We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainly textile,clothes and stones”

Bogyoke Aung San Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.25*
and up
Private Full-Day Yangon Tour Including Circular Train Ticket and Lunch
More Info
US$58.80*
and up
Private Half-Day Yangon Walking Tour
More Info
US$74.66*
and up
Yangon City Sightseeing Tour
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mainly textile,clothes and stones”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This market houses a variety of stalls ,mainly selling clothes,textiles and semi precious stones /pearls .We got good buys for pearl necklaces and earrings ,but you got to try to bargain ,some vendors refuse to give much discount .There are 2 stalls selling hand-embroidered shawls,table runners knit blouses - in all sorts of pretty colours .We bought many items from these stalls as the prices are very reasonable .
Our other good bargains are skirts made from good quality stretcy fabrics ,you see a lot of the locals wearing them too ,many colours and patterns to choose from and each costs about 1000 -1200 kyat.
It's mango season when we visited ,they are sold outside the perimeter of the market areas- the "diamond" mangoes are delicious - lusciously sweet and juicy !
There are many shops selling jewellery but I was more interested in purchasing raw uncut jade stones .If you purchase these raw stones ,make sure the shop issue you a voucher to declare that is it legally purchased, otherwise , the custom could confiscate them when you leave Myanmar .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Siew Ping Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    549
    409
    68
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very over-priced for a local market”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There is a good variety of products sold at this market; ranging from souvenirs to gemstones. The market itself is huge but most shops sell the same stuff. Other than the gemstones, the other things are more or less the same you get in other Mekong counties - Thailand, Vietnam etc.

Surprisingly the prices at the market are very high and most vendors are not interested in bargaining. You are better off shopping at the Ben Thanh Market in Ho Chi Minh.

Overall I was quite disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Madancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like in Thailand.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The market was big and there were lots of things to see and buy, but I have been in many markets of this kind in my country, so I didn't feel so excited. I still love this place as I bought Tanaka in a good price here.

Helpful?
1 Thank KarnPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stones jewellery wood lacquer”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good place to scout for stones like Ruby, Sapphire, emerald, Jade, but must bargain bcoz pricing very high....do some research on items you wanna buy back home before haggling n see more shops before settling into one.many many shop in this bazaar..no aircond..very humid, hot...if going for wood or lacquer go to side of the bazaar not in the centre point...much cheaper n more choices...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JsJien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Semi Precious Stones and Souvenirs”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a good place to look for unique souvenir and semi precious stones. Myanmar is famous for it jade. You can find it here, lots of it! Other semi precious stones such a Ruby, emeralds, sapphire and more.

Haggle is a must! Go as low as 30% of the initial asking price.

Credit card are accepted but additional 4.25% of transaction fee are imposed.

The place is very very hot! No air conditioning

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertChew-MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bogyoke Aung San Market also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Bogyoke Aung San Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing