We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting because it's there...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musmeah Yeshua Synagogue

Musmeah Yeshua Synagogue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating from 1896, this is the only Jewish temple remaining in the city.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting because it's there...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very welcoming, not a lot to see in terms of architectural detail, but a pleasant stop in the middle of a hot day in Yangon, and it's nice for once to visit a shul where you don't get frisked for weapons.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kizmetsadjutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    87
    24
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Odd find, pretty empty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was surprised the site was so well rated on tripadvisor. The history of the synagogue (built in the 1890s by Iraqi Jews who received a concession from the British Burmese government) is interesting, but the building itself doesn't really take this story to the next level. Worth a look, but don't structure your day around a visit...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marybnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A piece of hisory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This site is a piece of the colourful history of this town. Thank goodness it still exists. It is well maintained and I hope that continues as it is an example of the diversity of this city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Disie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine,ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Sad to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

A sad reminder of the Jewish community that WAS in Burma. Situate in the middle of a slummy street, we almost missed it. It is well kept by the caretaker although not in use, of course. Run entirely on donations from overseas.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dovIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
371 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Well Maintained by Good Host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I didn't expect to see a synagogue in Yangon, so though the place is small, I find it appealing and interesting. A local friend of mine did the advanced appointment for us, so we went there without a problem. Though Mr Moses Samuels, the host of the synagogue could not speak due to his physical condition, he was very friendly and helpful. We even took a picture with him. I think Mr Samuels has done a very good job on maintaining the synagogue.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Micahglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musmeah Yeshua Synagogue also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Musmeah Yeshua Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing