We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Clean, Luxurious Room and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 10 July 2014

To start with, this hotel is just a 20-30 min walk from Shwedagon Pagoda, and infront of Central Women Hospital. Area was quite and clean unlike other busy and noisy areas in yangon. There is a seafood restaurant nearby, and some western cuisine if you walk 200-300m further ( on the direction to pagoda). Staffs are nice and kind., and the rooms are extra clean and kept with same standard as 4-star quality, and does the bathroom too.There are some complimentary eateries like noodles and chips other than water bottles. and the bed and sleep was excellent.

TV has most of the best channels to surf, including LIVE Football Worldcup ( Thats a PLUS !!)

There is a free shuttle from hotel to major tourist attraction like Shwedagon Pagoda and Bogyoke Market on daily basis, you can check the timing in front desk, though you may need to register day before

The restaurant in the second floor is not so pricey compared to the restaurant out, but if you gonna order something, make sure you have ordered something Asian Cuisine, I had bad experience by ordering Western ( burger and pizza ) and mushroom soup which is totally and unbelievably sucks.

Though breakfast was exquisite, with lots of choices and varieties. And the staffs will make sure you had everything you need right at your table.

There are pool table near-room next to restaurant, for hotel guests too. Though didnt get a chance to try, as it was crowded on night time. Plus sauna is free for hotel guests.

And the rest is best compared to some of the other hotel i stayed in yangon, especially value for money ( below $100 ) hotel with such luxurious service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who s looking for a little extra pampering.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor with Shwedagon Pagoda View will be greater, but costlier i guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor! It is a pleasure to read your review as it gives us motivation that we are on the right path towards providing world-class services and facilities.

We are glad you appreciated our location, close to major landmarks and downtown Yangon, yet in a serene neighborhood, avoiding the bustle and hustle of the city. It is satisfying to hear that our room cleanliness and amenities offered meet your expectations of a 4-star hotel.

The free shuttle service to major landmarks has become very popular since its establishment in December 2013 and we are glad it has been a success, allowing our hotel to maintain the importance we place on connecting our guests closely with local culture.

We note your remarks about our Western cuisines and will pass this on to our food & beverages manager, who will be further reviewing the high standards of quality we place on our cuisines.

Our staffs will be overall very proud of your review and please do give our recreational lounge (billiard, darts) and fitness centre a try next time and we do hope you will give our Western food choices another chance. Our junior suites offer fascinating views of Shwedagon Pagoda; waking up to this and enjoying it at the very dark hours are absolutely mesmerizing moments.

Once again, thank you very much for your review and looking forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to Yangon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very clean hotel in a great location. The rooms were excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.
This hotel is better than many in Yangon that charge much more for their rooms. The breakfast is good with a good choice on the buffet.
I would recommend the Grand United.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulTins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor

We deeply appreciate your positive review and the recommendation you give to our hotel. We look forward to showing even more of our Grand United services, facilities and hospitality in your next visit to this rapidly changing city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly staff, good location and rooms are clean! We got arranged to a corner room on 12/F (highest floor), very quiet as no noise from the street. Also, wifi works all the time! We stayed at another hotel for the first night but it is not as good as Hotel Grand United, definately recommand it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiki Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are pleased to read your review and glad you enjoyed the high standards of our rooms, comfort and WiFi services. Our staffs will be overjoyed by your review and your recommendation of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you or your colleagues/friends/relatives again in your future visits to Yangon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my short stay at this hotel. Ultra friendly staff, always smiling and ever ready to assist you. Very convenient and safe to get around. Just grab a cab and pay US$2 to get to the nearest shopping centre Taw Win Centre. There's a supermarket, Halal restaurant, Mango and many other shops available. Just across this shopping centre is another shopping centre as well. This is the closest place if you do not want to go to the town area of course.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank SueGoghari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Mingalabar!

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are overjoyed to read your five-star review and glad to hear you found our services, staffs and facilities satisfying. We will be sure to maintain the high standards you saw and please be assured that we are making continuous improvements based on valuable guests' feedback such as yours.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again and we do look forward to your future stays at Hotel Grand United!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is a good little hotel with basically everything you need for a short business stay. The breakfast is good and most importantly, the wifi works. Locationwise it is not ideal, but there are plenty of taxi available.

Room Tip: There is a construction site on one side of the hotel, try to request a room not facing it because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swingclubhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Mingalabar!

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you generally had a positive experience, along with the breakfast and WiFi services.

Regarding location, there are several restaurants/shops within walking distance. We are also located in a calm neighborhood, yet very close to city centre. We are also in further talks with our neighboring compartment for lowering construction time periods, so we do hope this issue can be resolved.

We hope we are given another chance to show that we can improve upon our weaknesses and look forward to your next visit to this historic city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the HGU-Ahlone Branch for a weekend in June. the location is not the best feature of this hotel, but a shuttle service is provided to the main Pagoda and to the main city market.
breakfast has a fair variety of items, including fruit and typical western food.
the staff is kind and always keen to help you.
when we went there was a really unpleasant smell in both elevators which I am sure will be fixed shortly.
Yangon does not give a great choice of hotels, but I think the HGU is a really good compromise. Recommended

Room Tip: when you book be aware that the hotel also has a non-window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inirap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad our hotel enters your list of hotels in Yangon and appreciate your satisfaction of our shuttle service, breakfast and service.

Regarding location, we are located very close to downtown - so, it is basically a calm neighborhood in the midst of a busy city, yet accessible to major landmarks such as Chinatown, Shwedagon Pagoda and Bogyoke Market. Please be assured that the elevator smell has been fixed immediately since the feedback you left with our front desk.

Please shoot us an email @ grandunited.head@gmail.com so that we can make sure your next stay is even a better one and we look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to this historic city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very well renovated, great furniture, delightful reception hospitality, convenient restaurant and coffee shop facility, Comfortable, conveniently located, and reasonably cost-effective, this place is OK for the the business traveller on the run!!

Room Tip: Just avoid the rooms without windows! They are rather claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Mingalabar!

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel's decor, location and staffs and happy that it was a rather reasonable choice for your business trip. Please be kindly noted that most of our rooms are with windows and that our guests are advised to reserve a window room upon their reservation should they want to stay in a window room.

However, we realize based on your rating that we can further improve and will push ourselves hard to improve upon our services and facilities based on feedback you gave to our staffs during your stay. If you have any additional feedback, please feel free to leave us a message @ grandunited.head@gmail.com and we would like to ensure your next stay is an even better one.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we are given a chance to show we can improve upon our weaknesses in your next visit to Yangon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
522 reviews
2.4 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#15 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
548 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#26 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#31 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
411 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#11 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#24 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)

Address: No. 35 Min Ye Kyaw Swar Road | , Ahlone Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11131, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £26 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes away from Yangon International Airport, 8 minutes away from Shwedagon Pagoda and 6 minutes away from Bogyoke Market, Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) places itself at the greatest possible location, for you to absorb Burmese culture and tradition to the finest degree. Surrounded by a serene and beautiful neighborhood, you enjoy a panoramic view of Yangon including Shwedagon Pagoda.Our 180 sophisticated and contemporary guestrooms feature an extensive range of facilities and services, including, but not limited to WiFi Internet in the entire complex, daily buffet breakfast, fitness centre (gym and sauna), specialized restaurant and coffee shop, business centre, conference hall and meeting suites. At Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), you embrace elegance and genuine Burmese hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing