We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Ranked #18 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I recently enjoyed my stay at the Chinatown branch of this hotel and was similarly pleased with my stay at the branch in Ahlone, after coming back from a short trip. It was clear from the moment I arrived at the hotel that the customer service was top-notch. After a long day of travel, I came back to my room to find my room not only cleaned, but that my personal belongings were organized and cleaned. Above all, what I liked most about this hotel was that everything was new including the room furnishings and hotel lobby. I was told by someone from the front desk that the hotel had recently had its grand opening.

From the hotel, it took me 10 minutes by taxi to get to downtown Yangon, which I think is close enough to avoid the hassle of traffic. The Shwedagon Pagoda and Bogyoke Market are both located within a short walking distance. My room was equipped with a TV that had access to international channels, high-speed Wi-Fi, and a phone. The views from my room were expansive as I could see some of the city’s famous sites including the Shwedagon Pagoda. I ate a few of my meals at the hotel restaurant, called the Carpe Diem. They had a variety of options, including Western breakfast/lunch/dinner items, Asian fusion and native Burmese cuisine. I personally enjoyed their Mon-hin-ga noodle soup and eggrolls the most. Additionally, I also checked out the gym which, according to the staff, was not yet completed and still awaiting the arrival of cardio and strength machines. There is also a recreational lounge available to guests that include a billiard table I enjoyed playing with. Moreover, I think the hotel is very suitable for business travelers as it has a conference room for seminars and events.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others because it offers a relaxing retreat from the hustle and bustle of downtown Yangon.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy spectacular views of the city, I would recommend booking rooms on the Penthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

We are happy that you had a pleasant experience while staying at our hotel! We are also glad that you are an loyal Hotel Grand United guest, having enjoyed staying at our Chinatown Branch.

We highly value the service we provide to our guests and we are proud that our staffs all played a role in making your stay a pleasurable one! We appreciate your positive feedback about our location and indeed, its advantages are that you can conveniently access places without being disturbed by much traffic and its serene neighborhood means that you can relax peacefully! We are happy that you liked Mohingar, one of our guests' favorites, and our Carpe Diem Restaurant!

Our hotel is targeted towards a variety of tourists and business travelers and indeed, we provide various facilities suited towards the needs of our business travelers. Our penthouse suites just opened and they have become an attraction for all our guests! We genuinely hope you choose to stay at our hotel again the next time you visit this famous land!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is quite nice for business trip use. I stayed at here more than 20 days. However, I did not find serious issues here.

- The location seems good because when you visit any other places in downtown area, you do not need to be captured by the terrible traffic jams in Yangon comparatively.
- Employees are friendly and kind. Door boys always help foreigners by negotiating taxi driver with fee reduction.
- Facilities including guest rooms are almost new, quality and well cleaned. We can use bath-tubs filled with hot water with shower-curtain. So you do not need to worry about scattered waters in the bathroom like other typical Asian hotels.
- Gym has basic facilities including variety of weight dumbbells. I hope this gym will have bench press bars, weights and stand.
- We can reach to very famous temple "Shwedagon Pagoda" within 30 minutes on foot. You can reach there within 5 minutes by taxi.

I think it's value for money! I hope you can enjoy staying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Papai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Hello Papai N,

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)! We also hoped our hotel helped made your business trip a great one!

Our hotel is located in a rather strategic location and we are fortunate that despite the traffic jams all around Yangon, our hotel is easily accessible to other places, whether it be for tourist or business purpose. We are happy that you enjoyed the warmth and satisfaction our employees offered. Indeed, our hotel just opened a bit over a month ago and great to hear that you enjoyed our bath-tubs!

Regarding the gym, the whole complete set of equipment just arrived a few days ago and in a week or so, after maintenance, our gym will have the complete set for both cardio and strength training.

Yes, Shwedagon Pagoda is easily reachable and at night, the view of Shwedagon Pagoda from our hotel is magnificent! We deeply appreciate your feedback and we sincerely hope that the next time you visit Yangon, you choose to stay at Hotel Grand United again! Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Took a chance here as there was only one other review...

the hotel is new to a fact that no taxi in town knows the name of it... but all you have to let them know is it's the "new hotel" near "Central Women Hospital", then they'll get you there.

btw, taxi fare (for foreigners) from the hotel to Traders Hotel is 2,000kyat (2USD) and to airport is 7,000kyat (7USD). Local pays about half (and this goes for alot of things in Myanmar).

PROS:
1. they will upgrade your room if available
2. hotel and rooms are new, styles are typical 3 or 4 stars hotel in blooming cities (carpetless) with free use of pool table and fitness room
3. though nothing is far, but I won't use the word "convenient" to describe its location. But plenty of taxis are right outside.
4. Polite staffs

CONS:
1. Still construction going on in the hotel... (noise from 8:30am to 7ish pm)
2. lousy breakfast
3. slow internet (obviously better than 56k, but probably not by much...), couldn't get any connection at first, the staff (with great effort) was able to provide a solution an hour later
4. One staff tried to order me a taxi for 9USD... but I had my suspicion as my original ride from Airport to a further location was only 10... anyway... a local told me she only has to pay 4... but no taxi will take a foreigner for that amount.
5. I don't get it... this is my second hotel in Yangon, and again... the shower is without a stall...maybe it's common here... but I feel awkward using the washroom that is completely soaked...
6. The pillow is too bulky and firm (even for my preference)

Verdict:
it's an ok hotel in reasonable price range (for Yangon).... I paid USD$110 for the room... and Traders hotel charges twice as much, but then again Traders does have superspeed internet and a breakfast buffet that will convert you to a camel... if 220 is not steep for you, then stay there, it's worth the money.

Room Tip: obviously try and score a room with the view of Shwedagon Pagoda... although you won't see too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echo-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hello echoi,

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

Our hotel just opened a month ago and we take your feedback very seriously and will improve upon your suggestions.

First, we are glad you enjoyed the upgrade - this is part of our opening promotion and we want our guests to embrace everything our hotel offers. The free use of many of our hotel facilities will remain in place for a long time. We are also glad you enjoyed the warmth of our staffs.

We also apologize for the ongoing construction, which will end in a few weeks as we are making final touches. The breakfast is improving and expanding - in a few weeks, we hope the variety of our breakfast will double and quality will improve. Regarding internet, we are currently in talks with the best Internet providers in Yangon and we are confident that in the next month or so, a new Internet infrastructure will be installed so that our hotel provides high-speed Internet. Regarding the bathroom situation, we are in the process of installing shower curtains in all rooms. Thanks for the feedback about the taxi situation - our hotel will ensure this does not happen again - we take these matters very seriously.

We are glad that you found our price reasonable and we sincerely hope you will stay at our hotel when you visit Yangon again. We are confident our hotel will improve to be the very best. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Balkon, aufgrund der Aussicht
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: plus la chambre est à un étage élevé et mieux c'est ( calme )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maryannick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank cabezaPerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La mejor es el Penthouse J de la 13ª planta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiquidela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#27 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
395 reviews
2.4 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#11 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
526 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#19 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)

Address: No. 35 Min Ye Kyaw Swar Road | (Corner of Hnin Si Gone Road, Front of Central Women Hospital), Ahlone Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11131, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £30 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes away from Yangon International Airport, 8 minutes away from Shwedagon Pagoda and 6 minutes away from Bogyoke Market, Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) places itself at the greatest possible location, for you to absorb Burmese culture and tradition to the finest degree. Surrounded by a serene and beautiful neighborhood, you enjoy a panoramic view of Yangon including Shwedagon Pagoda.Our 180 sophisticated and contemporary guestrooms feature an extensive range of facilities and services, including, but not limited to WiFi Internet in the entire complex, daily buffet breakfast, fitness centre (gym and sauna), specialized restaurant and coffee shop, business centre, conference hall and meeting suites. At Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), you embrace elegance and genuine Burmese hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing