We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel, and here's why...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel City
Ranked #39 of 116 Hotels in Tbilisi
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
256 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Love this hotel, and here's why...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Wow, what a pleasant surprise! Down a slightly dodgy alley in the old town is this little gem of an accommodation. I arrived at 10:00 am and within ten minutes my room was ready, even though check-in is officially 2:00. The front desk staff is friendly, helpful, and very customer-service oriented. My room, #16 on the 4th floor, was one of the best I've had in Georgia - big comfy bed, lovely bathroom with fabulous shower, very clean, very quiet, very secure. The location is incredibly convenient, just a couple short blocks south of Freedom Square. My view wasn't much, but I'm told #14 has a great one. Breakfast is adequate with one delightful touch - brewed coffee!!! Nescafe is available if you insist. The price was just over 100 USD per night - 522 GEL for a three-night stay -- so not a budget choice, but as others have said, a solid mid-range option that will leave you rested and refreshed for your adventures in this most fascinating city. I was a very happy camper.

Room Tip: My top floor back was extremely quiet, and in Tbilisi, that is a very good thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pen_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    59
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
48
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savion
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

When arriving the hotel, the neighborhood appearance might scare you- located in a narrow, worn street, the first impression is not promising, and the lobby's look is not fancy as well, however, the rooms are big, comfortable and clean, the team is friendly and will always assist you with a big smile and the location is fantastic- just few minutes of walking from all the main attractions of Tbilisi's old city.
Re-decorating the lobby can add for the comfort, and the free wireless internet communication can be improved. Breakfast is nice.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: if possible, try to see and select a room. the rooms in the 3rd floor looked better than those in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimrod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

On our second visit to Georgia we had several side trips, so we left Tbilisi and returned several times, and stayed in 4 different rooms in this Hotel. The hotel has great location in the old city very close to Liselidze street and the Freedom Square.
The best room is 14 (semi-lux) on the top floor which has fantastic views of the city, including Mtatsminda, and Narikala fortress which are beatifully lighted at night. Other rooms with the view of the catholic church just across the street are also good, but in these rooms you can hear noise of the city at night and in the morning (street vendor calling "Matzoni, Malako" early in the morning). Other rooms which don't face the street are much quieter. The rooms are a little expensive, but they have excellent breakfast and free Wifi. Very nice and friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregoryPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our initial research into the hotel options in Tbilisi showed lots of hostels, a few very high end (and crazy expensive) hotels, and a handful of small mid-range options. This is one of the mid-range options and is located on a relatively quiet side street at the edges or old town, within walking distance to most of the sights.

Reception staff were initially a bit shy, but always friendly and helpful when asked. They were able to organize airport transfers, taxis, and a great guide for Davit Gareji.

Our air conditioned room was small, but not overly so, and comfortably furnished. Sadly, the rooftop terrace is currently under construction, but looks like it will be quite nice once finished.

Breakfast was included in the room rate, but we only took advantage of it a few times because there were so many more tempting options in the area, including street bakeries and outdoor cafes. On the days we stayed in for breakfast we found it to be fully acceptable, nothing to write home about but also nothing to complain about.

My only minor suggestion would be that they could provide better maps for their guests. They have one in the lobby, but that doesn't help me when I'm lost in the city and we ended up buying one at the English bookstore.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

My room reeked of smoke when I checked in and took a day to clear. I had to ask for air freshener to deal with it myself since they claimed no other rooms are available.

When I asked about airport transportation, the receptionist tried to push their airport transfer which is GEL20 more expensive than a taxi

My sheets were not changed for the 4 nights I was there.And when I got back to my room at 3pm one day, the room was still not cleaned

When I checked out at 430am to go to the airport, the credit card machine took 15 minutes to work.

Breakfast is nothing great.

Despite the above, it is a pleasant, well located and clean hotel. Hotels in Tbilisi is expensive, and this one is of relatively good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tramp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

You can not expect huge luxury in this city but if you want a clean hotel, with quiet personal near the business area and in the heart of the city take this hotel.

Staff is very friendly and the old city is around you.

There is an small cute church just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MStravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Spent 3nights here in August. Location is great. Can walk to all the interesting attractions in the old town which I think is best part of Tbilisi. Staff are young but very helpful. Room was smallish but as you tend to not spend too much time in them during the day is fine. Wifi was fast at least in room 10. Buffet breakfast was adequate considering the price and class of hotel. Would stay again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Boutique Villa Mtiebi
Boutique Villa Mtiebi
#21 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citadines City Centre Tbilisi
0.1 mi away
Kalasi Hotel
Kalasi Hotel
#43 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No12 Boutique Hotel
No12 Boutique Hotel
#9 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sharden
Hotel Sharden
#45 of 116 in Tbilisi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boombully
Hotel Boombully
#10 of 116 in Tbilisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Property: Hotel City
Address: Gia Abesadze str., 7, Tbilisi 0105, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 116 Hotels in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel City is a brand new, boutique style hotel situated in the heart of Tbilisi. Within a three minute walk of Hotel City, our guests can explore the atmospheric streets and churches of the Old Town, soak up the culture and cosmopolitan feel of Rustaveli Avenue and Freedom Square, with its museums, shops, opera and theaters, or simply relax at one of the many bars, restaurants and cafes of Shardeni Street. Whether on leisure or business, Hotel City offers the best of Tbilisi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing