We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Okay Place to Stay in Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Myint Myat Guest House
Ranked #19 of 173 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The guest house is pretty basic and in an okay, not great, area of the city. It is within walking distance of the city center, but you'll need to get a taxi for some of the "highlights". We found food in the area challenging with a lack of good restaurants close by. Our best meal was actually only two doors away at an outside cafe with a Tiger Beer sign. The staff at the guesthouse were very helpful and very friendly and it felt safe as they have an elevator to the floor of the guesthouse with a guard always on duty. Breakfast was adequate, not great and I expected a little more for the price. Several of their rooms do not have windows. The best part is the open reception area with a view of the city. Since my room was windowless, I spent a great deal of time on this balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a window room if this is important to you. Don't know how expensive places on the lake...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Myint Myat Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Let’s be up front and say that a room here would NOT be worth $50 a night if this was not Yangon and anywhere else in SE Asia. But this is Yangon and your options for some place both clean and “budget friendly” are limited. I think only one plug in my room actually worked and the door was hard to close and lock properly due to the uneven floor, but it was CLEAN and there was no mold in the bathroom which, from reading other reviews of Yangon hotels, seems to be a big problem. This place also had the fastest Internet (when it worked and it was faster late at night and midday than in the evening when I assume everyone in YGN is on it) that I experienced in Yangon as I was able to upload most of my pictures.

The staff and everyone was extremely friendly and one staff member also got me a bus ticket ($8) to go see the Golden Rock (I don’t know if I would advise trying to do a trip there as a day trip as it was a VERY LONG DAY spent mostly in buses and the back of trucks). Their English was just fine for native English speakers to communicate with them (so anyone complaining about their English probably can’t speak English very well themselves).

Breakfast is toast, fruit, a fried egg and coffee (but no tea – so bring some teabags if you prefer tea). The location is sort of so-so for food as there was one restaurant down the street going towards the train station which looked like it catered to the local middle class (as in being clean and safe…) but their menu was the usual pan-Asian food (that you can get anywhere else in Asia) rather than Burmese food. I was not going to risk eating at the “local” places that spill out onto the street all by the guest houses; but if you have a strong stomach, that might be ok for you. There is also a City Express convenience store around the corner a few blocks away.

As others have noted, there is a temple/pagoda behind the place and yea, I guess it’s noisy if they are having a festival or are chanting. There is a train line as well between that temple and the building the guest house is in and the trains will use their horn as they approach the main road.

Otherwise, a cab ride from the airport should be $8 and $2 or $3 to the train station (you can walk to that area if you don’t have all your luggage with you) and Shwedagon Pagoda. Cab drivers also seem to know where this place is as its on top of an 8 or 9 story high-rise (there is a sign at the top) and you get to it by an elevator where there is a security guard who has an access card to send you to the correct floor.

Room Tip: You may not want a room in the back facing the pagoda if there is an all night festival with chantin...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

First of all, there are rooms without windows. If this is a problem for you, as it was for me, ask for a window. Also, the rooms in the back have a great view of a pagoda, but beware-- the monks chant all night long!
I did enjoy it here, though. The staff is very friendly and attentive. They are all trying very hard to learn English. In fact, there are English classes held here at night. Breakfast could be greatly improved.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Vayabien29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Needed a hotel for first night in Myanmar to rest up after flight from North America. Taxi driver from airport had trouble finding hotel due to small sign. Over priced by SE Asian standards as are most hotels in Myanmar. Relatively noisy because over looking a pagoda and monks chanted the entire night[Friday] we were there. There were also dogs barking and trains passing. Good location only being a short walk to the centre of the city. Basic breakfast. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms apparently do not have windows but the ones that do can be noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phildaupho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SabinaSagitova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ぼんやりしまちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lolototo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.6 mi away
Green Leaf Hotel
Green Leaf Hotel
#120 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 51
Hotel 51
#49 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
MK Hotel
MK Hotel
#10 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#37 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Holiday Hotel
#87 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wardan
Hotel Wardan
#57 of 173 in Yangon (Rangoon)
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myint Myat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myint Myat Guest House

Address: No 30 40 Boykoke Street, Pazantaung Townships, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £16 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Myint Myat Guest House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Myint Myat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myint Myat Guest House Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing