We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 10 August 2014

nice and helpful staff, new and clean rooms, great breakfast, bit out side city and peaceful area, great pagoda view, easy to get taxi. Business traveler as well as family can stay here. I will stay again.

Room Tip: bit out side city and peaceful area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purushottam31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked twee weeks prior to our trip.When we arrived,the hotel was fully booked so we were upgraded to the Junior Suite on the twelfth floor overlooking the northern part of town and with the Shwedagon Pagoda as a backdrop.It was really wonderful both during the night and daytime.We didn't want to leave the room because of the magnificent views.The WiFi worked and I was overjoyed because we had a lot of problems elsewhere in Myanmar.The staf was very kind,friendly and helpful and confirmed what I had found all over Myanmar:the Burmese people are warm,hospitable and really outgoing.The sleeping facilities as well as the bathroom were of a very good standard.

How about printing bigger free maps for the guests?The small ones were not very easy to read.This could be an extra feather in your cap.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank andrew293913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I deeply think Hotel Grand United is one of the best hotels in Myanmar as it's clean, new and close to downtown. The people there are very friendly and nice. The breakfast is also not bad, the most importantly, the price is very reasonable. So if there is any chance, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you for your positive feedback and the compliment made our day! Our team will be overjoyed to hear your review and we all look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to Yangon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Okay, so I have stayed for more than 50 nights here and the experience has been really good. In Yangon, hotels are generally expensive and don't have much to offer. This hotel is good in that sense. Good sized rooms, good view, good service (by Myanmar standards) and good food. It has a gym and a billiards table. Overall its value for money. The hotel is located in downtown, however, in a quieter area.

On the flipside, the internet goes down too often and the speed is really not good. Yes, I know its Yangon but it could be better. Besides this the folks do not speak English much so you need to be creative and imaginative as to how you would explain them what you want/need.

Overall, I would recommend it for its value for money - probably best in Yangon.

Room Tip: Never get tempted by rates for rooms without window, its horrible to be in such a room when you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ashutosh1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to have you as a frequent, long-stay guest and it is great to hear that you have had a positive experience. We note your compliments about our rooms, service, food, facilities and location - we will pass these on to our team, who will be overjoyed by your comments.

We understand the Internet has been an issue for you and we deeply apologize for the inconveniences caused as we put great emphasis on this issue, which is important for all our guests. Though Yangon's Internet is relatively less satisfactory than other cities, we will never use this as an excuse and will continue to strive to provide the best possible WiFi services - please be assured that we constantly research and work hard to continuously improve our services in this regard.

We will also be continuing to train our staffs to enhance their communication skills. We are proud that we provide good value for money and will continue to maintain the high standards you see in our hotel.

We hope to show that we can further improve upon the weaknesses laid out in your review and look forward to your future stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Was pleasantly surprised to find a hotel for a reasonable rate in Yangon for a change but was horribly surprised to get a room without window for that price !!!! On argument that it was not informed, the front desk actually asked for 60 $ more per night to change to a room with a window which was later reduced to 30 $ per night !

Since I was there for only two nights, I decided to spend those 30$ for better use and tolerate the suffocating feeling of a window less hotel room !!!

The bathroom sink is put in the bedroom which actually does not give me a very good feeling and also bathroom itself was very small and ill structured !

The property being new is clean but have a kind of tacky interior !! Restaurant staff are nice and they also serve reasonably good food. Breakfast was not too impressive and limited on choice !

Have a good gym with acceptable equipment and space.

Overall, for a short business trip this hotel can be ok but for the price they are charging, Yangon can provide you with better options. Just look around before deciding on this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Devztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Mingalabar!

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor!

We thank you for your constructive criticism, but would like to kindly clarify a few issues in your review:
1) Our base rooms are Superior Rooms with No Windows and if you book directly to us or online, then you were definitely informed of the room type name as per above. If you book through a non-online tour operator, sometimes, they may not be clear on this. We have and will continue to be pushing on this to ensure there is no misleading in the description of our room types. Please kindly email grandunited.head@gmail.com for further clarification of this issue.
2) The reason why the front desk asked for US$60/night was that the next room type - "Superior Room with City/River View" was not available; instead, only our Junior Suites with Pagoda View were available, which was why there was this jump. Our front desk manager eventually gave you a discount for the Junior Suite.

We also appreciate your comments about the structure of your room, the interior design and breakfast options. This feedback is very valuable for us and we will present this to our management for further discussion.

We hope that we can show we can improve upon the weaknesses described in your review and please kindly drop us an email @ grandunited.head@gmail.com so that we can ensure your next stay is a better one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel over several weeks and in three different rooms. The first room had no windows, but was otherwise good, particularly for the price I paid. The second room on the 11th floor was the best I stayed at. Great view over downtown Yangon, no noise from the street, spacious. When I returned after a night away, the only room they could offer me with a queen bed was a smoker room on the 5th floor. I'm a very sensitive non-smoker, but the room was actually not smelling at all. The low floor proved to be quite loud though, particularly due to the construction site next door. I also paid the same price even though I didn't have a bathtub in this room. So better ask for a room on one of the upper floors and check if you like it, before agreeing to stay there!

Otherwise, the hotel was a lot better than other places I stayed at in Yangon. Excellent huge breakfast buffet with international newspapers to read. Clean (as it is still very new). A fantastic gym (and sauna) with brand new equipment. Internet was working most of the time. Good location (I was a bit worried at first, but it proved to be quite accessible) and they provide a free shuttle service daily to Scott market, Shwedagon and Chinatown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Franziska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

To start with, this hotel is just a 20-30 min walk from Shwedagon Pagoda, and infront of Central Women Hospital. Area was quite and clean unlike other busy and noisy areas in yangon. There is a seafood restaurant nearby, and some western cuisine if you walk 200-300m further ( on the direction to pagoda). Staffs are nice and kind., and the rooms are extra clean and kept with same standard as 4-star quality, and does the bathroom too.There are some complimentary eateries like noodles and chips other than water bottles. and the bed and sleep was excellent.

TV has most of the best channels to surf, including LIVE Football Worldcup ( Thats a PLUS !!)

There is a free shuttle from hotel to major tourist attraction like Shwedagon Pagoda and Bogyoke Market on daily basis, you can check the timing in front desk, though you may need to register day before

The restaurant in the second floor is not so pricey compared to the restaurant out, but if you gonna order something, make sure you have ordered something Asian Cuisine, I had bad experience by ordering Western ( burger and pizza ) and mushroom soup which is totally and unbelievably sucks.

Though breakfast was exquisite, with lots of choices and varieties. And the staffs will make sure you had everything you need right at your table.

There are pool table near-room next to restaurant, for hotel guests too. Though didnt get a chance to try, as it was crowded on night time. Plus sauna is free for hotel guests.

And the rest is best compared to some of the other hotel i stayed in yangon, especially value for money ( below $100 ) hotel with such luxurious service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who s looking for a little extra pampering.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor with Shwedagon Pagoda View will be greater, but costlier i guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Grand Uni... H, General Manager at Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Mingalabar!

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor! It is a pleasure to read your review as it gives us motivation that we are on the right path towards providing world-class services and facilities.

We are glad you appreciated our location, close to major landmarks and downtown Yangon, yet in a serene neighborhood, avoiding the bustle and hustle of the city. It is satisfying to hear that our room cleanliness and amenities offered meet your expectations of a 4-star hotel.

The free shuttle service to major landmarks has become very popular since its establishment in December 2013 and we are glad it has been a success, allowing our hotel to maintain the importance we place on connecting our guests closely with local culture.

We note your remarks about our Western cuisines and will pass this on to our food & beverages manager, who will be further reviewing the high standards of quality we place on our cuisines.

Our staffs will be overall very proud of your review and please do give our recreational lounge (billiard, darts) and fitness centre a try next time and we do hope you will give our Western food choices another chance. Our junior suites offer fascinating views of Shwedagon Pagoda; waking up to this and enjoying it at the very dark hours are absolutely mesmerizing moments.

Once again, thank you very much for your review and looking forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to Yangon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
400 reviews
2.4 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#25 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#33 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
263 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch)

Address: No. 35 Min Ye Kyaw Swar Road | , Ahlone Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11131, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £29 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes away from Yangon International Airport, 8 minutes away from Shwedagon Pagoda and 6 minutes away from Bogyoke Market, Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) places itself at the greatest possible location, for you to absorb Burmese culture and tradition to the finest degree. Surrounded by a serene and beautiful neighborhood, you enjoy a panoramic view of Yangon including Shwedagon Pagoda.Our 180 sophisticated and contemporary guestrooms feature an extensive range of facilities and services, including, but not limited to WiFi Internet in the entire complex, daily buffet breakfast, fitness centre (gym and sauna), specialized restaurant and coffee shop, business centre, conference hall and meeting suites. At Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch), you embrace elegance and genuine Burmese hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand United (Ahlone Branch) Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing