We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't charge 4 star hotel $$ without amenities”
Review of The Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Loft Hotel
Ranked #10 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't charge 4 star hotel $$ without amenities”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We decided on The Loft hotel for our stay in Yangon. The hotel's design was beautiful and rooms were new, clean, and hotel was in a great location. However they advertised they had Wifi on agoda.com. When we arrived it wasn't working. When we called down stairs instead of admitting there was a problem they denied it and told us it was our phones. We were then told that they opened in November 2013 and its still a soft opening...it was now July 2014. Their elevator wasn't working as well. Which normally we wouldn't have minded except that I was in an motorbike accident and was sore climbing up and down stairs. You can't charge 4 star hotel prices if you don't offer all the amenities to your guests its not fair. You can be honest and let them know ahead of time or charge a different price.

Room Tip: Make sure all the amenities they offer are working before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    121
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
161
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Loft is a brand new hotel with a great location in the center of Yangon. However, it is far from perfect and in the end not so good value for money.
The hotel is a small and narrow 3-4 storeys building which is probably a converted shophouse. As a result there are no facilities and no restaurant or room service (except for breakfast). The lift is under construction so ask not to be on a high floor if you mind.

On the positive side rooms are of very high standard with quality materials and hi tech gadgets such as touch light switches. Unfortunately sound insulation from the street is not good at all and you may be woken up quite early. There are rooms at the back which may be quieter.

The front staff speaks good English and is nice, although not flexible on late checkouts even though the hotel was almost empty...

Overall it is a good boutique hotel but it is overpriced. The same week we have stayed at a real 5 stars hotel in Bangkok for the same price!

Room Tip: Since there is no lift yet, the best rooms are the ones at the back of the building on the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rplnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Loft in Yangon is a unique and wonderful place to stay in Yangon. I recently stayed for 5 nights and I felt as if I were staying in an upgraded and amazing comfortable version of an apartment I would love to live in in a vibrant city. The Loft is located near downtown- practically walking distance to Bogyoke Market and some great new cafes and restaurants.

The owner/developer/designer has a keen attention to detail; she owns another hotel in Inle Lake View Resort- which is also a great facility. You know you are getting top quality when you stay at one of her hotels.

The staff is very helpful and nice- they helped get taxis, answer questions, etc. Additionally, the price cannot be beat, especially with the outrageous prices some hotels are charging for very little in return. The hotel's amenities are great. I stayed in a Deluxe Duplex Suite and it was fantastic, L'Occitane toiletries, modern bathroom and facilities, desk, big windows, large bedroom, exposed brick, artwork depicting Myanmar scenes and people- great.

The breakfast is also superb, if not a bit too large. Juice, coffee, tea, eggs, crepes, cereal, fruit, it just seems to go on but it is exceptionally delicious.

The hotel is still under construction- the elevator is in the process of being installed and a new restaurant is still waiting for its debut. Despite this, my stay was comfortable and convenient. I travel to Yangon often and have stayed in many a hotel; I definitely plan to stay here again and very much look forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The Loft hotel is situated in a central position of Yangon city and offers the opportunity to reach the major touristic attraction by a 10/15 minutes walk.
As many boutique hotels interiors are slightly zen and offers a very relaxing atmosphere.
The building is extremely new so several parts are still under construction; so for expect any lift or restaurant inside, because all will come in the next months. Either the souvenirs shop will open in the second part of 2014.
Rooms are really clean and spacious, well furnished and perfectly organized to give all the customers the best experience. Bathroom offers a big shower too
with all the amenities guests need after a long day outside to discover Yangon city.
All the staff is absolutely exquisite and professional, ready to satisfy any request or to help to plan a day trip in the city.
The hotel a private pick from and to airport for 20USD per way.
The only aspect should be improved is how the reservation office manage the booking offers with customers. I contacted the hotel a couple of weeks before my arrival asking for rate and room availability and I got an email from the reservation office that invite me to choose quickly because the availability was really short... unfortunately during my stay in the whole hotel where just two rooms booked (one of those was mine). This marketing strategy is absolutely not rewarding for the hotel to create loyalty with its customers and bring the guests to search different solution for the next trip in Yangon.
The Loft Hotel offers price generally more expensive than 15%-20% compare to the other 4 stars hotels and some 5 stars hotels in town.
Anyway being a 4 stars hotel is allowed to be not perfect in every details and with a bit experience more all the issues will be fixed and well managed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MrDago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a lovely brand new hotel with spotless rooms and friendly, helpful staff. If you prefer modern décor to colonial grandeur you will love this hotel. It is well situated close to some trendy cafes and the Scott market.

They are still in the process of opening the hotel facilities, the dining room had just been opened for breakfast, the food was cooked to order rather than a buffet. Room service is not currently available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Loft is a high quality boutique hotel with a energetic and hardworking staff in a great location just around the corner from the Scott Market. When we arrived we were met with a cool drink, hot towels, and warm smiles. The hotel is stylishly designed and decorated and the rooms have a nice open feel and comfortable amenities. They were still in the "soft-opening" stage so the elevator wasn't working, the restaurant wasn't open other than for the generous and delicious breakfast, and they were still working on some rooms, which is why I gave it four instead of five stars. But I would definitely stay there again. It's in walking distance to many restaurants and sites and there are two money exchange places on the block, although they do not exchange money there. Good internet service in the hotel and again, the staff was really helpful and kind. It was a great intro to Burma. They don't take credit cards so everything was in cash.

Room Tip: We stayed twice during our stay. One room was facing the street and the apartment building in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have stayed and visited many hotels in Yangon... The Sedona, The Chatrium, The Park Royal, The Strand, etc. etc. - but The Loft is far and away the nicest hotel in Yangon. It's small and not institutional. The rooms are tastefully appointed and quiet. Wireless internet access works great, surprisingly even in the middle of the day. The breakfast is fantastic. The service is excellent. You can walk to Scott (Bogyoke) Market in five minutes (literally it's down the street and around the corner). And the price is reasonable, something that you can't find anymore in Yangon. Ok, so the restaurant is not yet finished and the elevator not yet installed, but that's the nature of the soft opening and these pieces will be completed soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,508 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,381 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Hotel

Property: The Loft Hotel
Address: 33 Yaw Min Gyi Street | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Loft" is a peaceful luxury Boutique Hotel in the very heart of Yangon. Offering 32 luxurious guestrooms and duplex suites with all essential travellers' comforts, this is where you will leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind you... Ideally located, you are a few steps away from the city's most prestigious cultural and business addresses. Surrounding this urban sanctuary are remarkable treasures waiting to be discovered; such as the renowned Bogyoke Market, the Yangon City Hall and the famous Sule and Shedagon Pagoda. Currently offering a delightful "A la carte" breakfast, the highly expected Award winning Restaurant "Sasazu" is slated to open in mid-November 2014. Ready to cater the most discerning visitors, this 80 seats venue including a lounge-bar area will offer breakfast, lunch and dinner in the alchemy of tastes, colours, sounds and design brought together to create an enchanting experience! Yangon's edge time is here and so is the thrilling "The Loft" Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Loft Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing