We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart boutique hotel in great location”
Review of The Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Loft Hotel
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smart boutique hotel in great location”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Loft is a high quality boutique hotel with a energetic and hardworking staff in a great location just around the corner from the Scott Market. When we arrived we were met with a cool drink, hot towels, and warm smiles. The hotel is stylishly designed and decorated and the rooms have a nice open feel and comfortable amenities. They were still in the "soft-opening" stage so the elevator wasn't working, the restaurant wasn't open other than for the generous and delicious breakfast, and they were still working on some rooms, which is why I gave it four instead of five stars. But I would definitely stay there again. It's in walking distance to many restaurants and sites and there are two money exchange places on the block, although they do not exchange money there. Good internet service in the hotel and again, the staff was really helpful and kind. It was a great intro to Burma. They don't take credit cards so everything was in cash.

Room Tip: We stayed twice during our stay. One room was facing the street and the apartment building in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    118
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
158
32
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have stayed and visited many hotels in Yangon... The Sedona, The Chatrium, The Park Royal, The Strand, etc. etc. - but The Loft is far and away the nicest hotel in Yangon. It's small and not institutional. The rooms are tastefully appointed and quiet. Wireless internet access works great, surprisingly even in the middle of the day. The breakfast is fantastic. The service is excellent. You can walk to Scott (Bogyoke) Market in five minutes (literally it's down the street and around the corner). And the price is reasonable, something that you can't find anymore in Yangon. Ok, so the restaurant is not yet finished and the elevator not yet installed, but that's the nature of the soft opening and these pieces will be completed soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Service-minded Staff. Simple Luxury with Great Attention to Detail. City-center Beauty. The title of my review was hard to choose. In short, my stay during The Loft's soft opening was absolutely refreshing.

Within a short walk to Scott Market and tucked on a small lane of residences and little shops, I was struck by the total quietness in my light-filled rooms. The double-pane, floor-to-ceiling windows keep the street noise and the raw weather at bay. The high-ceiling, the custom-upholstered chairs, the platform desk, the comfortable bed with soft sheets, the stunning black/white photo scaled for the room that is also depicted in color in the bathroom, and the personalized touches (shampoo flask in shower, tea kettle with elegant cup/saucer, stone entry with natural wood floors in sleeping room, adjustable lighting), provide an inviting home base for business or tourist travelers. Breakfast was a feast of delicate flavors, creative options, delicious coffee and elegantly served tea. All of this at a price of great value for Yangon!

I will be eager to enjoy The Loft on my next travel to Myanmar. At that time, the world-class chef will be in place, the restaurant and bar will be fully operating, and I will make sure I set aside more than one night to accomplish my work in the city.

Room Tip: The "loft" rooms are ideal for work-related travel or the feeling of the home living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Loft has had a soft opening, just near the Park Royal. I stayed there for three nights at the end of a 3-week visit, and it was luxury to have a good flow of water in the bathroom, air-conditioning and hot water in a clean and very well-designed room on the second floor.

The lift doesn't work yet and the bar/cafe isn't finished, but it is a fabulous location and the rooms are very trendy, clean and well-appointed,

The breakfast was first-rate, with the waiters just learning, but quickly coming understanding the whims of foreign guests. That's true of all the staff, who were all very friendly and helpful.

The local area is great. Across the road and walk to the old downtown, and several quite good restaurants nearby, as well as mini-marts, money changers and ATMs.

My only little complaint is that they are a bit stingy on bathroom amenities. I got a small bag of stuff on check-in, including soap, but it was not replaced each day.

That quibble aside, I recommend the hotel very highly and enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Do visit the Nawaday Tharlar Gallery run by Pyay Way across the road at no. 304. Some great contempo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

In the heart of Yangon, on a crowded lane full of apartments and shops is The Loft Hotel. Its new, so new that many taxi drivers did not know of it. I think this will change very soon. The location is so central that you'd be amazed how close one is from most attractions - 15min walk to Scott’s Market/ Sula Pagoda, 20min walk to Shwedagon Pagoda and half an hour from the famous Strand Hotel. It's almost an hour and 10 min drive from the airport during peak hours, though only 25 min off-peak.

We were pleasantly surprised with the room. Though not very large, the decor is very modern yet simple - with great use of local photography and a comfortable bed. The best touch was spa-like shower head, which made one feel refreshed! The hotel is still being done up, but we didn’t mind the noise since we were out all day. Since the lift was not functional, we welcomed the opportunity for a bit more exercise ! I believe there are some larger duplex rooms as well.

The staff were always smiling and eager to help, for instance in making restaurant reservations… However, they are still a bit inexperienced, so despite their good intentions, some things were not done as instructed.

The breakfast was simple, but very good, and included great coffee. We stayed there 2 nights before heading to Bagan and Inle and came back to stay there another night before leaving Burma.

There is no swimming pool and fitness center yet. There was a bar/lounge area coming up, which may become a place to hang out.

The Loft was not accepting credit cards when we visited, but that may have changed by now. However, you will need cash for a lot of expenses in Burma. Do ask your travel agent to advise you regarding which US dollar notes are accepted.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out to the streets are way better than the rooms looking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomZaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is quite new, so there were always some little problems, like electricity. However, i still got a wonderful times in Yangon, as the staff here are really friendly, and always willing to help.

The room is spacious, very modern, with big windows, which allow sun shine to get in. This is very important to me, as easy for make-up. As the lighting in the room is pretty dim.

The lift is not in service, but the staff is very willing to take your luggages when check-in and check-out. So it is fine to me.

Many places in this hotel and surroundings are still under constuction. So maybe some noise.

No much choice for breakfast, and the place for having breakfast seems like car park.

As that was my first two days in Yangon, i got so many questions, but the staff always answered me with patience and sincere smile!

So althought it is not perfect, i will certainly choose it again when i back to Yangon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMusicHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Having witnessed the construction progress from my room at opposite Park Royal during the autumn, I decided to give it a try when they finally opened. A decision i won't ever regret.
The hotel is not yet complete, the lift is not in service, the restaurant has not yet opened, the gym is not operational (not sure there will be one...) and they don't accept credit cards. But all this I knew when I moved in. And most obviously they are working hard on all these.
The room however is a story itself. The design makes you think you are on Manhattan or in Europe and not in Myanmar for sure. I chose the duplex which has an entrance floor with bathroom and sitting area with a floor to ceiling windows, upstairs there is a sleeping loft and a nice terrace overlooking the bustling streets of Yangon. The shower room is equipped with peek-a-boo glass walls which makes showering a bit exhibitionistic ;-)
Until the restaurant opens the a' la carte breakfast is served in the courtyard. If one wants to be romantic one would say in the japanese garden. But to be hoest I believe the gravel filled courtyard is the coming car park...
Would have been nice to have a deck in the courtyard where one can relax and take a dip in a splash pool. Who knows, perhaps it is part of the plans?
I fill find out on my next trip back to Yangon

Room Tip: The duplex for the real urban modern feeling and the terrace overlooking the city. Especially if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,472 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Hotel

Property: The Loft Hotel
Address: 33 Yaw Min Gyi Street | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Loft" is a peaceful luxury Boutique Hotel in the very heart of Yangon. Offering 32 luxurious guestrooms and duplex suites with all essential travellers' comforts, this is where you will leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind you... Ideally located, you are a few steps away from the city's most prestigious cultural and business addresses. Surrounding this urban sanctuary are remarkable treasures waiting to be discovered; such as the renowned Bogyoke Market, the Yangon City Hall and the famous Sule and Shedagon Pagoda. Currently offering a delightful "A la carte" breakfast, the highly expected Award winning Restaurant "Sasazu" is slated to open in mid-November 2014. Ready to cater the most discerning visitors, this 80 seats venue including a lounge-bar area will offer breakfast, lunch and dinner in the alchemy of tastes, colours, sounds and design brought together to create an enchanting experience! Yangon's edge time is here and so is the thrilling "The Loft" Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Loft Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing