We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #59 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
colchester england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Fair price for a good location, if you want perfection go elsewhere.
Two cafes outside next to the flyover look a bit scary at first, both have english menus if you ask, point out what you want ........brilliant food.
As other have said, super market around corner easy walk to Central Hotel to exchange money.
If you don't know what you are doing don't exchange dollars in streets, you will be given dodgy notes
Make sure you count dollars on counter in front of them, as some places recount under the counter and give you back a dodgy dollar bill they say you gave them.
Other scam locals ask to see Queen on £20 note or say Washington on a dollar bill. Then ask if they can exchange for cash as they would like to show their friends Forged notes don't do it.

Room Tip: Next to a fly over, front rooms a bit noisy, shout at staff when they chit chat in outside rooms dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anessexcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    81
    143
    26
    8
See reviews for
15
89
65
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This was our first hotel during our 16 day trip to Myanmar. We were worried when the taxi pulled up, because it doesn't look so great from the outside. However, the lobby was nice and the staff were immediately friendly and understanding of our dazed and fatigued appearance.

The hotel is older but clean and well kept. Our room faced the street, but we did not hear the traffic noise with the air conditioner on. Not luxurious, but lights, TV and hot showers all worked, and we even had a nice firm King size bed. The lobby staff were very friendly and helpful with directions or taxi arrangements.

We enjoyed the restaurant and expecially the wait staff who helped us understand the Burmese cuisine and gave us free small helpings to try the various options. They also helped us with Burmese pronouciation and phrases.

The location is central, but we often became overwhelmed trying to make our way through the broken sidewalks, noisy streets, sites and smells of Yangon.

We found the Panorama hotel to be a quiet, welcoming respite as we struggled with jet lag and some culture shock during our first couple days in SE Asia.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WashingtonStateDitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

The hotel is centrally located, good for downtown and close enough to walk to the Central Railway Station. The road in front of the hotel is actually the beginning of a flyover, so the hotel signage is partially hidden from view.

The bedrooms as well as the public areas are quite basic but adequate and the reception staff were friendly and efficient.

There are four free computer terminals providing internet access in the lobby. All were working and had decent speeds. I was able to access my Yahoo emails even though I had read that Yahoo and Gmail emails were blocked by the government.

As you exit the hotel to the left there’s an Italian pizza restaurant, and a Japanese restaurant across the road, as well as a few drinking places. To the right of the hotel on the main road is a large supermarket selling food, coffee and fresh bakery products.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
608 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

First, one should book a superior room to avoid the noise from the avenue in front of the hotel. Yet, one only gets a decent room in the upper floors. The ones in the lower floors on the back side of the hotel are dark and noisy. They can also be noisy if close to the elevator.
However, staff is friendly and helpful and there is free internet in the lobby. Some renovation would make it unbeatable because of its great location in downtown Yangon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

situated midst of downtown, just round the corner a supermarket, a pastry. Scott Market is very nearby, also Sula Pagoda, so the location is really great, but only if you also accept loud noise coming from the streets, from hugh ventilators next to your windows, from the lift, from the laudary on the lat floor.... We actually changed twice and gave up. Breakfast was ok, receptionists were trying to help. Internet was free of charge.

Room Tip: 6th floor, far away from lift, back side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciaWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We arrived late at night and got the last remaining room (that's what they always say) thanks to a phone call earlier in the day to confirm our confirmation and communicate the late check-in

This room was at the end of a corridor, exactly where the hotel staff spend the night (yes, in the corridor, chatting mindlessly of the guests they are keeping awake), so already off to a bad start the fact that only a neon light in the room was working did not surprised me, although it definitely upset me, especially when the person who had come to check the problem with the table lamp asked me if I really needed it

Eventually all my noise summoned the hotel manager, which came up with the solution of replacing the whole lamp, which in the meantime had been disassembled in the corridor in front of the room (also a working place, not only recreational apparently)

Cherry on the cake, the shower would provide only burning water, with no option to make it colder. I hope this was just the worst room they have, for sure it was the worst experience I had in Myanmar

One last thing, for whom is interested in breakfasts reviews: not only the eggs and the western items in general, but even the rice was disgusting .. only part of the fruit could be saved

Room Tip: Arrive ealry so as to change the room if they give you one at the end of the corridor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

IT seems that this hotel is always fully booked. The location is very convenient near the Scott Market, the staff is very friendly and efficient, specially the reception team.
But the hotel is very noisy specially if you are facing the road, you will have little chance to change to another room as I wrote, they are always fully booked. Rooms are very basic, as customers are allowed to smoke almost everywhere, the smell is persistent.
The water in the lavatories is brown, my room was smelly but OK you are in the center town and price is cheap so it is difficult to request more....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marisa_fromcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Asia Plaza Hotel
Asia Plaza Hotel
#63 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#41 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
#42 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#54 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: No. 294-300, Pansodan Street, Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panorama Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, JovagoAsia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Panorama Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing