We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near to the airport and Hotel tries very hard but still does not meet my mark”
Review of Avenue 64 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avenue 64 Hotel
Ranked #77 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you need a hotel halfway between the airport and the city centre, and must absolutely stay in this location, then there is limited choices and Avenue 64 may be the obvious choice. But don't expect it to be cheap - hotels rates in Yangon are expensive.

avenue 64 Hotel staff are friendly starting from the porters at main door, reception and the only eatery (don't call it a restaurant). If you expectations are not high and are used to the typical smallish hotels in Europe, then Avenue 64 would sound okay. rooms are large nicely decorated but cheap furniture (probably expensive in Yangon). Mattress together with the pillows are fine and feel clean. However, I have issues with well worn towels and cheap carpets.

The traditional massage on the roof top is very relaxing - rooms are divided with curtains. But the area in the roof top needs cleaning.

The 5 minutes walk to Junction Centre (turn right as you exit the hotel into the main road) can be an adventure at night - traffic is very heavy and crossing the road to reach the other side can be a tricky affair, and be careful of potholes on the equally worn out footpath. Junction Center has a well stocked modern supermarket and 2 levels of shops, about 2 bakeries and a Korean burger joint - Lotteria. Further down the road is a Thai-Chinese-Korean restaurant, local food stalls and a Korean food place plus a money exchange booth outside the Korean food place. Hotel Yangon can be seen at the road junction ahead.

Overall, the hotel tries very hard but the lack of experience in running a hotel is obvious which hopefully will change eventually. it is probably above average considering the lack of quality hotels in Yangon and way down low by international standards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merpati88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at Avenue 64 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Merp,

Greeting from Avenue 64 Management,

First and foremost, we are very much appreciated that spending your time to write a review of beautiful Avenue 64 Hotel.

We always endeavour to meet our guest expectations and ensure we deliver a memorable experience. We appreciate your feedback and noted among all concerned. We will look into details in the areas that have been highlighted. Your comments have already been passed on to the departments involved.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here at the beginning and at the end of our 2 weeks Myanmar trip and it is a good choice, in my opinion preferable to a city location. We enjoyed the thai massage, even if the roof location is partly still under construction. One of the best finds we made was the Thai Fresh restaurant which is just 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel (if you get out of the hotel you turn left and Thai Fresh is on the other side of the street) - I found this in another review of Avenue 64 - it is not listed amongst Yangon restaurants (which is a pitty, will try to add if I find the address) - thanks for this very useful tip. We had dinner there 3 times and really enjoyed each time. They have AC and outside seating and the food is really excellent!

Room Tip: choose rooms at the ground floor to avoid noise from fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lea2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Avenue 64 is a relatively new hotel, quite close the airport. I was there in March, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. They always had a smile and were friendly. It is a bit away from the city and the traffic getting to the city centre is a killer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anoop350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is about as close as you can get to the airport about 10 minutes away. The rooms are nice and large and the staff is friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast offered was good with lots of choices both Asian and Western. We used their transport service back and forth to the airport. It was quite expensive compared to regular taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at Avenue 64 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Glam60,

Greeting from Avenue 64 Hotel,
It was a pleasure to read your feedback of your recent stay at our Hotel.We definitely do our level best to provide the best customer service to all our guests .

The feedback for our culinary service at our Eliq restaurant, means a lot to us, our chefs in particular, they work so hard to ensure your food is the highest quality. We certainly will pass on your generous review to the team members.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Avenue 64 Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

The managements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed in Avenue 64 for a few nights while we visited Myanmar. It's a little far outside of Yangon, but once we visited the center of town, we were quite glad to be away from the noise. It's a modern hotel and they are really trying hard. The rooms are large with modern bathrooms that are somewhat shoddy - our shower leaked onto the floor. Like many of our bathrooms in Asia, the lighting could have been a whole lot better. The service at the hotel was good, sometimes it took a long time to get the bill for food but they were doing their best. Nice breakfast and you can eat outside. The pool isn't ready yet. However, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieFas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at Avenue 64 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Ms.JackieFas

Greeting from Avenue 64 Hotel ,Yangon Myanmar.

Thank you for the great review and glad to know your feedback and noted among all concerned.

We are very much appreciated and value your choosing to stay in our hotels and We do hope you return to Avenue 64 Hotel in near future and we look forward to having you as our valuable guests,again.

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We only stayed here one night before early morning flights from the airport and the location is not bad given the worsening traffic in Yangon. The hotel is at around 6 mile so on a clear run (e.g. early in the morning) only a 10 min drive but in peak hour traffic is still a good 30 mins from the airport. Taxi drivers are not entirely sure of the location so take a map.

The hotel is tucked off the main road down a laneway and is a bit hard to see from the main road (watch out for the sign on the wall) but it is sheltered from the noise of the traffic. The building is new and in good condition.

The staff have reasonable English and tried to be helpful where they could. The rooms are large but with a very small bathroom. The design is quite nice and we were impressed by the arrangement of the mini toiletries!

There was also a large TV in the room and a mini bar but the Junction 8 mall is a 10 min walk up the road where the supermarket has a cheaper and better selection of snacks and beer.

The staff were kind enough to pack a basic breakfast because our flight was too early to make the 7:30 breakfast opening time in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are a bit noisy from the carpark so maybe ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at Avenue 64 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Talltaff,

Greeting from Avenue 64 Hotel.

What a wonderful review; thank you very much for taking the time to share it with us here on TripAdvisor.I will certainly share your kind words with all of our team here at the Avenue64 Hotel.And also ,well noted some of the concern point ,order to have wonderful experiences to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, as it is of great value to us.

Best Regards

The Managements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel looks great - modern and sleek - and is well positioned for the airport, but we had a few problems. Like many new buildings in Myanmar, the finish is really poor. We had a leaky shower and the soundproofing isn't great. Parts of the hotel (a bar and a swimming pool) are still being built and we had to endure drilling and banging for most of the day. When we asked to move rooms we were told the only other room available was next door which had the same noise problem. Our room was on the ground floor and there is noise at night from the basement bar which seems quite popular. We ate in the restaurant at lunchtime - nice service and food but expensive. At night we went out, turned left out of the driveway and about 5 mins walk away there is a brilliant thai restaurant called Real Thai that I would strongly recommend. We asked for a wakeup call for an early start to the airport - it never materialised. We also got a breakfast box to take to the airport which consisted of a cold fried egg, bread, and fruit - a bit difficult to stomach at 5am!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H, Manager at Avenue 64 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Carol16,

Greeting from Avenue 64 Hotel.

Thank you so much for your time to written review of Beautiful Avenue 64 Hotel.

We always endeavour to meet our guest expectations and ensure we deliver a memorable experience. We appreciate your feedback and noted among all concerned.

We do hope that you will return to Avenue 64 Hotel, again in future and we look forward to having you as our guest again. We will make sure that your upcoming experience with us will be enjoyable.

Best Regards

The Managements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyne Hotel
Wyne Hotel
#44 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
21 reviews
5 mi away
Summit Parkview Hotel
Summit Parkview Hotel
#19 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
669 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cherry Hills Hotel
Cherry Hills Hotel
#36 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon Managed by AccorHotels
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon M...
#53 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#32 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
96 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Green Hill Hotel
Best Western Green Hill Hotel
#15 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue 64 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue 64 Hotel

Address: No. 64 G Kyitewine Pagoda Road | Mayangone Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £40 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue 64 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avenue 64 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue 64 Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing