We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced so-so food; ok entertainment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karaweik Palace

Karaweik Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Culture Show at Karaweik Palace Yangon with International Buffet Dinner
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Karaweik Palace is a truly unique building and a landmark of Yangon. A multi cuisine A La Carte Lunch from 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM with Myanmar famous "Daung Lan Gyi" set for those who wants to dine like the ancient royal families and enjoy an evening international buffet with an amazing cultural show from 6:00PM to 9:00 PM.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“overpriced so-so food; ok entertainment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you are like me looking for 2-3 hours to kill, and do not mind the overpriced so-so buffet food (they charged me US$30 walk-in; I suspect you can do better going through a package or through your hotel), their entertainment is ok. I liked the "elephant dance" but other pieces were quite bland. The setting is dramatic and worth some pictures.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank C-Ali94025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    115
    94
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent experience mostly because of our hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a great experience. Mainly because we had our gracious hosts with us, who explained the various dances and their significance.
The food is good, it is a large buffer with something for every taste.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quazi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Culture show and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Authentic cultural show with some funny parts. Best go early and pick from the burmese food section. Location filled up fast as its the only dining with show in Yangon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank whomadewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible place for Vegetarian”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Not good at all if you are vegetarian, Ambience was good. Cultural program..no info book being provided for us who dont understand the local language. They dont accept card..Very bad experience. Have a look from outside

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Deva2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1,022 reviews
702 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,366 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place for a Fine Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Karaweik Palace is a huge floating restaurant that can be found in Kandawgyi Lake. Built as a replica of the Burmese Royal Barge, the Karaweik palace has an impressive architecture and is fully painted in gold.

Tourists and locals looking for a fine dining experience in Yangon usually come here for buffet dinner and live entertainment. The performers showcase traditional music and dance from the different tribes across the country. By local standard the cost (US $25) could be pricey.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karaweik Palace also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Karaweik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing