We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house in north-western Yangon. A must-stay!”
Review of Wai Wai's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wai Wai's Place
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house in north-western Yangon. A must-stay!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Wai Wai's Place is a basic, clean, safe and extremely welcoming guest house in north western Yangon, reasonably close to Inya Lake and Aung San Suu Kyi's house (would still recommend a cab if going there - we walked and it took us a good 20 minutes in the heat of the day) and about 15 minutes to downtown Yangon in a cab, with traffic. Although the guesthouse is slightly outside of the city centre, this isn't a concern as cabs are cheap and plentiful. It's also nice to escape the main tourist areas and retreat to a relatively more sedate corner of the bustling capital. As another reviewer has mentioned, there's also the added benefit of passing the majestic Shwedagon Pagoda on cab rides to and from downtown.

As other reviewers have already noted, the guest house is on the same street as a branch of The Green Elephant chain. We would recommend this restaurant as the Burmese dishes on offer are tasty and the service is good. It's a restaurant aimed at tourists so it's perhaps not truly authentic but we tried a couple of authentic spots during our time in Yangon and some, we shamefully admit, were just a bit too authentic for our western palates.

Anyway, back to the guest house. We stayed for 2 nights and occupied 2 of the double rooms upstairs, each with en suite bathroom. Both rooms were extremely clean, spacious and had very comfortable beds. We found the surrounding area to be quiet so we all had a good night's sleep. Wai Wai wasn't in when we arrived but we were warmly welcomed by her cousin, another lovely lady whom we assume is related to the cousin and an adorable little girl, who acted as translator to Wai Wai's cousin, who doesn't speak English. We met Wai Wai later on in the evening and she was just as charming and welcoming as her cousin, with the added benefit that she speaks very good English! Breakfast in the morning consisted of fresh fruit, fried eggs and plenty of toast with real butter, jam and peanut butter as well as lots of hot coffee/tea. As other reviewers have mentioned, you eat at a communal table downstairs, which gives you the opportunity to swap stories with any other guests who happen to be breakfasting at the same time.

We had been very stressed prior to arriving in Yangon as our itinerary allowed only 1 day for us to organise transport to Bagan as well as return flights from our final stop, Mandalay, back to Yangon. We needn't have worried though: we had pre-informed Wai Wai that we would need to book travel and she got straight on the case the morning after our arrival, phoning a local travel agent and getting us a quote and then arranging for a very nice taxi driver to pick us up and take us downtown in order for us to reserve our tickets. Wai Wai also organised the taxi to take us to the airport on the morning of our departure to Bagan, offered to wake up at a most uncivilised hour to make breakfast (we refused due to time constraints) and woke up anyway to see us off in the taxi. We really appreciated the highly personalised service.

Thank you Wai Wai (and family) for making our stay in Yangon so enjoyable. We enjoyed staying at your place so much that we've recommended it to our parents for their planned visit this spring.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nayomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    50
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
87
46
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

In a great location - a quiet street off the Pyay Road close to the Junction Square downtown area and about 30 minutes from the airport and a few minutes walk from the excellent Green Elephant restaurant. This is a big old Yangon house with five large rooms, comfortable beds and polished parquet wood floors. Wifi is good - a rarity for Yangon - and instead of a bible there is a copy of the Lonely Planet to Burma in the bedside table. But what really makes this place is the enterprising and delightful young owner, Wai Wai, who speaks excellent English, is a great cook who specialises in teaching Shan cookery, bakes her own wholemeal bread and looks after guests as if they were family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garciasripple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Wai Wai could not have been a better host. Her home is immaculate. It was a perfect introduction to Myanmar. It is located outside the city centre but within strolling distance of Inya lake and the green elephant restaurant. Taxis are easy to come by and very reasonable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeFeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Before talking about the place, travellers should get in context : this is Burma, don't expect obivous luxury when you get to the hotels over there. It is still a land of discovery and adventure and everything is charming about it, Wai Wai's place falls in the most charming categorie.
The house is big and held by a couple of women and their adorable little girl. The little girl and the main hostess speak perfect english. They will do everything possible to make you feel comfortable and at home. My bf and I stayed in the ground floor room so I didn't get to see the upstairs room but it was full house when we stayed there. We felt very safe and cozy while staying there and everything about the house is as magical as the rest of Burma.
Bfast is served in the collective dining room with other guests and is super relaxed and convivial. You meet all the other travellers and it's nice to share stories and spots to visit in Yangon. When we were there, one of the hostess and a guest shared their birthday and they made a small party, bought a cake and everything about the common bday party was warm and charming.
Even if the room are not luxurious and a few things need to be fixed, I felt at home and would totally go back to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vgbrodeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

As mentioned by many other backpackers... Wai Wai's Mohinga was great. She also offers home-made bread, really nice. She also tried to help me book for flight and thank you very much.

Room was decent and clean -- though the toilet can be cleaner especially at the ceiling areas.

This place however is not near the sights, and at night there is little choices on what to eat.
So for travellers who want to be in the thick of the action, and be able to stay out later at night, perhaps it is wise to spend that few dollars more and stay in the city location, to save on time, and cab fares to and fro.

There is just about a couple of local food places nearby, but they appear to serve finger food only when I went by. The other more established restaurants offer a good variety of food, but at a cost (afterall they are restaurants! :) ). I would recommend the Arirang korean place more than Green Elephant, both within 5mins walking distance along this quiet street.

Wifi here was great ;)

Room Tip: Room on the ground level was great for me :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at Wai wai's when we arrived from Australia. Wai Wai is a lovely host and is kind and attentive. She makes the BEST mohinga we had throughout Myanmar with some secret twists from her home place in the Shan region. If you want a traditional breakfast, make sure to ask the night before. If you don't, you will be offered a yummy omelette and the best toast ever which is a beautiful dense loaf full of grains. The rooms are basic and clean and everything worked and Wai Wai offers purified water at no charge. A highlight of our trip here.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent 5 nights at Wai Wai in November, and share all positive comments about her guesthouse. Our room was clean, spacious, comfortable bed, hot water & good water pressure. A bit out of the way but Wai Wai can arrange taxis, or one can take the circular train which is an adventure in itself. We remarked that we saw the Shwedagon twice a day on our way in or out of the guesthouse, while if we had stayed in town we would have had only a visit… We did spend a night at another hotel in the center of Yangon, as Wai Wai's was fully booked, and we missed the quietness of her neighborhood.
As everyone agrees, Wai Wai herself is a treasure, treating her guests as friends, going out of her way to make everyone comfortable, a wealth of information. We could fill our water bottles with purified water at no charge, breakfast was plentiful. Good laundry service.
We will come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quebec_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
923 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winner Inn
Winner Inn
#7 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Wai's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Wai's Place

Property: Wai Wai's Place
Address: No. 4/A Thukha Street | Myaynigone (corner of Thukha St and Shan Kone St), Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Wai's Place is nestled in the lively area of San Chaung, an ideal location to discover Yangon. Our place is not far from the city center (just 2.2 km away) and it normally takes about 25 minutes to reach the airport. The Shwedagon Pagoda is located at 10 minutes walking distance from Wai Wai's Place. We provide breakfast and arrange transportation. We have 19 rooms spread over 5 floors provide a warm and pleasant home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wai Wai's Place Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing