We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel in good area with helpful friendly staff.”
Review of Classique Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Classique Inn
Ranked #12 of 177 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed four nights at this lovely little hotel in residential area of Yangon. Lovely friendly staff. Plentiful breakfast. There is a small shopping centre nearby with eateries, money changer and supermarket. Well recommended if you want to stay outside downtown Yangon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezzajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at the Classique Inn for about two weeks immediately after arriving in Yangon for the first time. It's a lovely place, that makes it easy for you to get used to life in Yangon. The staff are particularly nice and really care about your well-being (given how small it is, they know everyone staying there). The rooms are a bit small, but warmly decorated with teak furniture and very clean. The breakfast is good and can be taken outside in the courtyard of the hotel.
What got me a little worried was when I came back late one night (around 1am) and the door was locked. I kept knocking, but it took quite a while for someone to open up for me. So better don't stay out late or tell them in advance that you might be back after hours.
The area, though very quiet and with some nice restaurants close by, is very dark at night with lots of street dogs around. During monsoon season the Golden Valley also gets easily flooded. Something to be mindful of.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Franziska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed two nights in this boutique hotel at the start of our trip and one before we left. It was. Great, restful, we'll appointed but cozy. The breakfasts were the best we had in Myanmar, the omelet is especially good. We also had dinner there and the fish curry on the set menu was delicious. The staff are friendly and helpful. We thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is in the diplomat,s area of Yangon which makes it strange that the road is so bad, maybe they are trying to move them all to the new Capitol!

Room Tip: Room 203 upstairs is more like a little apartment with a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LindaC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our agency booked our group of three (two rooms) into the Classique Inn for our January 2013 visit, but when we arrived we were taken to a large, quite lovely four star hotel instead. Only explanation was that a group had taken it over. It didn't really matter except we'd left Classique Inn info for our families and used that address on forms when we landed. I viewed this as strange, but nothing to ruin a trip and put it on my "unreliable" list. I'll be visiting Yangon for the fourth time next January and wouldn't consider relying on a booking there.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Classique Inn for 4 days in June 2014. It was in a quiet neighborhood away from
the bustle of downtown Yangon. Naw Lay was wonderful. She was very attentive and helpful. The breakfasts were huge, so got us through to dinner. The location is good. It is about 10 minute walk to a large grocery store, and 30 minutes to Shwedagon Pagoda, a must-see sight. There are several restaurants within walking distance, and it is easy to get a cab called to the hotel in just a few minutes.
Overall, a wonderful choice for our family of 3.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Arrived in a downpour in the evening to receive a friendly, efficient welcome in keeping with my expectations of Myanmar. A very good dinner was cooked for us and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, big portions of fresh fruit and Myanmar noodles. A lovely property and people, will probably return there at the end of the trip. Wifi was patchy and slow but worked well enough in the reception and dining areas.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KimHanhLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

First: Kalya, the owner and manager women of that family run hotel, arranged for us reservation of nearly all hotels, 3 domestic flights and boat from Mandalay to Bagan, what was very helpful for us 4 friends. Contact via e-mail was perfect.
Hotel, as written before - in a pleasant quiet garden suburb, nice colonial style interior, clean.
Staff kind and professional, very helpful.
Breakfast tasty, choice from local or intl. standard.
ROOMS: There were free just two downstairs rooms for us. One of them ok. The other right behind the sitting place in the entrance hall was more than VERY small, hearing every word said outside of the room. Try to get some of the rooms upstairs, or certainly not that described one.
In spite of the small room we were happy to stay at the homey, quiet and friendly hotel. Would come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#14 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
536 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Inn
Alamanda Inn
#19 of 177 in Yangon (Rangoon)
230 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel @ Yangon Heritage
Hotel @ Yangon Heritage
#14 of 177 in Yangon (Rangoon)
60 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mango Hill Inn
Mango Hill Inn
#2 of 177 in Yangon (Rangoon)
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classique Inn

Address: No. 53 B Shwe Taung Kyar St. (Golden Valley Road | Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £48 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Classique Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MYANMAR FAMILY RUN INN since 1993 A tropical garden bordered by two Colonial Style buildings with the main building being a 2-storey edifice, and the other 3-storey structure with 8 and 3 guest rooms respectively, making a total of 11 rooms will await you once you set foot into our establishment, together with a resting terrace where you may sit down for a little while to enjoy the astonishingly green view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Classique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classique Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Classique Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing