We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant hotel in a central position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Yangon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Yangon Hotel
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel in a central position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

a very friendly welcome, by very attentive staff. The room was windowless and very basic - considering they had apparently few guests, I would have thought they could have done a little better? However for onlt two nights it as quite adequate.

Room Tip: Ask to look at room, front rooms are noisy ( no double glazing!!) rear rooms are OK middle rooms ( a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyking8652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
4
28
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed there is February 2014. The hotel was new and clean,room is small but still have tv, aircon,fridge and free wifi.Breakfast on the 9th floor was awesome.Can see ayeyarwaddy river on top.Area is noisy coz of traffic.Very near with china town . Just take 10mins if walk and 25 mins to Sulay pagoda and City hall . Location was fine .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was my 3rd stay at this hotel this year - while its not right next to the main sights, it is new and impeccably clean with decent wifi. The inclusive breakfast is good and you get a great view over the city and rivers from the 9th floor dining room. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of room service too for a smallish hotel like this - excellent!

The rooms might be a bit on the small side, but it works well as a base and in Yangon, currently hotels are not that great value compaired to elsewhere in Asia - NYH does represent decent value. There is some road noise at peak hours and I would like to see black-out curtains, but these are minor issues.

With 10 visits to Yangon in the last 4 years I know the taxi fare to the airport is 7000 Ks - if you crave fast food then opposite the hotel is Lotteria, Myanmar's KFC.

Room Tip: If traffic noise (as peak hours) bothers you then request an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K2-BellyDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very small rooms and noisy about the traffic. The mattress was as hard as concrete. if I went back to Yangon I probably wouldn't stay here , it's nearly an hour from the airport/ bus station and cost us 9000k we also got the train to golden rock which was fantastic ,upperclass for two 17400k.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in February 2014. The hotel was impeccably clean, the room are basic but have all you require aircon, fridge, safe etc and free wifi. But breakfast on the 9th floor with a wonderful view over Yangon in the morning was simply awesome. The hotel staff are so very helpful. A big Thank You to Edward, his brother and Soe for their help and assistance whilst experiencing problems with visa. Well recommend a visit. Lovely staff, lovely atmosphere and good location to go exploring. Walking distance to Shwedagon Pagoda approx 35 mins. Yangon market approx 20 mins. Airport journey approx 30 mins by taxi depending on rush hour traffic but approx 8000 kyats. Well worth a visit

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harty214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Anywhere else in Asia this would be a 10 usd a night hotel ! But it's Myanmar and it's expensive. This was close to 50 usd a night and really not worth the money. The room was tiny hardly any space for luggage it immediately looked like a bomb had gone off in our room after we unpacked some stuff, the bathroom was just bigger than a shower cubicle and was not really a room just frosted glass stuck onto our room . But apart from the size ,the bed was comfortable and wifi worked ok and the breakfast was really good. Bad coffee however , unless you like Nescafé. The hotel is at the far end of Yangon city so either walk a lot (we did) or it's taxis ! Ignore lonely planets food, money changing tips etc it's all very bad advice, we got 972 usd exchange rate in a normal money changer , if I went back to Yangon I probably wouldn't stay here , it's nearly an hour from the airport/ bus station and cost us 9000k we also got the train to golden rock which was fantastic ,upperclass for two 17400k

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing737man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Its located on a busy road, very small rooms are noisy during the daytime. Road in front is currently is construction. We had to change room three times, all were similar in quality. Staff was very friendly and helpful especially at night shift.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Mr. Lee Hotel
Mr. Lee Hotel
#83 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#62 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#84 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
#72 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eden Palace Hotel
Eden Palace Hotel
#133 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Esta
Hotel Esta
#38 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Yangon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yangon Hotel

Property: New Yangon Hotel
Address: 830 Mahabandoola Road, Corner of 9th Street, Lanmadaw Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11131, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yangon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Yangon Hotel offers a boutique experience in the heart of Yangon. Whether for business or travel, we offer a unique experience that combines the essence of Yangon with the comforts and amenities you require.New Yangon Hotel offers a one-of-a-kind way to experience Yangon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JovagoAsia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your New Yangon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yangon Hotel Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing