We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Clean-Good Value”
Review of Cherry Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cherry Guest House
Ranked #16 of 176 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on two occasions, the first time we had a room with hot water which was very modern, clean and had a great shower. The room and bathroom are relatively small but they are very functional. The second time, we stayed in a cold water shower room which is not as good a value as the hot water room but was still fine and very clean. There is a communal hot water shower that can always be used. The staff are also very helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mcshapir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

The location is wonderful! (Walking distance to the ferry spot, chinatown and everything!)

The staff is so helpfull and flexible!!

Breakfeast consists of two different (European and burmese) and you Can have both. It is ALOT better than in other places!!

Small things such as soap, towels, water, etc are also included! (They even asked if we wanted roomservice!)

We were 3, had our own room with own bath and toilet!

All in all, a very good place to stay! We would definitely stay here if we ever came back to Yangon!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmarej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This GH is near Sule paya and surrounded by many of guesthouse. You can walk around there to find something to eat. It's convenient to take local bus. I stayed there for 1 night in dorm room , i can say it's just ok for stay short time. The staff was helpful. Breakfast is included. i paid 12 USD per night for 4 bed dorm room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed at Cherry Guest House for one night in December. My room had a large double bed although no window. It was clean and the front desk was helpful. The location is not bad, right downtown and easily accessible by foot to many of the major streets. There was a fairly loud chanting in the next building which went on until midnight or so and thus was annoying. But for $25 it was a very good value, and from what I hear much better than most of Yangon. A serviceable breakfast of noodles. Good wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a backpacker's haunt, and many of the rooms don't have windows. I opted for room 501 which did, and it was definitely the right choice (for $45 per night). It was nice and spacious, complete with a small balcony. But it faced the street (true for all rooms) which means you will have to deal with some noise, but it wasn't that bad. The bathroom had no bathtub or floor divider, so the floor was sopping wet whenever I took a shower. The towels looked worn.

Mahabandoola Street is a great location--you can walk to Sule Pagoda, the colonial quarter around Pansodan Steeet, the Indian neighborhood, and the jetty. But you will need a taxi to go to
the magnificent Schwedagon Pagoda--one of Asia's treasures. Go there before dusk.

You can e-mail the hotel at cherryguesthouse@gmail.com and make a reservation. I didn't make the booking myself (Dimple Swe of 7 Diamond Express did it for me. Her e-mail address is dimple.7diamond@gmail.com. She's extremely reliable).

One of the advantages of staying here is that you will be in a residential district where you can mingle with the locals and experience the amazing street culture of this city. The plush, exclusive Trader's Hotel--a few blocks away--is bland and boring in comparison.

There are no great restaurants near the hotel--a bit of a problem. However, there are plenty of food stalls on the street (but eat at your own peril!). The Indian neighborhood has places serving south Indian food. And, for traditional Burmese food, try the Danuphyu Daw Saw Yee Myanma on 29th Street (within walking distance).

Yangon is a busy, crowded city, very alive and full of good energy. The people are warm and friendly. And the place is very safe. You need a day and a half to cover the main sights.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank tunai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a double room with private bathroom

Pros
- Very good wifi
- Room was clean and confortable
- Breakast included
- Not so expensive for Yangoon
- Manager can speak english and is helpful
- Good location near the Sule Pagoda

Cons
- No window
- Cold shower

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyrilMaraboO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend are backpacking around 'Myanmar and the first stop was cherry guest house.
It's around 30 minutes from the airport but whith Asian traffic it took us 1h. The taxi driver ripped us off with the change, charged us 10$ and give us back the less than he supposed to give us ( we gave him 20$ and he should have given us 10000 kyats back but he gave us only 5000 kyats, why? I don't know not very nice start)
Anyway the guest house is situated at the 4th floor of this building, not too noisy, but close to a Muslim mosk so u can hear the call. But hey u just sleep, rest and have a shower. Very nice people, few of them don't speak much English but they will get there. Very kind people and very polite. Our double room was little small that I have expected but hada. Fully working air con systematic no a brand new tv screen!!! No hot water no window but very comfy beds and pillows! Fresh cooked breakfast with 2 choices everyday and every day different. Wi fi and lots of smiles!! Def a place to stay for 25$ a night for a double!! Reccomended!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank italiangirl_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
510 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bond
Hotel Bond
#4 of 176 in Yangon (Rangoon)
83 reviews
0 mi away
Chan Myae Guesthouse
Chan Myae Guesthouse
#6 of 97 in Yangon (Rangoon)
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
15th Street at Downtown Yangon
15th Street at Downtown Yangon
#6 of 176 in Yangon (Rangoon)
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
MK Hotel
MK Hotel
#11 of 176 in Yangon (Rangoon)
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 176 in Yangon (Rangoon)
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Guest House

Address: 278 Ma Har Bando La Garden St, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £14 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cherry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Guest House Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing