We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, easy, and pleasant overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to help
Clean and comfortable room
Close to main downtown attractions and easy access to those farther out
Relatively good value given the recent trend in Yangon hotel room rates

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filiae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are pleased you had a positive experience at our hotel and will be sure to pass on your compliments to the various departments. We value service to our esteemed guests and it is great to hear that we were able to meet those expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to Yangon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when we first arrived. It was great! The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive (although some didn't speak a lot of English). The wifi works really well, with our own router in our room setup. The rooms were large and we had good views of the surrounding areas. TV was great with lots of channels. Room configuration was a little odd, but the shower worked well and was hot. Free bottled water was provided each day and rooms were cleaned well. The breakfast is great and was included, and is on the top level of building, so you can look out the big windows over some distance. Highly recommend and was good value. Much better than the other accommodation we had in Yangon. I didn't try it, but they seemed to have credit card facilities on site. Air conditioner was also great. No complaints, if in Yangon again this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick-IdeaBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are humbled by your very positive feedback about Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)! We deeply value guest service, so our entire team will be overjoyed that we provided good service for you. I am also glad that the WiFi worked well, which is something we constantly check on. It is a pleasure to hear that our hotel was good value for money and we are humbled that you will continue to consider our hotel in you coming visits to Yangon!

We genuinely look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit this wonderful city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel was new and clean. Separate sitting area in our room. Included breakfast was nice. Location in the heart of the Chinatown markets and close to other downtown attractions. The staff's English was sufficient but not excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to hear about your positive experience at our hotel and will be sure to pass on the compliments to the various departments. We are placing our staffs in training programs to improve their communication skills and we are confident that the next time you visit Yangon, we will improve from this mentioned weakness

We genuinely look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit this beautiful city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here two nights in december 2013. The price was $90/night which is not bad when you look at other choices. It is in the middle of chinatown and a bit noisy but we always travel with ear plugs, good idea for this hotel. It was clean and that is a big big ask in Myanmar. We would recommend this hotel as it is newer and still clean:) breakfast was very good, mostly Chinese but there was porridge, eggs, toast and cereal as well. I booked through email and paid on arrival, i looked at agoda but the price was the same, so why pay in advance. Check out my other reviews for hotels in Myanmar. Oh ya, to anyone buying the blue Lonely Planet book on Myanmar, it is WAY out of date. Good as a reference, but don't trust their facts things have changed ALOT. Use Tripadvisor it is much more reflective.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neptune1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you had a positive experience at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)! We work hard to ensure our rates are competitive and we are glad we were able to meet your expectations in this regard! I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the various departments and will be sure to pass on the issue regarding noise to our operations and maintenance teams.

We genuinely look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit this fabulous, historic city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is located directly in Chinatown, which is the most busy area in the city (but not crowded by tourists). The hotel is very clean and the hotel staff very friendly. Also the breakfast is good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you had a positive stay at our hotel and will be sure to pass on your compliments to the various departments. We highly value service and it is great to hear that you enjoyed the warmth and services our staffs offered.

We genuinely look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Yangon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Decided to stay here as a treat on our final night in Myanmar. Having stayed mostly at guesthouses half the price of this hotel we enjoyed the hotel-feel linens and nice bathroom. The best feature was the buffet breakfast. Overall this is not value for money, but is comfortable with no surprises.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to hear you had a generally positive experience at our hotel. We work hard to ensure our rates are competitive and we continuously research to make sure this is the case. We are also continuously trying hard to ensure we provide services and facilities that meet the rates of our hotel and is reasonable value for money.

We genuinely look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Yangon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Aside for the really over priced rooms, this hotel is awesome. The staff is really friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean. And when they say they have free wifi, rest assured it functions well and is relatively fast, which is a huge feat in Myanmar. The breakfast is delicious as well. The best part about this hotel is the location - right outside Chinatown and a few short steps away from Little India. We had some of the best street food right outside this hotel and it's just a couple of blocks away from 19th street, the place for nightlife in Yangon. Would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior room which was really spacious. If you have an issue with noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRS640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience at our hotel! With regards to rates, we work hard to ensure they are competitive and that we provide solid services and facilities that are good value for money. It is also great to hear that the breakfast was delicious! Many of our guests enjoy the location of our hotel, located right at the heart of downtown Yangon, and close to many restaurants, shops and nightlife activities!

We genuinely look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit this historic city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#18 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#33 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
565 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#25 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#19 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)

Address: No. 621 Maharbandoola Road | , Latha Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £31 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of downtown Yangon, a 5-minute drive away from Shwedagon Pagoda (a must-visit place in Yangon) and a 10-minute walk away from Sule Pagoda (the center of Yangon), Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) is located at the most prominent location in Yangon, Myanmar's economic capital. Imagine yourself stepping right outside our hotel and immediately experiencing delicious Burmese food (both street food and local restaurants), unique local shops and most importantly, warming welcome from local Burmese people.Apart from our promising location, Hotel Grand United goes with the vision that your satisfaction is key to our success. Committed to great hospitality and quality service, we genuinely care about your stay at our hotel. Given a harmonious blend of comfort and elegance, along with a panoramic view of Yangon, we sincerely hope you choose to stay at Hotel Grand United. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing