We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe choice for a quality stay in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Kyiv
Level Contributor
320 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,023 helpful votes
“Safe choice for a quality stay in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Georgia trip was the last minute idea, and with no time for the research, I went for a safe known choice of Marriott.

BOOKING

Fast and easy; booked an Executive room with the city view and an access to the Executive lounge for one week through the hotel’s web-site. No problem or surprises upon arrival – all our requests were met.

PARKING AND TRANSFER

Booking confirmation mentioned a complimentary parking on-site and 0.2USD hourly fee off-site. But we opted for a flight and a car hire on spot for this trip.

The “executive package” was said to include one free transfer, but we didn’t use it. Upon arrival, we took a taxi in the airport for 35 lari (USD 21), and on departure our driver hired for the week gave us a lift.

LOCATION

Absolutely perfect for exploring the city sights and eating/going out.

Tbilisi Marriot sits in the middle of Rustaveli Ave, equally distanced from the Freedom and the Republic Squares. Kashveti Church of St. George, The Georgian National Museum, The Fine Arts Museum and Paliashvili Opera House are next or pretty close to the hotel; while the Parliament and the First Public School – right opposite it. It’s also in a short walking distance to Leselidze Str, bringing you down to Sioni Church and the Old City.

Check out my profile for the reviews of few places to eat near the hotel: Maidani Georgian restaurant, Khinklis Sakhli khinkali house, Entrée French bakery, Fena-Fena café and Near the Opera pub are just a few to mention. There’s also a wine store one block away from Marriott, next to the Opera house.

ROOM

We were offered the room on the third floor, convenient for visiting the executive lounge and the hotel’s fitness centre and sauna (there’s no pool here).

Booking details mentioned “larger guest room”, but the room wasn’t really large. The very high ceiling, however, did make it airy and spacious. With no lights on the ceiling, it looked a bit dim, but cosy.

Small balcony faced noisy Rustaveli Ave. But the room had a decent sound-proof, and the hotel inside was quiet. So we did enjoy a good rest after the daily road trips, but only with the balcony doors shut.

The king-size bed was perfectly huge, with many pillows of different kind. The mattress, too soft for an ideal sleep, could have been changed, if needed.

There was a mini-bar, and three (?) wine glasses and a champagne bucket, very handy for the New Year night. An ice-making machine was conveniently located outside the room, in the corridor niche.

My compliments to the designer of the bathroom – it was very well thought: enough space by the sink; good lighting for the make-up. A complimentary bottle of water in the bathroom was replaced daily. A hair dryer, bathrobe and slippers were available as well as ample towels.

The executive room comes with a few extras included into the rate: free wifi in the room (otherwise Internet in the hotel is for a fee); also an access to the Executive lounge with free Internet and printer. Apart from that, there’s a paid business centre on the ground floor. Daily delivery of newspapers was available, too.

To be picky about the room, I’d only mention the non-functioning climate control. It wasn’t that needed in winter, but with the balcony doors closed the room got too warm for my liking.

EXECUTIVE LOUNGE

In principle, it was okay, though not the best one I’ve ever had in a hotel. We had snacks served in the room, so their lack in the lounge was none of a problem. But the supply of tea and some soft drinks could have been replenished more often.

SERVICE

The housekeeping was more relaxed than it could be. The toiletries were not replaced regularly. We have only been brought second bathrobe and slippers by request. And the snacks were served for two guests only once; otherwise they were for one.

The housekeeping and evening turndown services were daily. Bed linen changed upon request, otherwise every third day.

RESTAURANT

We only went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast; and the experience was invariably wonderful.

There was a reasonably diversified buffet with a small selection of Georgian specialties on a separate stand, which we loved the most (make sure to try Georgian cheese!). They also make delicious espresso.

Service was excellent and very attentive. The restaurant has a glass wall facing the park around Kashveti church; such a lovely start of the day!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cora_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    174
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
42
68
30
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
588 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a typical Marriott hotel, at a beautiful restored baroque palace, very well located right in the city centre.
My bedroom was large, cozy and very clean, though some redecoration would be appreciated to warm it a little.
The service was mostly good. Front-desk staff was not particularly helpful and I felt that the majority of the staff was not at ease and seemed, somehow, afraid of the guests...
We used a meeting room for the whole day and it was very functional with reliable wireless internet connection. For the coffee breaks there were tasty pastries and other wealthier options.
Breakfast buffet and lunch were excellent, with variety of traditional Georgian cuisine and also international dishes. The culinary offer is definitely an advantage of this hotel!
Overall a great experience, definitely my place to stay in Tbilisi.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The hotel is very comfortable and well run. My room was on the small side, but nicely decorated, with a warm feeling to it, and very clean, The hotel has pleasant public areas. There is a business center, but, as I recall, there were fees associated with using it, including use of the computers.

Food at the hotel was quite good. Breakfast and lunch buffets were delicious.

Staff at the front desk, in housekeeping, and at the restaurant and bar all were very pleasant.

The hotel location also is quite good. Walking distance or short cab ride to areas of interest in Tbilisi.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTravelFan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
508 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

The Tbilisi Marriott is essentially a restored palace. The public areas are gorgeous. The rooms are quite comfortable and of a decent size. The beds are so comfortable it's hard to leave! The breakfast buffet is ample and delicious. The location of the hotel is quite central.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
445 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I spend only two nights at the Marriott Tbilisi and could have stayed longer, much longer.

The check in process was suburb and professional all made easier by the great service provided by: Miss Lele. My room # 501 was mammoth and not even a suite!! At first I was a bit disappointed in not having a street facing room, but when I went up to this room I was glad I was not facing the busy street. Nick, the bell boy told me on the way to this room that I would not be disappointed.

The service in the hotel was impeccable and extremely professional. They even have a 24 hour bank just off the lobby.

The highlight of this trip was the use of the Executive Lounge since I am a Platinum Member of Marriott. The food service was actually dinner and the Georgian Beer and Wines were all complementary. The highlight was meeting the chef Pedro, who made me an entree that was simply "out-of-this-world". He is a very talented young man!!

The Hotels Concierge Service was tops giving me advise on all sights within the Old City.

I was also able to self-park my rent-a-car behind the hotel which looked to have a 24 hour security service. There was no change for this service.

Internet both wireless and wired was very fast in my room.

Finally, I had a great lunch at the hotels Parnas Cafe. Get a window along the street view and simply enjoy your meal!! Great selection of local Beers and Wines and the decor was very nice and informative!!

I guarantee you will really enjoy your stay in Tbilisi if you stay at the Marriott Tbilisi.
I did stop by the Courtyard by Marriott and even thought it is directly on the main square I felt it looked like a Marriott Courtyard. Not the same as our 5 star Marriott just down the street.

Room Tip: The rooms on the inner courtyard are conducing for a solid nights sleep and simply ask for room numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasfromDamascus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our travel agency booked a suite for us and our two children as we had specified two rooms. Suite turns out to be just a bigger room, so we had to switch to two adjoining rooms (obviously a different price). The price of room service, laundry service and restaurant were astronomical, although we appreciated the high chair. The swimming pool and gym though small were nice. The service was mostly good, always friendly and the cleaning personnel excellent. Security - there are lots of notices about not letting people in your room etc - was clearly a concern. I could see why: I got mugged right in front of the hotel as I was ferrying my younger child to our bus the first morning - and a bag my mother left close to our room with children's books was stolen. Breakfast buffet was excellent!

Room Tip: my mother and husband got to look at a roof. try to specify view of square or room without obstructe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonfamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Super-convenient location on Rustaveli, a short walk from several museums (art museum is next door), many shops & cafes/restaurants, the opera house, a cinema, the old town, parliament, the river and a park. Rustaveli is a lovely avenue, lined with elegant baroque buildings on both sides.

Hotel room was very comfortable with the usual bathrobes, lemon-grass-scented toiletries, etc. Bed was too soft but you can ask housekeeping to remove the mattress topper. Front-desk staff were not particularly helpful, but maybe they were uptight because the president of Estonia was staying there at the time and the place was crawling with surly security goons.

Apart from its location, best thing about this hotel was the lavish breakfast buffet and more attentive wait-staff, quick with refills and explaining the local specialties.

Since it's an international-chain hotel there's not much character to it and service was business-like and efficient, not friendly or warm. Inside the hotel you wouldn't know you were in Georgia. But that's the nature of Marriotts.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lantauloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.8 mi away
Hotel British House
Hotel British House
#4 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Tbilisi
Courtyard Tbilisi
#8 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#3 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel River Side
Hotel River Side
#7 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tbilisi Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tbilisi Marriott Hotel

Property: Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Address: Rustaveli Avenue 13, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tbilisi Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Tbilisi Marriott Hotel for a luxurious stay in one of the world's most unforgettable cities in Georgia. Once you enter our grand atrium-style lobby adorned with crystal chandeliers, you're greeted with renowned Georgian hospitality. Overlooking the main avenue or patio, our 127 luxury accommodations and suites feature a safe, mini-bar, individual climate control and broadband internet. Whether your trip entails business or leisure, enjoy galleries and theaters, all within walking distance in the centre of Tbilisi, Georgia. Dine in Parnas Restaurant for an elegant French Burgundy meal or have a light snack at Parnas Café & Lounge. Visit our Fitness Gym for your workout and relax in the sauna. You won't forget the historic charm, incredible city centre location of Tbilisi, Georgia, luxury service that await you at the Tbilisi Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tbilisi Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing