We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the view over the city”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #53 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Magliano Sabina, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Go for the view over the city”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

but this depends on whether there is smog making it difficult to see very far. Like most hotels in Yangon it's expensive for what it is and rooms are functional but old-fashioned, lots of reception staff who try hard. are young and seem inexperienced with systems. Location good for restaurants - no need to eat in the hotel apart from breakfast. Bogyoke Market, street markets, Chinatown are within safe walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda area; view can be excellent but it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    84
    144
    26
    8
See reviews for
16
91
66
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Efficient quick check in. Large quiet room with sitting room, comfortable beds and awesome shower.
Great location for markets and central Yangon. Pleasant Hotel restaurant with good choice and reasonable prices.
Good value hotel for an expensive city.... recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Like most hotels in Yangon, it's overpriced for poor service and facilities.

The room is dated and very basic. If you're familiar with Motel 6 in the USA, the room itself would not rise to the level of a Motel 6. Also, there is NO SAFE IN THE ROOM. If you want to secure your valuables, you need to put them in a safe box at reception (I was really uncomfortable with this).

I didn't eat in the restaurant. But the breakfast was not bad. It had eggs, fresh fruit and even a few Indian selections.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's right downtown. Lot's of street life in the neighborhood. You can walk to restaurants, bars, tea stalls and one of the big pagodas. Also a big supermarket next door.

Overall:

Location: A-
Service: C
Breakfast: B-
Room & Facilities: C-

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntiGravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here at the start and then the end of our trip. First time, we had a room facing the front which had a nice view of the city but be aware that the noise from traffic and what not in the early morning can be quite disturbing. The second time, we had a low floor on the back side against the next building. No view but quiet.

Both times all facilities like aircon, TV, toilet and wifi worked well although don’t expect fast wifi speeds. The furnishings really look their age but cleanliness was generally good. Breakfast was a modest affair of western and local food but service was good. If you decide to have dinner here instead of venturing out, the prices are very reasonable and food is quite good too. The staff were good enough to pack us breakfast when we left for the airport early.

The hotel’s location close to the central part of Yangon and places like Scott’s Market and Traders Hotel. There is a small mini-mart about two streets away towards the river and a few eateries within walking distance like Monsoon and Union Bar although it took longer than normal to walk at night simply because we were not used to the relatively dark streets. Plenty of street food towards the direction of the river too if you are more adventurous.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tantiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in the Panorama twice on our trip and were very comfortable each time. The rooms were spacious, modern and clean, and we had an incredible view of the whole city all the way to Shwedagon Pagoda. The location was great, in that it was walking distance to markets, restaurants and other areas great for exploring. And the breakfast is great!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crollernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel at the start of our g adventures tour in Myanmar. The room in the front of the hotel was so noisy that all night we felt we were sleeping right by a highway. The room was musty and breakfast was okay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kms5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

charlotte, nc
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I recently came back from Myanmar and stayed two nights at the Panorama, at the beginning and end of the trip. The hotel far exceeded my expectations. My room, Room 912 on both occasions, had a great view of downtown and the Shwedagon Paya. Everything worked fine. The breakfast buffet was good in quality and plentiful in quantity. What set this hotel apart from the others was the staff. To the person, they were warm and engaging. Everything was done with a genuine smile. They truly made me feel at home while staying there. This was my favorite hotel of all that I stayed at while in Myanmar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. If noise is a problem, ask for a room on a higher floor. Being on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calumet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#52 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asia Plaza Hotel
Asia Plaza Hotel
#64 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#59 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#41 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#78 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#45 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: No. 294-300, Pansodan Street, Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panorama Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, JovagoAsia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Panorama Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing