We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good enough - though could be so much better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guest Care Hotel

Guest Care Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest Care Hotel
Ranked #128 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Granada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good enough - though could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here for about 4 weeks in all, on a work trip. The staff were lovely and always ready to help, which is its best feature along with the location, in the heart of an area with lots of dining options and near Shwedagon Pagoda - of which you will get good views from the upper rooms. Carpets are grimy and worn, but otherwise the room was always kept clean. Everything is rather worn around the edges, but beds were good and I was perfectly comfortable. Breakfast at Coffee Circles is monotonous - and they forgot to mention that there is more than one boring option if you are a "long stay guest". Be sure to enquire about this, since you can get mohinga and other set breakfasts. Staff there are also very sweet. Oh yeah, the Internet (sourced from Coffee Circles) was extremely unreliable, they need to upgrade their equipment.

Room Tip: The rooms vary, so check out a few if you can before choosing - the balcony adds value, as do the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    12
    17
    6
See reviews for
2
9
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My boyfriend and I made the mistake of not booking any hotels/guest houses until we actually got to Myanmar.. With Internet access being hard to come by we resorted to our lonely planet book as reference for all of our stay throughout Myanmar. We chose Guest Care Hotel because Lonely Planet quoted the price as $20-22/room (we wanted a cheaper place to stay because we ended up spending quite a bit more through out our trip than we had expected). When we got to the hotel after a long day of travel we ended up paying $65 (the first price they quoted us was $70, after he called his boss he said he could bring his price down to $65, but no lower) for the most basic room that they had. The room was ok, not awful but definitely nothing fancy. For the price we paid we did not feel the room was worth it. If possible, book before you arrive Myanmar.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

My stay was paid by work. It's ok, decent enough, but would not stay here if it was my own money, there are better alternatives. Having stayed for 4 weeks and having spells of only eating the hotel food (from Coffee Circles), myself and my partner were sick 4 times. When we stopped eating there, problems ended.

Room Tip: First floor had been re-decorated, but still looks old
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadSuzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

After having checked twice that my taxi on arrival was booked, there was a no show as I arrived in Yangon at midnight. No worries as I got a cheaper taxi but was but disappointed. However I received a warm welcome and enjoyed two comfortable nights here. Breakfast is included in the nearby coffee house, which adds to the stay , although this will not be the best breakfast you will ever have!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed there in March and April at the beginning and the end of my trip across Myanmar. Room could need a make up but was clean and spacy.
Breakfast is served at Cafe Circles which is next to the hotel, a very nice restaurant where they serve good food. I asked for Mohinga, the typical Burmese fish soup, they organized it for me and I liked it very much.
Good Wifi !
From the hotel it´s only a 10 minutes walk to the amazing Shwedagon Pagoda. Some good dining opportunities close to the hotel.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Would come back if again in Yangon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

I spent a few nights here on business and yes, it could have been cleaner. On the positive side, the price was good and I had a small balcony with an excellent view of the Pagoda. It's great to have Coffee Circles so close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights during recent stop in Yangon. Rooms are adequate. Good AC, hot water & laundry service. Bathroom was a bit grubby. Proximity to Circles Coffee shop a big plus. Wifi available most of the time, speed not the best. Hotel breakfast was disappointing, better to purchase separately. Would stay again as managers are working to address shortcomings...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel H Valley Yangon
Hotel H Valley Yangon
#52 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#23 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#119 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yuzana Hotel
Yuzana Hotel
#125 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winner Inn
Winner Inn
#6 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Care Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Care Hotel

Property: Guest Care Hotel
Address: 107(A) Dhamma Zedi Road | Kamayut Township, Bahan P.O., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JovagoAsia and Odigeo so you can book your Guest Care Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Care Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing