We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostess and atmosphere, good price”
Review of Wai Wai's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wai Wai's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostess and atmosphere, good price”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our first trip to Yangon. Wai Wai's Place is tucked back in to a quiet part of town. Wai Wai was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast of toast, fruit and eggs were provided and delicious. While this guesthouse is off the beaten path, it is a short walk to the lake or a main road to catch a cab. We would recommend Wai Wai's Place to any traveler who is looking for a comfortable place to stay in the bustling city of Yangon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    50
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
87
46
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wai Wai is lovely, very helpful and friendly.
Superb breakfast of egg and toast with jam, peanut butter and nutella, fresh fruit, tea/coffee.
We were in the large, spacious double room upstairs. Comfy bed, sofa, desk and large ensuite bathroom. If anything bedroom was too big - too much volume for A/C to keep cool.
Only negative was the intermittent power supply during our stay. Wai Wai explained Yangon was having problems due to very hot weather (41C+). Power spikes every 5-10 mins so lights dimmed then came back really bright and made a/c turn off. When the A/C came back on a few mins later, the air was warm, took 5 mins to get cool again, then another power surge and it would go off again!
This meant we had a very hot room all day, and even with 2 separate fans, just blew warm air around. The power supply only settled down during low-demand times - around 1am-7am, so we finally got some nice cool A/C, but the rest of the day was almost unbearable.
Offers free laundry service - but because of unreliable power, we didn't risk it.
Nice, quiet area with nice houses, but nothing to do - everything in Yangon is a taxi ride away.
Taxis are cheap, but a hassle to find/negotiate. Very little choice in restaurants. Green Elephant (down the road) is now very overpriced at 2000 for a coke, and 9000 for chicken curry.
Easy walking distance to Hledon train station on circular line. 30-mins to Yangon station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I travel a lot but have never felt so at home in a foreign country as I did while staying in Wai Wai's Place. Wai Wai and her staff go above and beyond to provide five-star service: clean and comfortable rooms, free breakfast, laundry, wifi and any travel planning/coordinating/translating/general help you may need. Where else can you get all that for so little money? Wai Wai also became a good friend, introducing me and other guests to new friends, amazing food and off-the-beaten-track sights in and outside Yangon. Whether you're staying in Yangon for a few nights or a few months, for business or pleasure, I cannot recommend Wai Wai's Place enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

During my four week trip to Myanmar I stayed four times at Wai Wais place.
It is one of the best stays I had in Myanmar.
I had a great warm welcome and was even invited to dinner, just like that.
Wai Wai is amazingly caring and helping and international open minded travellers are around.
The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and air con. A good breakfast with fresh fruit and you get always as much as you want, if you are hungry. Really the best coffee I was served in Myanmar. I was offered almost every day fresh fruit during the day as well.
She helps with informations, flight confirmations and excursions, you just have to ask.
It is in quiet place in a quiet street, which is surrounded by little busier streets with shops, restaurants and a nice local daily market (market of Hledan), close to the University and the Inya lake.
It is not in the centric center, but 15 minutes away, just pop in of one of the buses from the main street (only 200 Kyat) (7 minutes walk away from this quiet place of Wai) and it takes you directly to the center. You can take as well the train to the center, which is in walking distance. Great experience too. Or a taxi, 2000-3000 Kyat. 10 to 15 minutes.
Even if other guest houses are more centric, I enjoyed to be there, as well as it is closer to the airport and to both of the big bus stations,( if you need to go to somewhere in Myanmar, as Bagan, Mandaly, Mawlamyne or the Inya lake (for ex.)) So I could avoid traffic jams.
As there are only a few rooms, it was always full. But soon Wai Wai will open up another guest house in the same street, where she will have more space. So give it a try. It is more than worth.
I thought in the beginning, that the photo of the room looks a little bit strange, but in reality it is a relaxing nice room.
I really recommend it deeply.
I n case I go back one time, I am sure that I will stay there again.
I could have tried other guest houses, as I was four times in Yangon, but I stayed always there.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok, I preferred the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lb2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Since the very first tine Way Way make you feel at home. We are travelling around the world and she is the best owner we've found and we've met many really good ones.The rooms are big, clean and very confortable. The wifi works properly.
Wai Wai is an amazing person who take so much care of their guests. She has many small details. Thank you very much we were there better than home!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iltalentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, CANADA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

On a very early morning arrival into Yangon, via overnight train from Mandalay, provided my taxi driver with Wai Wai's number to call for directions to reach her guesthouse, as well as print-out of map including photo of front gate (which she provides for her guests) .. arrived there seemingly within minutes.

During my 3-night stay I found Wai Wai's Place to be a delightful, welcoming oasis of a bed & breakfast situated in a peaceful, leafy suburban neighborhood at northern part of the city ~ nearby University of Yangon; Inya Lake; Aung San Suu Kyi's home; and a short taxi ride to the incomparable Shwedagon Paya.

There are plenty of tasty tea & noodle shops just down the lane, as is an ATM, taxis are easy to find .. as added bonus, the Yangon Circular Train 'Heldan' station is a 5-minute walk away. At .25 cents/30 minutes to reach Bogyoke Aung San Market @ 'Pha Yar Lan' station (one stop before Yangon Train Station) this train service must be the most enjoyable way to get downtown, as well as offering a fun, unique slice of daily life.

My quiet, clean, bright room with private bathroom and reliable air-con was more than comfortable, as was my mattress/bed making for a wonderful sleep. A delicious standard breakfast is prepared each day by the sweet staff .. a must have for breakfast one morning is to try 'mohinga' one of Wai Wai's specialties (request the night before). There's a fridge in the dining area for guests' use, drinking water provided. Assistance for onward travel also on-hand.

Wai Wai, the lovely owner, is a thoughtful, gracious hostess & accomplished cook, who goes out of her way to ensure your stay is comfortable & memorable. On the eve of Thingyan (New Year) she prepared an awesome dinner for her guests, including the Burmese delicacy laphet, all was so delicious.

I'll definitely be re-visiting magical Myanmar, and when in Yangon for sure will be staying with WWP B&B once again .. highly recommended! Thanks Wai Wai, you are a star.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anjali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Wai Wai's place for three nights on a quick holiday to Myanmar. While the room is basic, it is clean and comfortable with AC, private bathroom/toilet, and decent wifi (by Myanmar standards!) The true standout of our stay was Wai Wai herself, who is such a wonderfully accommodating host - nothing is too much trouble! She goes to great lengths to ensure her guests have a good time in Yangon. Her house is well located, easy to catch taxis from the nearby main road and a nice change from staying downtown. Thanks Wai Wai for a lovely start to our holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeandKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#21 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
396 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winner Inn
Winner Inn
#7 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
Lotus Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 169 in Yangon (Rangoon)
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pickled Tea Hostel
Pickled Tea Hostel
#1 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Wai's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Wai's Place

Property: Wai Wai's Place
Address: No. 4/A Thukha Street | Myaynigone, Yangon (Rangoon) 11111, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Wai's Place is nestled in the lively area of San Chaung, an ideal location to discover Yangon. Our place is not far from the city center (just 2.2 km away) and it normally takes about 25 minutes to reach the airport. The Shwedagon Pagoda is located at 10 minutes walking distance from Wai Wai's Place. We provide breakfast and arrange transportation. We have 19 rooms spread over 5 floors provide a warm and pleasant home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wai Wai's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Wai's Place Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing