We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“11 current photos. Pleasant stay possible - with the right expectations.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summit Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summit Parkview Hotel
Ranked #24 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“11 current photos. Pleasant stay possible - with the right expectations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This property is rated as a 4 star hotel in Myanmar. It is not part of a large international chain and certainly lacks the staff quality and software to operate like an International 4 star hotel.

The hotel has some decent hardware. It has an impressive facade with a nice lobby which has been newly renovated(photos attached). Wifi is free and you can get your passwords from the business center(photo attached) at the lobby level. Internet connectivity is fast - unlike at many other international hotels around Myanmar. It has a great gym(photo attached) which doubles as a health club which locals join as members. The 4 swimming lane pool(photo attached) outside the gym is clean and large. The gym does not have a spa and you will have to call a nearby hotel if you want to get a massage.

The rooms of the hotel are very basic(see pictures). There are no safe boxes which is a major miss in my mind. No one wants to be carrying their passports and valuables as they go about their sightseeing or business meetings in Yangon. There is also no iron or iron board in the room. Furniture in the room is worn and the carpets could use a good scrubbing. On the flip side, hot water is in plentiful supply in the showers and the room has a water kettle and free coffee and tea facilities, along with free bottled water.

The lack of hotel management software in the hotel shows up in the details around the hotel. Corners are cut in the upkeep of the rooms. Furniture is scuffed, paint is peeling from the walls...There is also a strong smell of cigarette smoke throughout the hotel from the lobby to the hotel corridors leading to the rooms. Fortunately the rooms that we stayed in were fine and reasonably clean.

The hotel offers buffet dinners at US$18 per head, but there were few takers during my stay at the property. Contrary to some of the other reviews, there are a number of decent food options within walking distance from the hotel. Black Canyon Cafe is 3 minutes walk away(out the hotel and left on Ahlone road) and has a great selection of Thai and Western food and espresso drinks/smoothies. Black Canyon is part of a Thai chain of cafes and is a reliable bet for good and safe food. If you are more adventurous, you can take a 12 minute walk around the block(out the hotel turn left on Ahlone Road and walk for 5 minutes; turn left on Pyay road and walk for 5 minutes; turn left at the Indonesian Embassy onto Pyidaungzu Yeiktha Street, pass the French Embassy and the National Archives) to Feel Restaurant where, in my opinion, some of the best Myanmar food in Yangon is found(see other reviews in tripadvisor).

Beyond its proximity to Shwedagon Pagoda another huge plus staying at this hotel is that it is directly opposite from the People's Square and Park which is one of the major parks surrounding the Pagoda. This 130ha park offers some stunning views of the Pagoda. Tripadvisor does not have a listing for this park yet, but you can Google it to find out more.

Overall, I think it all boils down to expectations. If you are expecting a 4 star hotel in a international city - that is not what you are going to find here. I think that what you will find here is more like what you get when you visit a Hampton Inn in the US or an Ibis Hotel in Europe - a 2 star product with a decent room, amenities and a free hearty breakfast in the morning at a price which is lower than the International chain hotels like the Traders or the Park Royal in Yangon. If you check into this hotel with the right set of expectations, you should be fine.

If you have found this review helpful, please indicate. Thank you.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Dover C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    309
    175
    22
    7
See reviews for
56
165
50
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Considering this is a somewhat middle range hotel, its pretty ok. Its my resident hotel for my business trips so far.

Pros:
1. Clean rooms
2. Friendly staff
3. 15min stroll to the Shwedagon Paya
4. Wireless throughout whole hotel
5. Very good thai-burmese restaurant directly opp the hotel (I love it)
6. 5min walk to a nice Gloria Jeans coffee place which surprisingly opens till 11pm.

Cons:
1. Sub-par breakfast
2. Slow wireless speeds (but I think its prob the same with most middle range hotels cos the broadband is shared)

All in all, a fairly decent/good hotel. My main issue is with the hotel prices, which have been increasing rapidly over the last 12 months. This is happening across all hotels in Yangon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
283 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel has an excellent location and we had a room with a view! The Shwegadon Pagoda is stunning! I gave an extra point just for the view. The hotel is very basic. No safe in the room, no powerpoints in the bathroom, but it is clean. For Myanmar standards okay, I suppose. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine and the dinner was fine too. Wifi in the room.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Overpriced, outdated, food ok but nothing to brag about. No electric plugs in bathroom. Charged an extra $34.50 for second person. They do not take credit cards. The staff was plesant enough...but tried to charge us $20 for a lost key...we refused and left. Moved to Trader and were much happier with the room and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

The rooms are clean and tidy, although a little expensive for what you get - but that's the nature of the city. The pool is clean and has decent lounges. Don't order room service food. I spent two days eating Myanmar food without issue, but stupidly ate room service food on the second to last day so wasted my entire last day in bed. Just don't be tempted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crumpet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battaramulla
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Came with quite low expectations and I must say I was pleasantly surprised, the rooms were of medium size, the important thing is very clean and the house keeping was good. Front office staff and concierge were very helpful and pleasant. Wifi worked well in the room on my iPad, free passwords are given from the business center. The crowning glory was the location. within 10-15minutes from the city centre and located right opposite a park. Hence no sky scrapers or ugly bundling to stare at from your room. the environment was very quite and clean. And an amazing place to either go for a walk or a jog in the morning or evening. I would have expected a safe in the room..Myanmar is very safe and chance of theft exceptionally low for this part of the world but a safe should have been there in the room. The coffee shop was just passable the buffet was the same very day for breakfast and nothing much to offer any way. Of course some lovely places to try Myanmar cuisine within walking distance hence didn't have to use the coffee shop at all expert for breakfast. I strongly suggest you try them great to pace to interact with locals as well as enjoy their food and hospitality. The night club again not recommended...many better places to go to.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImalF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

The outside looks great and even the Lobby is pretty with staff friendly meeting you at the door with beverage, but the rooms need a major workover. Their is not a lot of restaurants close and the coffee shop close to the Summit has issues with food poisoning. Just be careful.

Room Tip: If you want to see the pagoda day and night, choose a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.6 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#18 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#11 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#21 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Property: Summit Parkview Hotel
Address: No 350 Ahlone Rd | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Parkview Yangon is located in the up market vicinity of Embassies, Shopping Centers, Food Outlets, National Museum and the People’s Park. The hotel is a short 5-minute walk to the iconic 2,600 year old Shwedagon Pagoda, a must for every visitor to Yangon or a 5 minute drive to the famous Bogyoke Market, the historical market destination for tourists. Its a 10 minutes drive to Downtown and 30 minutes to and from Yangon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing