We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Ranked #31 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The diligent and delightful (youthful) staff make this a hotel option I would happily reuse and recommend. We all know the bang for buck is pretty surprising compared with most of Asia but in context this is good value. We stayed twice, the second time being booked after we enjoyed the first visit. For inner city, the rooms are a good size. Good quiet air con. Very clean. A nice city thrum throughout the night and a funny little breakfast restaurant perched atop the building. Easy walking to numerous sites and cheap cabs everywhere else.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cafehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you enjoyed your experience at our hotel, along with the services and warmth our staffs offered. It is also great to hear the location was accessible and suited your needs.

Our staffs will be overjoyed to hear your feedback and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit this historic city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Grand United after arriving in Yangon for one night before flying up north the next day. I was definitely concerned about finding a decent place to stay after reading so many articles mentioning sky-high roommates and sub-standard hotel rooms, but was relieved to check in and find myself in a clean, comfortable room at a well-run hotel with a friendly staff.

The delicious buffet breakfast and gregarious bellboys were among the highlights of my various hotel stays in Myanmar. The location is also very nice, I enjoyed wandering around central Yangon the next morning before checkout.

While the rooms are certainly not cheap, but Hotel Grand United offers more bang for your buck than you'll get at many of the other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Mingalabar!

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad that you were pleasantly surprised by the services and facilities our hotel offered. As we work to make continuous improvements to our breakfast, it is indeed satisfying to note that you enjoyed our breakfast. We are also happy that our staffs were able to offer helpful advice and suggestions, who will be overjoyed about the quality service offered to you.

It truly makes our day that our hotel was of reasonable value to you, at the very least, and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit this rapidly changing city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I and my 2 friends stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived hotel in early morning and after checking in. We were escorted to have breakfast on 7th Fl. And it was complimentary. We didn't expect it so we appreciated. And breakfast was not bad.
The hotel location was great !! Every where seemed not far from the hotel. Local shopping mall just 2 mins by walk. Big market (I forgot the name) just 3 mins. Scott market less than 15 mins. To Sule pagoda just 7 mins. Shwedagon and Botataung also cheap by taxi.
The room was a bit small but very clean. House keeping guy did a great job.
Every staff was super kind, so friendly and very helpful. They gave us many info. Also helped us about the bus and taxi. We bought sarongs (didn't know how to call in Myanmar) and wanted to wear to Shwedagon. 2 girls helped us to wear sarongs. We were thankful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jidee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great location in China Town, Yangon and Sule pagoda is just few meters away.
Room is spacious and clean. Breakfast is well prepared on the top of the hotel however the seats are limited that someone has to wait.
Staff has a good attitude and willing to serve and help but with limit knowledge on Yangon information. It is better to get the information from Tourist Information Center at the corner of Sule Pagoda just opposite the City Hall.
On the 19th street just one hundred meters away is a great place to hang around for drink and dinner at night.

Room Tip: Higher Floor is better to keep you away from the noise of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Din34eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel was clean, friendly, accessible to all major sites. Breakfast was adequate, location very safe ,superior room was a corner room .ac was great, room was quiet. We were celebrating 44th wedding anniversary and hotel had beautiful cake and champaigne waiting for us. Nice surprise. We arrived after midnight and hotel was waiting for us. Very reassuring in new city. In 2 weeks in country we used hotel 3 times as base for in country travel .our issue came when we asked for assistance in arranging bus to Ngwe Saung . We were told no bus for day we needed it . We had reservations and needed to get there. We asked about car and driver for round trip( 5 hour trip one way) they found car and driver 350.00 USD. We hesitated but agreed when told again no bus when we need to go.we arived without incident at destination and soon met traveler who also just arrived by bus from Yangon.acbus, ,lunch break ,2 toilet stops in 5 hours...cost 10.00USD. We were very upset to say the least. After returing to yangon 3 days later. The hotel ofered no explanation,and acted like they had no idea what weweretalking about. There was NO.LANGUAGE ISSUE...350.00 USD vs 10.00 USD. When we asked other drivers in taxiswe were given price consistantly of 200.00 USD. QUITEa markup for hotel especially when bus was only 10.00 USD.. THIS TOO BAD toto have this happen especially since all else was good .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lawrence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Mingalabar! Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel with regards to the location, room, facilities, breakfast and the nice surprise.

Our guest relations team has communicated with you back-and-forth having heard about this issue and even though we understand the issue has not been completely resolved, we hope there is a more mutual understanding about the occurrences. We place integrity and honesty as high priorities to excellent service within our staffs and the problem arose from mis-communication and mis-understanding about the precise times and dates of your following vacation. Our team here also researches thoroughly the best rates for our guests and as you can also research with online agencies, local agencies and forums, the rate provided by our staffs for a private vehicle was reasonable. Please be assured that our hotel takes no mark-ups from agencies and our travel partners, so the rates we provide are directly from these agencies.

Once again, we apologize for this inconvenience caused and this motivates us to work hard to ensure such occurrences do not happen again. Apart from this, it is great to hear that other aspects of your stay went well and we would like to show that we can improve upon the weaknesses mentioned - looking forward to welcoming you in your next visits to this beautiful city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

As a solo traveler this was a bit out of my price range (but where isn't in Yangon), however I felt the extra money I spent was fully justified. I arrived at 7am and although check in time was 2pm and the hotel was full, they managed to get me into a room at 9.30am for no extra cost. And I spent the two hours waiting in the 'restaurant' on the top floor gorging myself on endless supplies of crispy bacon and baked beans. Staff were great, wanted to watch a specific football game so they changed the channel so I could watch it in my room. Location also great Soi 19 in the evening is a cool place to be to meet people and try local food, 3 minute walk max.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Overall is good. Better than expected. Staffs are very helpful & good service mind. Breakfast is well prepared but the dining room is rather small. Noisy atmosphere but it's normal in central Yangon. Highly recommend for a middle-budget stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmMilikar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#18 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#34 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#11 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
615 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#26 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
#38 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)

Address: No. 621 Maharbandoola Road | , Latha Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £28 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of downtown Yangon, a 5-minute drive away from Shwedagon Pagoda (a must-visit place in Yangon) and a 10-minute walk away from Sule Pagoda (the center of Yangon), Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) is located at the most prominent location in Yangon, Myanmar's economic capital. Imagine yourself stepping right outside our hotel and immediately experiencing delicious Burmese food (both street food and local restaurants), unique local shops and most importantly, warming welcome from local Burmese people.Apart from our promising location, Hotel Grand United goes with the vision that your satisfaction is key to our success. Committed to great hospitality and quality service, we genuinely care about your stay at our hotel. Given a harmonious blend of comfort and elegance, along with a panoramic view of Yangon, we sincerely hope you choose to stay at Hotel Grand United. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing