We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean facilities and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
30th Corner Boutique Hostel
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hostel offered my friend and me a clean and comfortable place to stay in Yangon. The five-bed dorm was not too cramped, the showers had waterfall heads, and the whole facility was kept simple and clean. There was a small locker for each person, one or two plugs by each bed, and comfortable beds. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave a great recommendation for dinner on our first night, and they helped us obtain bus tickets to Bagan as well as a taxi to the bus station. My one complaint would be that there is no communal space to hang out and meet other travelers. I will stay here again if I return to Yangon.

Visited May 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Initial impression wasn't great from the tight stairways and cramp reception area (8 adults in our travel groups). Walls were so thin that we were nicely being told by fellow traveler in neighboring rooms to keep it down because the walls were vibrating (we had 2 excited toddlers with us =P). Staffs were however very friendly and provided everything we needed, from hot water for the children's milk, to making travel arrangements.. Bogyoke market and Parkson (supermarket) is just a stone throw away.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiucheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is the only genuinely modern hostel I found in Myanmar. Really clean, bright and modern. No breakfast included unfortunately but it was really nice. Great city centre location, close to most things.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oulondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very new and modern but basic hostel near Sule Pagoda. If you are travelling on a budget and want something clean, modern and functional then this is the place. Excellent location and friendly staff. Decent value by Yangon standards too. No breakfast or food available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrynNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely hostel in downtown Yangon for 3 times (overall 4 nights) while traveling Myanmar in May 2014.

First time we got there we were happily welcomed by the very nice and friendly staff. We got ourselves all organised in the hostel and then went to the reception to get some help booking our further trip in the country. We almost felt a little bad because we asked the friendly (probably manager of the hostel) lady for a lot of different options getting around and making reservations in places we couldn't reach ourselves. But she seemed more than happy to help us out and did a perfect job! We also asked for a burmese restaurant she would recommend and that turned out to be very good to (Free Myanmar).

The hostel rooms are nice and clean (as we expected them to be in a Boutique Hostel). The showers are great with lots of hot water, only the toilets could be a bit (and I mean only a bit) cleaner, but that didn't bother us much. Also some of the rooms don't have a window, but since we didn't stay there much longer apart from sleeping that is ok.

The second time we stayed there we came on an overnight bus from bagan so we arrived at the hostel at about 6.30am. The staff was, once again, very nice and even offered us a room where we could stay for free until our previously booked room was available from Check-In time at lunch time.

The Hostel is close to most of the things you will want to see in Yangon, so regarding the price and location we consider this Hostel to be a TOP deal.

We will definitely stay there again if we go back to beautiful Myanmar one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very handy for downtown Yangon, this new hotel is close to the Sule pagoda and walking distance to the bars and eating street, 19th street. Room clean and shared bathroom has lovely hot showers. I would suggest you request a room with a window though. Staff freindly and helpful and internet free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have looked into other hostels in Yangon and this is the best place in downtown, unless you wanted to pay a fortune for accommodation. Before arrival in Yangon, I requested a few specification in my room which they have accomplished right before my check-in. I also looked into the dorm rooms and I noticed a limited space for the lower bunk beds. The front desk provides a wide array of options and guides in moving around in Myanmar. You can request them to purchase bus ticket to Bagan or Mandalay in advance at local ticket rates. Free bottled water is available. The wifi at the lobby is great but not in the rooms. Overall, its a great place to stay in Yangon. Its very reliable and value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonyph08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Four Rivers Hostel
Four Rivers Hostel
#13 of 97 in Yangon (Rangoon)
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 97 in Yangon (Rangoon)
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scott @ 31st Street
Scott @ 31st Street
#5 of 97 in Yangon (Rangoon)
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#10 of 97 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shwe Yo Vintage Hostel
Shwe Yo Vintage Hostel
#4 of 97 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pickled Tea Hostel
Pickled Tea Hostel
#1 of 97 in Yangon (Rangoon)
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 30th Corner Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 30th Corner Boutique Hostel

Address: No. 241 251, Anawyahtar Road & 30th Street Corner, Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £9 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your 30th Corner Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
30th Corner Boutique Hostel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing