We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - Clean room - Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
30th Corner Boutique Hostel
1 review
“Great staff - Clean room - Good location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Many thanks to the staff. They are so nice and so attentive. They gave us a lot of info about Yangon and Mandalay. They help us booked the bus tickets to Mandalay; checked the car rental. They gave us alot advice about the food, attractions, directions, ... After checked out they allowed us take a bath with free towels and helped us call the taxi to Mingdagalar bus station. I'm verry appreciate about that.
There is a verry good restaurant opposite the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acciovn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    68
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
6
52
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms were quite pricey especially given no breakfast. They were however modern and clean. And agree with the worms in the bathroom - not a good look when your eyes are full of suds and you're watching out for the worm inching towards your toes. The staff do have basic English but they are very nice - got taken to a doctor by the staff when I fell ill.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank somethingaboutamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 11 days in 5 different hotels/hostels in Myanmar and 2 nights in this hostel. This was (by far) the most expensive, but it was the only shared bathroom we had, and the only hotel/hostel with no free breakfast. The early morning/evening staff cannot speak enough English to answer basic questions like "What times do the buses go to Inle Lake?" and there are no signs posted to give this kind of basic information that travellers need.

This hostel looks very new/modern, but I doubt it will stay like this long because they don't appear to be cleaning the shared areas well. The women's shower walls were covered in worms (dead and alive). I kept thinking they would clean the worms/dirt in the showers/toilets or even put toilet paper in the women's bathrooms, but after 24+ hours, there was no change... After staying in the other 4 hotels in other parts of Myanmar for $20-$25 per night, I honestly can't believe that we paid the amount of money for a shared, dirty bathroom with no toilet paper and no included breakfast.

Positives: Great location near the Sule Pagoda and walking distance to the railway station if you want to do the Circle Train; Unlimited free water; Modern decor. The front desk staff we encountered in the afternoon can speak great English, but they weren't there when we needed information to plan our onward travel...

Overall: We would recommend others to stay somewhere else that might not look as new/modern, but will include breakfast and have staff that can speak enough English to help you plan the next segments of your trip. Better value for your money.

Room Tip: I wonder if any of the rooms have windows... it didn't look like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kokusai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Glad that we stayed in this Hostel. Location is in the center of the city. Walking distance to Sule Pagoda, to the China town and market. Room is very clean and comfort. The staffs are very friendly. The hostel manager can speak English very well however speaking English with other staffs will be challenging.

Room Tip: Room with a window to the street will be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

For it's price, this hostel is great! The staff were so helpful and hospitable to us; I was really impressed by Burmese hospitality. Great location, and the rooms were pretty clean. The toilets smelled a little but it is what you'd expect when facilities are shared by many over a long day.

Room Tip: Bring slippers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yinanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hostel offered my friend and me a clean and comfortable place to stay in Yangon. The five-bed dorm was not too cramped, the showers had waterfall heads, and the whole facility was kept simple and clean. There was a small locker for each person, one or two plugs by each bed, and comfortable beds. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave a great recommendation for dinner on our first night, and they helped us obtain bus tickets to Bagan as well as a taxi to the bus station. My one complaint would be that there is no communal space to hang out and meet other travelers. I will stay here again if I return to Yangon.

Visited May 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Initial impression wasn't great from the tight stairways and cramp reception area (8 adults in our travel groups). Walls were so thin that we were nicely being told by fellow traveler in neighboring rooms to keep it down because the walls were vibrating (we had 2 excited toddlers with us =P). Staffs were however very friendly and provided everything we needed, from hot water for the children's milk, to making travel arrangements.. Bogyoke market and Parkson (supermarket) is just a stone throw away.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiucheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#41 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#10 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scott @ 31st Street
Scott @ 31st Street
#6 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Rivers Hostel
Four Rivers Hostel
#11 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayfarer's Rest - Chinatown
Wayfarer's Rest - Chinatown
#13 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 30th Corner Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 30th Corner Boutique Hostel

Property: 30th Corner Boutique Hostel
Address: No. 241 251, Anawyahtar Road & 30th Street Corner, Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11143, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, JovagoAsia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your 30th Corner Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
30th Corner Boutique Hostel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing