We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summit Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summit Parkview Hotel
Ranked #23 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
202 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Super hotel and glad to return later in holiday.

Apparently some rooms have a view of Shwedagon we did not have this probably as we took a basic room rate. Large spacious fully equipped rooms with bath and comfortable bed. Rooms were in need of a little refurbishing or at least the bathrooms were but they were clean and tidy.

Friendly helpful staff . Excellent competitive money changer down hallway by shops on Ground floor. Internet use. decent restaurant serving great food especially the set menu deal Great pastries all be they $2.50 each. Nice pool area towels from gym close by


On our second stay our room was in a different side of the hotel and we found that a little noisier because of a bar/club playing music until late but it was only a minor concern

Room Tip: Room 638 was the quiter of the two rooms we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penwyllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    315
    179
    22
    7
See reviews for
60
168
50
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Super hotel and glad to return later in holiday.
Pros
Fantastic location within sight of Shwedagon Pagoda. Very special view. Large spacious fully equipted rooms with bath and comfortable bed. Lovely friendly helpful staff even by the high standards of Myanmar. Excellent competative money changer down hallway. Good traditional massage facility in complex. Good restaurant serving lovely cakes and high tea as well as the usual meals. (PS for spurge try the Strand Hotel for high tea as well). Good pool area
Cons
Some way from city centre but that's also a blessing. Noisy new restaurant on right hand side from front, not connected with hotel.



Cons

Room Tip: Ask for upper front rooms for view of Pagoda. Avoid right side overlooking restaurant next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a typical tourist hotel which seems to cater to either Western tourists or the occasional Chinese business type. It is well located if you wish to spend time exploring the Shwedagon ( a ten minute walk). It is a little out from the center of town but in a more quiet neighborhood than those in the middle of things further south. At any rate a taxi ride for a few dollars US will get you down town in 15 minutes or so. Have the doorman get you a taxi since it may take you time to flag one down on the street. It is good value for the money, but do not expect 5 or 4 star standards for the price. The reception area and ground floor was quite lovely with an average, but overpriced restaurant, some interesting souvenir shops, a bar and a very helpful business office where we met a lovely young lady who graciously purchased bus tickets for us to visit the Golden Rock. You can also purchase time on the computers ( for a nominal fee) in the business office to (functionally) access the internet which is a real treat after being in limbo for most of our trip through Burma (not Myanmar as named by the junta thugs. Let the people decide what to call their country when they experience a modicum of freedom and free expression. I suppose that this diatribe puts my chances for future visas in jeopardy. But at any rate, Burma might just well be a once in a lifetime kind of thing). Back to the Summit Parkview: The room we had was clean and relatively modern with a clean bathroom with hot water. It overlooked the Shwedagon ( at least the very top of it), which is lit up all night and quite a lovely sight when falling asleep. Definitely ask for a room with a view of this marvel. The service in the hotel was quite good without fault. Everyone from the front desk to the doormen were helpful and courteous. Basic English was spoken by many of the staff. The breakfast buffet was expansive with food appealing to all palates. We prefer congee ( rice soup or gruel), which was in evidence with all of the proper toppings, but omelets or fried eggs with sausages as well as pastries or cereal could also be had for those with more Western leanings. The hotel restaurant was just average and overpriced for other meals. I would recommend Feel Myanmar a few blocks away or Pandanmar, a 5 or 10 min cab ride, for your lunch or dinner needs. Although both are within walking distance, I would suggest taking a taxi, especially at night , since the roads there have no sidewalks and it would be a rather dusty and dirty walk. All in all, while this hotel is not exceptional, I think that you will find it to be good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kalevipoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon, uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Smart large hotel. Good location. Nice pool. Good rooms from 40$ per night. Noise from the nearby park road if at front and from the local dog if at the back.
Beer expensive (6$ US for a bottle, the highest price we found anywhere in Myanmar, usually 2$)

Room Tip: Earplugs might work
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our return to Yangon before flying out of Myanmar specifically because of its position. The first 2 nights of the trip we had stayed at the Strand (fabulous) and did all the downtown sightseeing from there. We had a room facing the Pagoda and we found it comfortable and more than adequate. The breakfast buffet was great but we did not have any other meals in the hotel as there are quite a few good choices around the area. Service was good and the internet was the best we had in the whole of Myanmar well worth the small cost involved. The money changer in the back of the hotel was very convenient and had as good rates as anywhere else. The benefit is you can easily walk to the Pagoda and the area is much more pleasant than downtown Rangoon with wide roads and parks. We were only there two nights but would recommend it for value and convenience. The choice is you can stay in the city centre and taxi out to the Pagoda or stay near the Pagoda and taxi into the city!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaBeachbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, West Yorskshire, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here at the start of a tour for one night. Large room with good hot water supply, unfortunately not with a view of the Shwedagon pagoda but the pool, which was good. Some of our party persuaded the manager to take us up to the rooftop to get a really good view of the pagoda at night. Free wifi too.

Near to several restaurants and of course the pagoda but not the centre of town.

Excellent buffet breakfast with a huge variety of western and local staples. Did not eat in the hotel apart from this.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
261 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was my first stop in Myanmar and I felt lucky to get a room facing the pagoda as requested. Seeing it light up as evening darkened into night was delightful. The hotel had everything I needed including reliable in-room Internet ($10/24 hours).The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet just fine. However dinner was beyond slow and the food we ordered disappointing. Breakfast is obviously their forte. The money changing facility in the back (past the hotel shops) offers the same rates as the airport and is quite handy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing the pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.6 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#19 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.8 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#12 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Green Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Green Hill Hotel
#17 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
#13 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Property: Summit Parkview Hotel
Address: No 350 Ahlone Rd | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Parkview Yangon is located in the up market vicinity of Embassies, Shopping Centers, Food Outlets, National Museum and the People’s Park. The hotel is a short 5-minute walk to the iconic 2,600 year old Shwedagon Pagoda, a must for every visitor to Yangon or a 5 minute drive to the famous Bogyoke Market, the historical market destination for tourists. Its a 10 minutes drive to Downtown and 30 minutes to and from Yangon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing