We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Modern Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
30th Corner Boutique Hostel
Reading
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Modern Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is the only genuinely modern hostel I found in Myanmar. Really clean, bright and modern. No breakfast included unfortunately but it was really nice. Great city centre location, close to most things.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oulondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    67
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
6
51
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very new and modern but basic hostel near Sule Pagoda. If you are travelling on a budget and want something clean, modern and functional then this is the place. Excellent location and friendly staff. Decent value by Yangon standards too. No breakfast or food available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrynNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely hostel in downtown Yangon for 3 times (overall 4 nights) while traveling Myanmar in May 2014.

First time we got there we were happily welcomed by the very nice and friendly staff. We got ourselves all organised in the hostel and then went to the reception to get some help booking our further trip in the country. We almost felt a little bad because we asked the friendly (probably manager of the hostel) lady for a lot of different options getting around and making reservations in places we couldn't reach ourselves. But she seemed more than happy to help us out and did a perfect job! We also asked for a burmese restaurant she would recommend and that turned out to be very good to (Free Myanmar).

The hostel rooms are nice and clean (as we expected them to be in a Boutique Hostel). The showers are great with lots of hot water, only the toilets could be a bit (and I mean only a bit) cleaner, but that didn't bother us much. Also some of the rooms don't have a window, but since we didn't stay there much longer apart from sleeping that is ok.

The second time we stayed there we came on an overnight bus from bagan so we arrived at the hostel at about 6.30am. The staff was, once again, very nice and even offered us a room where we could stay for free until our previously booked room was available from Check-In time at lunch time.

The Hostel is close to most of the things you will want to see in Yangon, so regarding the price and location we consider this Hostel to be a TOP deal.

We will definitely stay there again if we go back to beautiful Myanmar one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very handy for downtown Yangon, this new hotel is close to the Sule pagoda and walking distance to the bars and eating street, 19th street. Room clean and shared bathroom has lovely hot showers. I would suggest you request a room with a window though. Staff freindly and helpful and internet free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have looked into other hostels in Yangon and this is the best place in downtown, unless you wanted to pay a fortune for accommodation. Before arrival in Yangon, I requested a few specification in my room which they have accomplished right before my check-in. I also looked into the dorm rooms and I noticed a limited space for the lower bunk beds. The front desk provides a wide array of options and guides in moving around in Myanmar. You can request them to purchase bus ticket to Bagan or Mandalay in advance at local ticket rates. Free bottled water is available. The wifi at the lobby is great but not in the rooms. Overall, its a great place to stay in Yangon. Its very reliable and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonyph08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The location/surrounding can be bit dodgy but the room itself is very clean with comfy beds. Staffs are real friendly. Bathroom and shower place is okay but bearable. Overall it was not bad place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Met the young owner by chance at a restaurant where he was eating with friends and happened to see the brochures they were looking at for this brand new hostel. We spent a night there before their official opening. You likely will not find a nicer, more tasteful place in Yangon in this price range. The owner and staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcngirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.2 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#45 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pickled Tea Hostel
Pickled Tea Hostel
#1 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 30th Corner Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 30th Corner Boutique Hostel

Property: 30th Corner Boutique Hostel
Address: No. 241 251, Anawyahtar Road & 30th Street Corner, Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, JovagoAsia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HostelWorld so you can book your 30th Corner Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
30th Corner Boutique Hostel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing