We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Don't choose this hotel, especially during NY holidays"”
Review of Hotel Old Metekhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Old Metekhi
Ranked #75 of 444 Tbilisi B&B and Inns
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Don't choose this hotel, especially during NY holidays"”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room weren't cleaned well, the breakfast was awful. Only city view is worth this cost. The waitress was very rude when I told her that meal is awful.
Don't choose this hotel, especially during NY holidays

Room Tip: only view is worse this cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khanim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
18
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed at the Old Metekhi for three nights in March 2013. Overall this is a great hotel with no major drawbacks. The location is fantastic; the hotel is located on a river bank and it offers a great view to Narikala Fortress and overlooks the old town. It only takes about five minutes to reach the old town by foot. The only problem that one might have is that the hotel is located on a steep hill, so if you have any problems with movement you might want to consider a different place. For us, however, this was not a problem.

The room where we stayed was spotless clean and had a good steady temperature. The only drawback was the water pressure in the shower but I guess this is a pretty common problem in Georgia.

Hotel staff was very friendly and spoke really good English. They were also very helpful whether it was about the sights, booking a cab or pretty much about everything. Breakfast wasn't anything special but good enough. It would have been nice if they would have served real coffee instead of instant coffee, but I guess that this also is pretty much a Georgian way (not in one place that we stayed had they real coffee). I would definitely stay at this place again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Same W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This must be the iconic tourist hotel in Tbilisi, an instantly recogniseable traditional Georgian facade perched dramatically on a cliff. It looks out over the old town, which is just ten minutes walk away on the other side of the river. The rooms are simple but reasonably large, and most of them have a sunny balcony with dramatic views of Tbilisi's valley and mountains. The public areas of the hotel have a solid, dark, comfortable style. The management is friendly, efficient and generally fluent in English. The neighbourhood is poor but picturesque and perfectly safe. It's mainly residiential with old houses packed along steep, winding cobbled streets. Easy access to the old town and hot spring baths will be the main attraction for many visitors, but Tbilisi's spectacular basilica is almost as nearby in the opposite direction. The hotel reception staff will tell you which way to walk. Visit the tiny stone walled coffee shop just uphill from the hotel on the opposite side of the street. Owner operator Maia serves excellent coffee and wine.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This review concerns only the restaurant.
Visiting twice during a week´s stay in Tbilisi, we had two good experiences here.
Reasonably priced, good service, the quality of the food was good and came in large servings.
If possible, get a table by the windows with a great view to the fortress and overlooking the river.
English is spoken, and you can settle your bill by creditcard if you wish.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebaekOfCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We've spent there 3 nights.
Room was clean, I have experienced some difficulties connecting free Wi-Fi, but after all I have found a corner with reliable coverage. Price was fair ($50 for single room)
What I liked: Location; It takes 3 min to walk to get to Metekhi bridge, 5 min. to Leselidze street, 15 minutes to Tavisuplebis (Independence) square and Rustaveli street. Staff was helpful (some of them speak good English, this might be especially important to those who don't speak Georgian or Russian), you shouldn't miss a great view to Narikala from a restaurant balcony
What I disliked: Water pressure is low (seems like a general issue in Tbilisi), Breakfast is poor and very far from what you normally get in Georgia, they refused to take credit cards, so cash was the only option.
Overall my experience was positive

Room Tip: If Internet connectivity is important to you, make sure you have coverage in your room before unpack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al-Grin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Nice, cozy, clean hotel.

Great view to Narikala (old fortress) and the Old City from the river looking rooms ant the restaurant. Friendly staff. Good pedestrian reach to the Old city.

Slightly overpriced – as almost every hotel in Tbilisi.

Noisy transformer across the street – could be a problem for those living in the street looking rooms.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank viktord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

So agree with the other review that the hotel is "basic." Definitely not a fancy place. But I have to give the staff top marks for their helpfulness. As non-Georgian speakers we really benefited both from their excellent English and their willingness to not only make calls on our behalf while we were there, but even after we left (they gave us their card and said to call if we needed them to act as translators!). Really impressed not just with their willingness to help but to take a considerable amount of time doing so. Other things to note, the hotel is perched on the river with great views of old town Tbilisi and the castle. The rooms are clean and neat and the bathrooms are standard East European (so-so shower, but clean). There is also a good restaurant. Definitely recommend it especially if you are OK with a basic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.5 mi away
Mirobelle Hotel
Mirobelle Hotel
#16 of 126 in Tbilisi
163 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Margi
Hotel Margi
#68 of 126 in Tbilisi
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kopala
Hotel Kopala
#35 of 126 in Tbilisi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Betsy's Hotel
Betsy's Hotel
#14 of 126 in Tbilisi
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armazi Palace
Hotel Armazi Palace
#49 of 126 in Tbilisi
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharden Villa
Sharden Villa
#10 of 444 in Tbilisi
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Metekhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Metekhi

Property: Hotel Old Metekhi
Address: Metekhi St 3, Tbilisi 380103, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Old Metekhi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Old Metekhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing