We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
£28
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Agoda.com
£15
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Dave P
Bristol, United Kingdom

good nights sleep

Review of Hotel Yankin
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 May 2018
We stayed at Yankin on our first night in Myanmar - after a long travel (2 days from UK via HK) we were late getting in. Reception was dealt with quickly, and although the restaurant was closed, they found some beers for us, and allowed us to use the facilities to eat food which we obtained from nearby. Rooms were good, clean and well equipped. Breakfast was great, with omelettes cooked to order as well as the usual buffet fare. We travelled rounf Myanmar and returned to this hotel 2 weeks later to the same standard of service. Can't comment on the nearby ameneties, or the area in general as we were merely 'passing through' and needed a bed for the night. Overall, a good hotel with everything you need for a short stay. Probably not best location if you want a week here, but for us it was ideal. (We stayed in March, but Trip Advisor is playing up and keeps defaulting to todays date!)
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelYankin, Director at Hotel Yankin, responded to this review
Responded 9 May 2018
Dear dap inky,

Mingalarbar. Greetings from Hotel Yankin.

We appreciate that you have shared feedback on your experience with us. We are very grateful to you for staying at Hotel Yankin for 2 times during your visit to Myanmar. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed staying at our Hotel and satisfied with our services and facilities overall. This is because we have such a good team and lucky to have the pleasure of receiving charming guests as you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Yankin on your next visit to Myanmar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£63
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £94
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • Hotels.com
    £94
3.2 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
£68
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £68
  • StayForLong
    £64
  • Hotels.com
    £68
1.2 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£64
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £61
  • Agoda.com
    £53
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Infinity Pool overlooking to Shwedagon Pagoda, Trinity Church and Yangon City
Booking.com
£57
  • Official Site
  • Agoda.com
    £51
  • Expedia.com
    £85
4.3 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£41
  • Official Site
  • Agoda.com
    £31
  • Priceline
3.9 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£31
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £26
  • Expedia.com
    £30
3.9 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£23
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
4.3 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    £22
  • Vio.com
3.2 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £20
  • Agoda.com
    £16
  • Priceline
4.6 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £14
  • Hotels.com
    £27
4.8 miles from Hotel Yankin
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
17
23
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
23
13
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Where to begin...usually I don’t like to leave negative reviews (and never have done before) but feel I ought to relay my experience here to help others avoid this place. I checked in on the 17th Jan for 4 nights, and was most surprised by the frosty reception received from the two ladies at the reception desk. I had been expecting the usual welcoming reception after 3.5 weeks of travelling in Myanmar. Not a hello, not a smile, in fact not even any eye contact. One silently took my passport that I had put on the desk to photocopy, and the other told me to pay for the entire stay upfront. (Only time I came across this in Myanmar). I received no information about breakfast or anything else. I had booked a superior room and was allocated a room on the 1st floor. The stale smell was overpowering. The room was covered in layers of dirt, was dusty and badly maintained, and had lots of squashed mosquitoes all over the walls. Towels seemed very old and also smelt dreadful. WiFi was bad. Breakfast had no Asian vegetarian options except on one occasion fried rice, and on another cold French fries. So I was stuck with toast, a croissant, or a banana every day. The location of this hotel I found to be awful. It’s just off a main road with about 6 lanes of traffic, which makes crossing it very difficult as the traffic is 24/7. Did not see any other tourists on the streets, and the area is generally very run down. It is outside the city centre and takes a long time to get there with the heavy traffic. One evening it took me an hour in a taxi. I walked around the local area anyway, in several directions, to find the ‘many restaurants’ that were supposedly nearby. There were some very rustic looking places to eat, but none looked like the type of place you could eat at without risking possible stomach issues. So, having had food poisoning in Bagan, I ate in the hotel to be safe. Food was overpriced, and just ok bordering on bad. They then add 15% taxes which you aren’t charged in the vast majority of restaurants. Also, once you have paid this stupid price, the lady may say to you ‘no change, ok?’ when they have no change available! I left some laundry for housekeeping: 7 t-shirts, 1 vest and 1 shirt. It was returned to me smelling of that awful stale smell the rooms had - basically in worse condition than it was in the first place, and had most decidedly not been cleaned to an acceptable standard. The hotel laundry prices are of course, ridiculous. I sent the laundry back, and it was again returned the next day still not clean, so I had to wash most items by hand in the sink. On check out, housekeeping had filled in that I had left in 7 blouses, which resulted in the price being increased by 6,500 kyats. Luckily I had taken a photo of the docket I filled in, and showed the staff. I pointed out that there was only 1 shirt, and all of the others were (size small) cotton t-shirts, and they had short capped sleeves. Apparently ‘it is not depending on the sleeves’. Right. So I asked what qualifies as a t-shirt but they were unable to tell me. Housekeeping was called out to reception and a 15 minute long discussion ensued between the three staff, with the housekeeper arguing that my t-shirts were blouses. I told him that I know my own clothes and that I would be paying the price as per my docket, which was 14,500. They finally revised the bill to 15,000. The whole thing was just handled so unprofessionally. I was starting to really lose patience at this point as I was 15 mins late for my airport transfer. I told them I would pay the 15,000 kyats in the same currency, but they converted it to dollars. I checked the exchange rate, and of course they had inflated it, and would only permit me to pay their high rate in dollars. This situation was again handled very badly.
The only plus points for this hotel were: my bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet, I slept well. (Possibly due to travellers more sensible than myself staying elsewhere.) Also, the porter at the hotel was very pleasant and helpful. He would come up with mosquito spray for the room and help with booking taxis or with any other general queries. Taxis were readily available. If you’re still reading this, in my opinion, this hotel is to be avoided at all costs. I wish I had paid a little more to stay in the city centre. If you choose to stay at Hotel Yankin they’ll find ways to extract the additional money from you in other ways anyway, so you may as well pay more and have a nice central hotel with pleasant staff.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank louiseb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelYankin, Director at Hotel Yankin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Madam Beaumont,

Mingalarbar. Warm greetings from Hotel Yankin.

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Yankin as your choice of accommodation in Yangon. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you have faced during your stay at our Hotel. We appreciate that you have given your time to write a detailed review towards us. And we are sorry for the late response as we were investigating the root causes of some issues in details.

The main probable cause of the unsatisfactory service that you experienced might be because there were some newly appointed employees in most of the departments, who were still undergoing on-job-training at that time.
We always change the used towels in daily basis as you had seen, and send to a professional laundry cleaning service. It could be the scent of the laundry detergent (or) the fabric softener, which a few other guests also do not like. Moreover, the old towels and linens are routinely replaced with the new ones.
We are sad to know that you did not like our food. Statistically, over 65% of the Hotel's guests are from the different countries all over the Asia so that most of the main dishes in our buffet breakfast have to suit majority tastes. The breads station, egg station, fruits corner and cereals are available everyday.
The Hotel is not located in the downtown tourist area but located in the center of Yangon that business travellers prefer. Most of the tourist attraction places in the city area can be reached within 30 minutes in normal traffic.
As it is obvious that all costs in Yangon are significantly higher than other towns in Myanmar, the prices are also expected to be higher in Yangon hotels.
Regarding with the laundry issue, it was a sincere mistake done by a new housekeeping staff, who naively thought all ladies' tops are called "blouses" in English, due to his weakness in English language. All credit card point-of-sales devices issued by most Myanmar banks only accept in USD currency if paying by any foreign bank credit card. Since you paid by a foreign bank VISA card, the MMK currency amount has to be converted into USD using the set Hotel's currency exchange rate.

Last but not least, we are glad to know that you had comfortable and quite sleep throughout your stay at Hotel Yankin. And we will convey your good compliment to our bell service (porter) team. We are well noted your comments and will try to improve our service. We look forward to serve you again if we still have another chance. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

I stayed here two years ago, and I was really happy to return - the hotel is now even better - and the duty manager remembered me from my previous visit (which made me feel especially welcome).

The en-suite double room I’m staying in (6th floor, room no.604) is spacious, clean and well-equipped; the bed is a perfect “not too hard not too soft”, and the sheets and bedclothes are lovely and soft; the bathroom has everything you need and nothing you don’t; and the aircon (very important!) and lighting (from fully bright to just bedside lamps) are absolutely fine too.

Good breakfast - and extremely good coffee - in the light and airy ground floor restaurant, and very friendly and efficient service from all the staff, from front desk to waiters to housekeeping... but this is Burma after all, and their friendly, smiling and courteous service is better than anywhere else I’ve travelled to!!

Oh, did I mention that all this is for the amazing tariff of $45 per night? Unbelievable value for money...!!!!

Recommended 100% 👍👍👍

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Jamesargles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelYankin, Director at Hotel Yankin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Mingalarbar. Warm greetings from Hotel Yankin. We are very grateful for returning back to Hotel Yankin after 2 years. Thank you for the 5-stars review towards the Hotel and our services. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our hospitality services and had a good stay with us. We look forward to see you and serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

love it great location convenient clean frendlines Give 10 overall will come and stay again very very friendly attitude
Need swimming pool Maybe teach more english in front counter and housekeeping and others
but overall no complains

Room tip: all great no complains
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank sulluk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelYankin, Director at Hotel Yankin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Mr. Sullu,

Mingalarbar. We are very grateful to receive a 5-stars review from you. Your feedbacks are well appreciated and we will try to upgrade the skills of our team. Thank you for booking at Hotel Yankin and we hope to see you and your brothers again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Overall decent option for its price range. Nothing remarkable, but comfortable rooms, good range of breakfast options, hospitable staff. Well known to taxi drivers. Internet sometimes spotty. For quieter rooms select on a high floor not facing the main road.

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank julezplatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelYankin, Director at Hotel Yankin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear julezplatinum,

Warm greetings from Hotel Yankin.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your choice of accommodation while you were in Yangon. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast options and most importantly the services from our team. We are always trying give our overall services at its best although the room prices are reasonably low.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Yangon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

i stayed one night and found it to be very good. very good staff, very clean and room size is also good. i would love stay again. Also it is located close to Myanamr Plaza. Hotel staff also packed our breakfast as we had to leave early.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sudhir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelYankin, Director at Hotel Yankin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear joy22_07,

Mingalarbar.
First and foremost thank you very much for choosing Hotel Yankin and taking time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you satisfied the services from our team and overall of the hotel. It is always our pleasure to serve our valued guests like you.
Looking forward to provide our hospitality services again in near or far future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews