We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but a little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beautyland Hotel II
Ranked #88 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

This was the last place we stayed in myanmar and having paid $10-$85 for various places we'd seen a variance in amenities and quality. We did think that $36 for a twin room up four flights of stairs was a tad pricey. But the location is bang in the middle of town, close to the station and many restaurants. The lack of wifi other than the lobby and first floor was limiting and we had to ask for it to be switched on sometimes. But the staff were very helpful to us. They organized a 6am breakfast and cab to the airport, despite reception not being open then. The room was basic but it was cold, which was great after being out walking/sweating all day.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving at Beautyland II, the register showed us 3 rooms... one on the 2nd floor, 2 beds, TV, aircon -$40. 4th floor, 2 beds, aircon -$37. 5th floor, 2 beds, no aircon, shared bathroom -$30. We chose option 2 and then settled in and tried to use the aircon. After running it for 10 minutes, it wasnt cold. Called reception, they sent someone to check, worked for a few minutes and then turned off. Switched back and forth for the 2 nights we were there.

Pros:
Good location
Friendly staff
Wifi (only in lobby)
Hot water

Cons:
Broken aircon - when ther roadside restaurants, taxis, and the lobby dont have aircons, after a long day of trekking you want somewhere to cool off!
Room smelt strongly of paint
Lack of hygeine - sheets were grey, towels frighteningly dirty, my mum found a red stain on hers. She ended up buying a new one (I had brought one)
Many flights and wifi only in lobby

We checked out and are now staying in Sunflower Inn near Scotts Market. When arriving at the lobby, you are greeted with a lovely smell and nice cold air conditioning, while you are brought a cute, chilly glass of lime drink. We are on the 6th floor (all deluxe rooms booked) with shared bathrooms/toilets (hot water) but getting crispy white sheets, huge bright windows with a view, a fridge, tv with English channels, table and two chairs. All for $30. Plus the decor is much better. Blue walls, flowery red sheets, far less depressing for our 10 days in Yangon.

Beautyland II, they were nice but the hygeine and lack of repairs just couldnt accommodate.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ak5743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a 4 day trip to Myanmar after doing lots of research and in the end taking a friend's recommendation. Hotels in Yangon are surprisingly expensive and generally not good value compared to what you could get in other similar cities. We found Beautyland II to offer a decent room with a hearty breakfast and with the bonus of being in a great location. Breakfast just keeps coming and coming with an array of local and more 'Western' items served with a smile. The hotel is close to the train station and a number of things you're likely to want to see. They also offer airport pickup for US$5. The staff are a credit to the hotel and wonderful ambassadors for their country. They were knowledgeable and helpful for all our questions and very responsive on email before we arrived. Their friendly demeanour and helpfulness (with great English) was one of the highlights for us. We would certainly stay at Beautyland II again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebettyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

once you get over the initial shock of travelling in Myanmar (dirty, small, overpriced rooms, no advance booking in most cases, and a lack of reputable places with way too many travellers) this place will look great.
the difference here is the friendly way of the staff. the Myanmar hospitality you have heard or read about before coming to the country is found here. plus. every member of staff wants to help, be it carrying your bags up (the extremely steep) stairs, changing money, booking domestic flights or having a chat about your travels so far, which is really welcome after or before a day of exploring the busy city of Yangon.
my room was alright, nothing special. if you compared it to western standards you would cry, but this is not an exercise in comparison to the west, this is a developing country with very few tourist facilities.
the room was a bit dank and i paid less for a room with no window. the bathroom (see picture) had mould issues. the lino in the bedroom was lifting in places. for the price in Yangon though there is nowhere better.
it is a close walk to Sule Pagoda, The Strand, Chinatown (maybe 15 minutes on foot) and other attractions.
when i left the reception staff walked me (and carried my bag in 35+ celsius) to the main road where a taxi was waiting before bidding me a fond farewell.
I'll be back (if they can fit me in) next time around...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markos_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

we have stayed here more than once and the staff is very friendly and accommodating, BF is also good not very elaborating but fulfilling
little over priced but thats the case with every place to stay in Yangon especially
they also have a luggage storage place, a decent place to sleep with decent rooms( not too elaborated) and pretty amazing place for budget travelers

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehboobalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights after moving out from the dirty and horrible Okinawa Hostel.
I looked around most budget places in Yangon that day, and this was he only one I could find that was at least decent for the money.

I had a room on the top floor with shared bathroom. The bathroom was ok, no really clean, but doable.
The Room itself was good. It was not as damp as other rooms described here, maybe because it was on the top floor with two windows and the wind was blowing in the room.
Beds were ok also. It was all not very clean, but ok.
There was some basic furniture in the room also, like chairs and a wardrobe.

On the top floor was also something like a rooftop terrace. Unfortunately the staff was sitting there at night, so it was a bit loud when we were trying to sleep.

The colleauges of the hotel were very nice. They even carried my backpack up to the room. THats the first time in 6 months of budget travelling that someone carried my luggage to the room, so I was very impressed.

The location is good, Everything is in walking distance, and the street also is pretty clean and well lid at night

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MySunnyDays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I guess the quality of the hotel is pretty average. The midpriced rooms are damp and the hotel in general is overpriced, like most hotels in Myanmar. However, we got a room with shared bathroom on the roof of the hotel. the room was bright and airy and located next to the quarters where the staff was sleeping. Every morning we were woken up by the singing of the staff!!! This sounds horrible, but it was nice. not too early and the staff was cheerfull and friendly. Had some nice talks on the roof whit the streetsounds in the background.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#70 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Pearl Inn
Ocean Pearl Inn
#102 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
256 reviews
0 mi away
Rangoon 40 Hotel
Rangoon 40 Hotel
#85 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#118 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#53 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
92 reviews
0 mi away
Nice Day Hotel
Nice Day Hotel
#119 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beautyland Hotel II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beautyland Hotel II

Address: 188-192 33rd Street | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £13 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beautyland Hotel II 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown: Within very easy reach of Yangon Railway Station, Bo Gyoke Market, Airlines Offices, and several other highlights of the city. Your stay here is guaranteed efficacious. Air conditioner; bathrooms attached with hot and cold shower; minibar; Oversea Telephone & Facsimile Service, 24-hour satellite T.V ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beautyland Hotel II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beautyland Hotel II Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing