). Location is not ideal if you want to visit Yangon. You always need a taxi to get downtown or to Schwedagon, but then there are plenty going left when you leave the hotel. We had dinner twice at the roof top restaurant, being too tired after a day wandering through the streets of Yangon (and no attractive restaurants in the close neighbourhood) . The food is okay (I'm not saying that it is good.), ordering was sign language since the girl (friendly) did not speak one word of English, tablecloth had stains all over which we covered with napkins, but the cool breeze and the view over Yangon is worth at least one visit. Free internet in the lobby works, but it would be great if they would put some light in the PC corner. At the reception desk we ordered twice a taxi to get us to the airport, and these were right on time.

Room Tip: 601 is just one floor below the restaurant and has a bigger bathroom that is better finished. In bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#14 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
985 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#19 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pho Sein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pho Sein

Address: 67B Pho Sein Road, Bo Cho Ward 2, Bahan Tsp, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £34 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pho Sein 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pho Sein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pho Sein Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing