We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Ranked #31 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The room is clean and comfortable. Bathroom is also clean with water heater. Free wifi with great signal. They also offered free breakfast which you will find on the top floor of the hotel so you can enjoy of litte view of Yangon while having breakfast. Staffs are very helpful and have servicemind.The location is where we can walk to Sule but a bit noisy at night from taxi in Chinatown.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamoltip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good breakfast, friendly staffs although with limited English. Clean room with amenities. They've let me checked in early (arrived at 9am) which was handy. Good WIFI connectivity. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JunieTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Grand United in Chinatown in Yangon back in April for 1 night. The hotel itself was clean, offered a free breakfast (that was good) and the staff were friendly and accommodating. My room itself had a nice sitting area and was street facing with a view of the activity in the city below. The bathroom was clean, bed seemed 'bug free' and the aircon worked great. The only slight annoyance was the wireless internet was spotty, but that happened at every single hotel and restaurant I visited in Myanmar. I think it's more of a country issue than a hotel specific issue. Yangon is a tough city to visit on many fronts, but this hotel seemed central enough for me to walk around or get taxis fairly easily. For an economical choice and a clean room, I would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkcarnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your positive review! This motivates us to work hard and ensure that we are on the right path for the high standards of services, facilities and hospitality we place on our hotel.

We will be sure to further work on the difficulties you face with our WiFi services and hope we can show that we can improve upon this weakness. We will also be sure to maintain our hotel's cleanliness, services offered by staffs and the comfort our hotel offers in such a busy and dynamic location.

We understand that we can further improve from the three-star rating and look forward to welcoming you again in this historic city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

One of the best value for money hotels in Yangon. It's walking distance to 19th street (Chinatown) so basically it's very easy to grab something to eat and all the cab drivers know the location of this hotel. Room was perfectly clean and wifi signal and bandwidth in the rooms were fantastic, especially for Yangon standards. Easy to get to Shwedagon Pagoda and Sule Pagoda from here by cab, technically I walked to Sule but I realized in the heat some people would avoid this option.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand United (Chinatown) twice, in total for 4 days.
It is a good hotel in a very good spot. you can walk to all the good placed and you will find the night markets right in front of the hotel.
the rooms are clean and the breakfast was good as well.
very friendly staff at the counter
if you have time, do the cirlce train ride.....it takes about 4 hours for 1-2$ pp and takes you around the whole city! worth it!!!
and food is great at the grillrestaurants, i think it was aroung 19th street.....you will see it, when you walk along the Maha Bandula Street

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idfatigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Location
Located in the heart of China town in central Yangon. It takes around 20-25 minutes from the airport and expect to pay US$10-12 in a taxi. Within the area is many shops, small walk way market & restaurants, about 5 blocks away or ten minute walk is the main China town street. Conveniently the hotel is on a quiet side street. This is in Yangon and the pavements are poor quality with many holes so be careful.
Room
The room is of adequate size with a simple but strange put together decor (varied different & themeless furnishings), however all essential items have been included. The double bed is firm but I found it comfortable & slept very well. There is a large arm chair and foot stall, which is quite wide but looks out of place in its design with adequate comfort- it does make the room quite 'busy". A random office chair exists which is possibly for working from /and or make up (as there is a large mirror) at the large table unit where there is a flat screen TV. It includes some satellite channels such as BBC and TV monde, the signal is not perfect but is watchable.
There is also a reasonable priced mini bar, kettle and tea making facilities and a standard size safe. A tall wardrobe exists and includes a hair dryer still in its cardboard box like it was bought yesterday.
The bathroom is quite small and includes one large shower which all bathroom floor drains the water- not segregated whig appears consistent in most of Myanmar hotels. It had good hot water and they provide a decent amount of essential mini bottle items & other amenities.
The room has a decent amount of plugs and includes the full variation: UK 3-pin, Euro 2 pin, Australian 3 pin. etc.. But the most popular is Euro 2-pin. Lighting is quite basic but does have some bed side lamps, the overhead unit had no cover so got a good view of the wires on the ceiling. There is also a large fan provided but also a functional A/C unit with remote.
Overall the room was presented very clean and includes everything you need.It just looks a little themeless.
Facilities
There is a secure free WIFI hotel wide with a personal modem inside of the room. It works at decent speed. There is a roof restaurant which is only open for breakfast. The food quality is very good and enjoyed the breakfast which has a good selection of hot & cold items both Western and Asian. An elevator works well.
Staff
Staff performance is very good at this 2-3 star hotel. Although some don't understand English that well, the team of young staff are very enthusiastic and friendly to serve well & make so much effort. They are very kind people and try to offer a 5 star hotel quality service effort. Every time you are arrive and leave, staff acknowledgement with smiles and welcome - very sincere and the best part of this hotel. They made so much effort to get me into a room when I arrived at 7am, it took until 9am but they let me use a room to shower and have free breakfast while I wait which was a nice touch.
Overall this is not a luxurious hotel, however with the high prices of Yangon, this hotels offers a competitive product - the rooms although theme less offer all essentials items you need, very clean, the location is right in the centre and of decent walking distance within Chinatown which has good energy at night. Staff make their hotel very welcoming and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel rooms are small with perhaps too much furniture. It is very clean and the breakfast is good. However, the cost is rather expensive for the standard of hotel. One would expect to pay only 50-60% of the price in Thailand and Myanmar is much cheaper.

Room Tip: It can be noisy so ask for a high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Mingalabar!

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel's cleanliness and breakfast. The comment about furniture is well noted and has been passed on to our operations team, who will further delve into this issue.

Understanding the rates in Yangon compared to other cities in Southeast Asia, please note that we carefully research the city's rates to fully ensure our hotel's rates are well aligned with the services and facilities we provide.

We thank you for your understanding and valuable feedback, looking forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to this beautiful city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#18 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#33 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#11 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#26 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
#37 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)

Address: No. 621 Maharbandoola Road | , Latha Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £28 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of downtown Yangon, a 5-minute drive away from Shwedagon Pagoda (a must-visit place in Yangon) and a 10-minute walk away from Sule Pagoda (the center of Yangon), Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) is located at the most prominent location in Yangon, Myanmar's economic capital. Imagine yourself stepping right outside our hotel and immediately experiencing delicious Burmese food (both street food and local restaurants), unique local shops and most importantly, warming welcome from local Burmese people.Apart from our promising location, Hotel Grand United goes with the vision that your satisfaction is key to our success. Committed to great hospitality and quality service, we genuinely care about your stay at our hotel. Given a harmonious blend of comfort and elegance, along with a panoramic view of Yangon, we sincerely hope you choose to stay at Hotel Grand United. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing