We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wijaya_Randu
Bruges, Belgium

Great potential but didn't manage well

Review of Rainbow Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Apr 2016via mobile
The hotel is quite beautiful colonial architecture, clean enough but didn't manage well. Room ( at least ours) is spacious but sadly too many things inside that didn't help to elevated to the next level.
Bathroom was small, which is fine the issue was, no pressure from the shower to make it worst the hose shower isn't comfortable to use.
Breakfast was another planet, Korean food was too bad that I can't even eat them during our two nights there. Luckily there is eggs so we are ok.
Staff are friendly and I can see that they are working hard, but what the owner needs is to rearrange the style of the place, get good management to straighten up the market
Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£95
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£64
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£61
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Infinity Pool overlooking to Shwedagon Pagoda, Trinity Church and Yangon City
£86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
£68
Fully refundable
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.6 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£35
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
£57
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£64
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
3.1 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£19
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£17
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.2 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
1
4
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
4
2
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Yes, the rooms are too small. Yes, the location isn't that great - except if you are a film buff and want to see the nearby film school and movie museum. Yes, this is for the independant traveller, maybe even a backpacker. But it is interesting. The common rooms are interesting. The personnel friendly. I did not regret my stay here.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KnowWhereMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I don't know the cost of our room as we were on a tour with a local company that booked it for us, but our experience at the Rainbow Hotel was dismal and disappointing. As seasoned travellers, we don't mind simple rustic accommodation as long as it's clean and comfortable and this place was neither. Our request for twin beds had been made weeks before yet when we arrived, we were given a very small room (one suitcase had to be on the floor) with only one bed. We changed rooms for the 2nd night but again the room was uncomfortably small for two people, it reeked of smoke, the bathroom was dirty with a constant parade of ants marching through it, there was no shower curtain (just the rod and the rings) and there were several loose floor boards, one had a big chunk missing. The ceiling lighting was dim and yet the table lamp provided was useless as it had a North American plug. The staff has limited English and tried to be helpful, but my impression was they were simply doing what the manager wanted and since she already had her money, she didn't feel obligated to go out of her way at all to make our stay comfortable. We were scheduled to stay there again at the end of our trip but we refused and had the tour company find us rooms elsewhere.The only positive aspect of this hotel was the breakfast as it offered a selection of both traditional Burmese food as well as Western.

Room tip: If you absolutely must stay here, avoid rooms 103 and 110.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We payed 50$ for a double room that was dirty ; bed sheets had been laid the wrong way round (the blanket was under the sheets), and the bathroom really was disgusting. Staff spoke really poor English and weren't helpful at all. Only positive point is the location as we could walk (20 minutes) to the main pagoda in town.
However Burma has standards of its own and I don't know what the hotels in the same price range are like in Yangon.
I don't recommend this place at all.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colada85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews