We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Helpful Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really Helpful Staff!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was beyond impressed how much the hotel's staffs tried to help me and the service mind they had, especially the one down stair, really thoughtful and helpful! He helped me a lot from talking to the fried banana seller at the shop near the hotel, walking with me to a noodle shops, calling for a taxi for the airport and bargaining for me at a very good price (only 8,000 Myanmar Kyat), till the last minute I left the hotel getting into the taxi!! It's a small hotel but the room was clean and not small at all. I didn't have the breakfast with them, but I did have a look--it's all ok. The only problem was the wifi connection in my room was really bad! Really difficult to check emails., etc. Anyway, will definitely better if the wifi is improved. I think I'll stay at this hotel again when I visit Yangon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuchBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Mingalabar!

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

Our hotel greatly treasures the importance of providing genuine, first-class Burmese hospitality. We are please to hear that our concierge staff was able to help you closely and we have sent compliments to him.

We will be sure to further improve the WiFi services we provide and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future (hopefully, you will have the time to enjoy our breakfast the next time)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    200
    97
    13
    8
See reviews for
22
177
84
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The rooms size are quite compact as there's a armchair in front of the TV but it is suitable for travelers of 2 on short trips.
Rooms and bathrooms are quite clean. I stayed 2 non consecutive nights in this hotel hence was given different rooms for both times. As the hotel is not the newest, the tap might require some strength to turn on. (Happened to the first room only though.)
Unlike the village area, electricity are left on most of the time hence there's no need to notify the staff if you wish to use air con or take a hot shower.
They have quite a lot of wifi transmitter hence, wifi was fast and strong. Had a easier time trying to do research for my trip.
Breakfast was served at the rooftop hence you get the view of the whole chinatown and some of sule pagoda. The breakfast was buffet style, there's small changes to the menu but was tasty and actually very welcoming after many nights in Myanmar with common dishes of fried rice, fried noodles, fried vermicelli.
There's a very vibrant neighborhood with a lot of street side food (if you're daring to try) and many restaurants down at 19th street.
Just take a walk down all the way from 10th street to Sule Pagoda you can see Chinese, Muslim and then Indian stalls with food, clothes, stationery etc It's just like a warehouse sale location.
Service provided by the staffs are great too! They understand our English perfectly and even made suggestions and help with our itinerary and even haggling with the cab drivers. (If you say Jap's customer service are to be modeled after, I would say their customer service aren't any worse)
I would say their staffs are the best as compared to many hotels I've stayed.
There's no spa or swimming facilities though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YunLingS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had the penthouse which had awesome views of the city, including the always facinating Shwedagon Pagoda. The room was clean, TV and wifi were great. The shower kept giving us too much hot water for some reason.

The property sits on a quiet street but a few steps beings you out to Chinatown which has food, locals, shops and the general hustle and bustle that Chinatowns bring. Taxis are easily flagged from the main road.

Front desk is very eager to help and speak good english. Breakfast was good for Myanmar standards. Price was ok, but for everything else that I'm getting I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The room is clean and comfortable. Bathroom is also clean with water heater. Free wifi with great signal. They also offered free breakfast which you will find on the top floor of the hotel so you can enjoy of litte view of Yangon while having breakfast. Staffs are very helpful and have servicemind.The location is where we can walk to Sule but a bit noisy at night from taxi in Chinatown.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamoltip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good breakfast, friendly staffs although with limited English. Clean room with amenities. They've let me checked in early (arrived at 9am) which was handy. Good WIFI connectivity. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JunieTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Grand United in Chinatown in Yangon back in April for 1 night. The hotel itself was clean, offered a free breakfast (that was good) and the staff were friendly and accommodating. My room itself had a nice sitting area and was street facing with a view of the activity in the city below. The bathroom was clean, bed seemed 'bug free' and the aircon worked great. The only slight annoyance was the wireless internet was spotty, but that happened at every single hotel and restaurant I visited in Myanmar. I think it's more of a country issue than a hotel specific issue. Yangon is a tough city to visit on many fronts, but this hotel seemed central enough for me to walk around or get taxis fairly easily. For an economical choice and a clean room, I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcarnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Chinatown), responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your positive review! This motivates us to work hard and ensure that we are on the right path for the high standards of services, facilities and hospitality we place on our hotel.

We will be sure to further work on the difficulties you face with our WiFi services and hope we can show that we can improve upon this weakness. We will also be sure to maintain our hotel's cleanliness, services offered by staffs and the comfort our hotel offers in such a busy and dynamic location.

We understand that we can further improve from the three-star rating and look forward to welcoming you again in this historic city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

One of the best value for money hotels in Yangon. It's walking distance to 19th street (Chinatown) so basically it's very easy to grab something to eat and all the cab drivers know the location of this hotel. Room was perfectly clean and wifi signal and bandwidth in the rooms were fantastic, especially for Yangon standards. Easy to get to Shwedagon Pagoda and Sule Pagoda from here by cab, technically I walked to Sule but I realized in the heat some people would avoid this option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branc...
#20 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#31 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#36 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#18 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)

Property: Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Address: No. 621 Maharbandoola Road | (Corner of Bo Ywe Street), Latha Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of downtown Yangon, a 5-minute drive away from Shwedagon Pagoda (a must-visit place in Yangon) and a 10-minute walk away from Sule Pagoda (the center of Yangon), Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) is located at the most prominent location in Yangon, Myanmar's economic capital. Imagine yourself stepping right outside our hotel and immediately experiencing delicious Burmese food (both street food and local restaurants), unique local shops and most importantly, warming welcome from local Burmese people.Apart from our promising location, Hotel Grand United goes with the vision that your satisfaction is key to our success. Committed to great hospitality and quality service, we genuinely care about your stay at our hotel. Given a harmonious blend of comfort and elegance, along with a panoramic view of Yangon, we sincerely hope you choose to stay at Hotel Grand United. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown) Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing