We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Union Bar and Grill
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangkok
Level Contributor
187 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Staff very good. Nice bar, comfortable and good atmosphere. Good wifi. Beers ok.

Over priced food and the food I ate ranged from average to inedible. Chicken Tikka was obviously left overs from another year and re-heated in a microwave. Rice over cooked, and water logged. Smelt like kerosene ... likely left overs as well. Came with Roti which was not Roti but Mexican style flat bread. This meal was nothing less than grotesque.

The small plate of bread rolls given before the meal were nice. The appetiser of deep fried dumplings or dim sims were ok, the sauce was tasteless.

Moving to Yangon in the next couple of weeks and not so sure I will rush back to this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MG22Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    140
    55
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SIN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool bar”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner on Saturday night and the place was jumping. Mix of both young and older expats and locals (and the occasional Asian classic combo of old expat and young local). Fish and chips was good and Myanmar pints were cold and delivered promptly. Expensive by Yangon standards but overall value was good.

I would add that while I was drinking beer I saw some pretty energetic cocktail preparation going on. Normally barkeep flair (spinning shakers, bottle flips, etc) annoys me it did look like they were taking the cocktail mixing seriously. Would like to return and sample the mixed drinks...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CT_Mtn_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for tapas and drinks”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a great time at Union Bar - they have lots of easy things on the menu and good cocktail and alcohol options. There is a nice scene on a Friday night and lots of space for big groups! Would definitely recommend to any young traveler who wants to have a few drinks with dinner or test out the bar scene.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We loved the Union Bar and Grill, which we found quite by accident one very wet night. Superb atmosphere, attentive staff, and the food was amazing. We were in Yangon twice on our trip. and on our last night went there for another meal, and the food and wine was just amazing again, can't recommend this highly enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nothing to shout about”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Just a regular bar and grill.
Had to send back the first bottle of wine which tasted foul.
Second bottle was no better.
Food was so so. Grilled chicken was ok.
Friend's crab pasta was too fishy, a mark of unfresh seafood.

Waitress insists on calling me sir despite me correcting her, twice.

Would be a nice place to hang out for a pint or two.

Helpful?
Thank EileenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Bar and Grill also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Union Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing