We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fill a lobby with a sigarette smoke”
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel City
Ranked #36 of 137 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nice location in the old city center with a view to the catholic chirch. But lobby was filled with a sigarette smoke and small of sewer in the bathroom. Breakfast is in the basement. I had a room with a king size bed but only single size blanket. But staff is very friendly. I think that price for this hotel is overstated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

boring cold breakfast, smelly toilet and irresponsible staff, at night we asked the reception to arrange a cab to be there at 4:00 am as we had to go to airport, when at 4:00am we went there, no cab!The reception lady haven't called a taxi cause she thought she should charge us for the minibar (4GL!!!) first and then call the taxi, 4 am is not a great time to see if a taxi can come or not lady! luckily we found another cab but we were about to miss the flight. The rest are just like a very normal hotel, but Good Location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imanooshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good hotel, good service, bit expensive, good location.

In the first day of year 2014, went down to restaurant to have breakfast at 11:00 AM. No way, service closed at 10:30. I said it was new year last night and breakfast should extended to 12:00 at least as everybody slept late. Receptionist replied me: "we have rukes" :)

Bathroom was nice so the hot water, especially in cold Tbilisi night...

Room Tip: all rooms good. Some larger (like room #9)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very helpful staff. We enjoyed the breakfast. Our room was a bit wedge-shaped and so narrow that only one person could squeeze between the bed and the desk. Otherwise we liked staying here. Comfortable bed. Bathroom on the small side but not objectionable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aubri9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed 4 nights in the Hotel City whilst exploring Tbilisi and the surrounding area.

My flight got in very early in the morning but the hotel were happy to store my luggage until later in the afternoon when I could check in. Check in was quick and easy and there is a doorman on hand to help you with your luggage if required.

The room was quite big although the bathroom was a little on the small size. A good sized double bed with comfortable pillows and and quilt allowed me to have some very comfortable nights sleep during my stay. The rooms are equipped with flat screen TV and minibar but lacked tea/coffee making facilities and room safe which are pretty much standard in most hotels these days. My room was bright although this was down to the lighting rather than the small windows which had no view to speak of. That said, this didn't bother me as I spent very little time in the room with the delights of Tbilisi calling me. The only slight gripe I had about the hotel was the standard of soundproofing with the rooms. A screaming baby kept me awake (and woke me early) on night and corridor conversations easily drifted into the room.

The staff were friendly and helpful and mainly spoke pretty good English which made communication easy.

One previous occupant moaned about Hotel City being a smokers hotel - I don't know where they got this from. I didn't see anyone smoking in the hotel during my stay and didn't smell the unmistakable stench of cigarette smoke either so I certainly would let this put anyone off.

The breakfast was fine (despite others moans). Whilst reasonably basic it had both cooked and continental options and the food was tasty and well presented; the porridge was especially nice!

I would happily return to Hotel City should I be visiting Tbilisi again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this small hotel. It is 50 mt. to Freedom Square. Great location to Old City, Rustaveli and all touristic places. The rooms do not have any view, the service and the breakfast could be better. The terrace is very good. If you find good price you can stay but above 100$ is not feasible.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topragin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Last year I've spotted only two minor issues with this otherwise extremely nice hotel - one of them is hard to undo, the rooms, while very nice and cozy, are on a smaller side, unfortunately, and especially small are the bathrooms. The second was that the advertised rooftop terrace was not functioning, and hurray, this one is solved, nice terrace with great views on the beautiful old Tbilisi and further on, is there, all yours. To me, this is enough to make it an excellent place from a very good one, as I have graded it last year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pataphysicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Orion Tbilisi
Hotel Orion Tbilisi
#33 of 137 in Tbilisi
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rustaveli Hotel
Rustaveli Hotel
#34 of 137 in Tbilisi
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aivani Old Tbilisi
Aivani Old Tbilisi
#46 of 137 in Tbilisi
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel King David
Hotel King David
#28 of 137 in Tbilisi
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Orion Old Town
Hotel Orion Old Town
#38 of 137 in Tbilisi
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tiflis Palace Hotel
Tiflis Palace Hotel
#13 of 137 in Tbilisi
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Address: Gia Abesadze str., 7, Tbilisi 0105, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 137 Hotels in Tbilisi
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel City is a brand new, boutique style hotel situated in the heart of Tbilisi. Within a three minute walk of Hotel City, our guests can explore the atmospheric streets and churches of the Old Town, soak up the culture and cosmopolitan feel of Rustaveli Avenue and Freedom Square, with its museums, shops, opera and theaters, or simply relax at one of the many bars, restaurants and cafes of Shardeni Street. Whether on leisure or business, Hotel City offers the best of Tbilisi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing