We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal out in Yangon”
Review of Shan Yoe Yar

Shan Yoe Yar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Burmese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meal out in Yangon”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very happy to give this restaurant in Yangon a good review. Most enjoyable traditional Shan meal tonight. Very pleasant staff. Great atmosphere in century old wooden mansion. Shows what Myanmar can deliver as an emerging new tourism destination in Asia. May there be others who can deliver such local quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveNoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    248
    47
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect Shan combo - setting, service and consistently scrumptious Shan cuisine”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I've been here twice now and brought visiting business people from overseas who all think it's excellent. They have wine by the glass, attentive service, a large menu, fresh ingredients and generous servings. Spacious so good for business discussions too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TropicalAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best !”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went to this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were so pleased that we did !!! The setting is lovely with lots of character in the wooden building and if you go with a group, the individual rooms upstairs would be lovely. We sat downstairs where the atmosphere is busy, enjoyable and the service is excellent. As for the food, it was different to anything we had previously had in Myanmar and the choice was interesting and we had a delicious meal. We would definitely go back again and again. It was very reasonably priced and quality was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sage2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IZaw7, Public Relations Manager at Shan Yoe Yar, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Hi,

Thank you for the great review. Our team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you again.

Warmest regards,
Shan Yoe Yar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“I will definitely go back again.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

For really good Myanmar food this is a great restaurant. Staff are helpful, even advising when you have clearly over ordered!
The food is reasonably priced so you can be daring and try stuff without racking up a huge bill.
For example the white fungus salad may not sound great but I've ordered it twice and it is really good. The pounded vegetable dishes are great as a side order though my friend wouldn't want them again as he didn't like the texture. The pork curry was very good, the fish in banana leaves and also the cuttle fish... I have been here more than once. And yes I will go back again as they have a very wide menu. The restaurant is set back a little off the road and is nice inside. Definitely worth a visit and I will definitely go back.. There was also room for large groups.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babsl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IZaw7, Public Relations Manager at Shan Yoe Yar, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you for such a kind review. We are please to hear you like our food, service and rooms. We are most glad to serve you again. See you next time!

With warm regards,
Shan Yoe Yar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, some order mixups”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This place serves authentic Shan cuisine. Our group went there with our hosts. The servers were very accommodating. The food was interesting. But some of the drink orders were mixed up, and some trays ended up short in toppings etc. The staff is very helpful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quazi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IZaw7, Public Relations Manager at Shan Yoe Yar, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We'll take note of the mix up and let the managers know so that we could serve you better on your next visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Shan Yoe Yar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shan Yoe Yar also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Shan Yoe Yar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing