We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over price too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Summit Parkview Hotel
Ranked #22 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I not really understand I been there 2009,March.everything not like same before.People in Yangon now chasing the money like in their rich neighbor BKK,but they didn't learn like BKK people very smart to cheating your pocket,they're very rough to clean your pocket.The rate almost double than before but service worse than before,not only this property,I heard some small hotel the rate increase 4~5 times.I feel people here like to use one year to get their lost past few decade.

Room Tip: Too far to city center,don't go there on raining season.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterstainless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Summit Parkview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

I have stayed several times at this place, using it as my base in Yangon. It is very close to the Shwedagon pagoda (and my office, which is why I stay here). It has a pool and reasonably well-equipped but dated gym. The staff are delightful, very welcoming and friendly.
Even though I pay a reduced rate (UN), the hotel is still expensive- a comparable sum would get you a 5-star hotel in Bangkok- and poor value for money. The rooms are very dated, carpets are worn and dirty, the A/C doesn't always work properly, nor does hot water and WiFi is slow. The hotel is currently undergoing renovation and the noise levels are intolerable- pneumatic drills being used inside a building early on weekend morning! This is the sort of work which would require shutting down the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Shwedagon are the best.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gweilosimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had our first and last nights here as part of our tour with 7 Days Travels and Tours P/L. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff are really lovely and helpful. The rooms are typical hotel style rooms and could do with a makeover. This was made up with a wonderful view of the pagoda at night time. If you can ask for a street side room. Breakfast here was great - excellent selection of hot and cold foods and good coffee (according to hubby and daughter).

We also went to the bar (both nights we were there were Saturdays). They had a great band playing with 3 girl singers who were excellent! The second night was a Latino dance night with a local Yangon dance school hitting the dance floor with much enthusiasm. It was a delight to see. Bar prices are good by western standards.

Fairly close to the airport - 30 minute drive in the early morning but a bit out of town.

Can recommend this hotel quite happily.

Room Tip: Ask for a street side room for a wonderful view of the pagoda at night!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amsfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

the foyer is grand and gets you excited, the rooms are dull and the poor wifi drains all the excitement away. Some rooms face the shwedagon pagoda and offer a great view, others face the swimming pool and offer average views. Bathrooms are quite old. I ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant which were both fantastic. Dinner was pricey by local standards but cheap by Western standards.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Harrison-act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple times, and for me it's a reasonable choice in Yangon. It's expensive for what you get, but it's walking distance to Shwedagon Pagoda, and is serviceable in all other ways as other reviewers have mentioned. As traffic getting into downtown can be terrible, staying out here gets you away from the worst of the congestion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Shwedagon view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I spent my first and last night at this hotel as part of a Peregrine tour. It turned out to be the most basic and charmless hotel throughout our journey.

On the positive side: wifi works well all over the hotel. Good towels and nice staff.

As others have pointed out; both rooms and communal areas are in need of an upgrade. It's clean but decor is blend and without character.

Ok for a night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This property is rated as a 4 star hotel in Myanmar. It is not part of a large international chain and certainly lacks the staff quality and software to operate like an International 4 star hotel.

The hotel has some decent hardware. It has an impressive facade with a nice lobby which has been newly renovated(photos attached). Wifi is free and you can get your passwords from the business center(photo attached) at the lobby level. Internet connectivity is fast - unlike at many other international hotels around Myanmar. It has a great gym(photo attached) which doubles as a health club which locals join as members. The 4 swimming lane pool(photo attached) outside the gym is clean and large. The gym does not have a spa and you will have to call a nearby hotel if you want to get a massage.

The rooms of the hotel are very basic(see pictures). There are no safe boxes which is a major miss in my mind. No one wants to be carrying their passports and valuables as they go about their sightseeing or business meetings in Yangon. There is also no iron or iron board in the room. Furniture in the room is worn and the carpets could use a good scrubbing. On the flip side, hot water is in plentiful supply in the showers and the room has a water kettle and free coffee and tea facilities, along with free bottled water.

The lack of hotel management software in the hotel shows up in the details around the hotel. Corners are cut in the upkeep of the rooms. Furniture is scuffed, paint is peeling from the walls...There is also a strong smell of cigarette smoke throughout the hotel from the lobby to the hotel corridors leading to the rooms. Fortunately the rooms that we stayed in were fine and reasonably clean.

The hotel offers buffet dinners at US$18 per head, but there were few takers during my stay at the property. Contrary to some of the other reviews, there are a number of decent food options within walking distance from the hotel. Black Canyon Cafe is 3 minutes walk away(out the hotel and left on Ahlone road) and has a great selection of Thai and Western food and espresso drinks/smoothies. Black Canyon is part of a Thai chain of cafes and is a reliable bet for good and safe food. If you are more adventurous, you can take a 12 minute walk around the block(out the hotel turn left on Ahlone Road and walk for 5 minutes; turn left on Pyay road and walk for 5 minutes; turn left at the Indonesian Embassy onto Pyidaungzu Yeiktha Street, pass the French Embassy and the National Archives) to Feel Restaurant where, in my opinion, some of the best Myanmar food in Yangon is found(see other reviews in tripadvisor).

Beyond its proximity to Shwedagon Pagoda another huge plus staying at this hotel is that it is directly opposite from the People's Square and Park which is one of the major parks surrounding the Pagoda. This 130ha park offers some stunning views of the Pagoda. Tripadvisor does not have a listing for this park yet, but you can Google it to find out more.

Overall, I think it all boils down to expectations. If you are expecting a 4 star hotel in a international city - that is not what you are going to find here. I think that what you will find here is more like what you get when you visit a Hampton Inn in the US or an Ibis Hotel in Europe - a 2 star product with a decent room, amenities and a free hearty breakfast in the morning at a price which is lower than the International chain hotels like the Traders or the Park Royal in Yangon. If you check into this hotel with the right set of expectations, you should be fine.

If you have found this review helpful, please indicate. Thank you.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Dover C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#21 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#23 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Parkview Hotel

Address: No 350 Ahlone Rd | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £56 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Parkview Yangon is located in the up market vicinity of Embassies, Shopping Centers, Food Outlets, National Museum and the People’s Park. The hotel is a short 5-minute walk to the iconic 2,600 year old Shwedagon Pagoda, a must for every visitor to Yangon or a 5 minute drive to the famous Bogyoke Market, the historical market destination for tourists. Its a 10 minutes drive to Downtown and 30 minutes to and from Yangon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Summit Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Yangon (Rangoon)
Summit Parkview Yangon Rangoon
Yangon (Rangoon) Summit
Summit Parkview Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing