We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living Next Door to "Why Not"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel
Ranked #11 of 415 Speciality Lodging in Tbilisi
Batumi, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Living Next Door to "Why Not"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My home is in Tbilisi and is actually at #15 Tabukashvili Street. #15 has many apartments etc. Since the concept of "Why Not" I have had the pleasure to meet so many travellers that stay in "Why Not" which I pass several times a day. Many people from all walks of life stay at the "Why Not" and I have had so many interesting conversations. Although my apartment is directly next to "Why Not" never once have I heard and loud noises and I wish the owners all the best for 2014 and beyond.

C_B in Tbilisi

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caicos_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    15
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
20
71
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Batumi, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I've stayed here a few times during November & December '13. The staff are a very knowledgeable, international group and can point you in the right direction regardless of what you need. I learned so much from the fascinating travelers I met, like photography from an Irishman and jewelry making from an Ecuadorian. The common area's huge dining table and bean bags really lend a sense of camaraderie :) The kitchen is well-equipped and the showers always warm. My go-to hostel in Tbilisi.

P.S. - One of the two cats has an unparalleled love for anything remotely resembling paper and will entertain you for hours by fetching paper wads. Especially keep a close eye on candy wrappers :)

Room Tip: The largest room on the top floor has no heating, but the couple dozen mattresses there made an epic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peeblescd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

After spending a couple of nights in Why Not? I must say I’m puzzled where all these rave reviews come from.

When we arrived at Why Not?, it turned out that there was a double booking and we couldn’t get the room we wanted (we did get a discount though). Locating someone from the hostel staff when arriving is not an easy task – there is a general ‘reception area’ but it’s hard to tell a traveler from a staff member. Staff changes during the day and some of those people are friendly and helpful (they got us a very friendly driver for our Davit Gareja day trip), some shouldn’t work there, imho. We asked one of the girl who worked there to help us with a phone call to the arranged driver (we don’t speak Georgian, he doesn’t speak English) and she looked as if she was physically suffering a tremendous pain when doing this for us.
Also, I wouldn’t count on breakfast being served on time. For the 5-6 days we stayed there, only on Day 1, when we came down to the dining area, there was a full breakfast prepared on a table. On other days, there was only milk and cereal and the staff was only leaving to get other products. So if you’re planning an early start to explore the city or other attractions, I would arrange for breakfast somewhere else. Breakfast at the hostel is for those who have plenty of time or like to sleep in after partying at night.

We wanted to extend our stay and were offered two places in the common dormitory, i.e. you get a mattress on a floor. We were fine with that but when we entered the room, there were 25 mattresses and all seemed to be taken. After a couple of minutes, we went downstairs to clear this out. The girl from the staff said that in fact the room is for 20 mattresses and there should be two free for us. She went upstairs with us and it was obvious she had no clue which places were free. She moved some stuff around and found us two mattresses but in two different spots in the room. She said they could move it so we sleep next to each other but at that point I was so annoyed that I didn’t really care. To their advantage, when we came back that day from our excursion, our mattresses were next to each other.

Overall this was a very average experience for the hostel that claims to be legend – wait for it – ary. It’s a good place for those who like to party, sleep in, and rather than enjoying the city and explore the nearby attractions (and there are a LOT of those!), prefer to hang out and mingle with other like-minded travelers and the staff at the hostel.

Oh…and the smell when you enter the hostel…. (you’re asked to remove your shoes; so you can imagine the smell coming from ~40 pairs of shoes lines up in a small room on a hot summer day).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BasiaF_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Nice staff and he is a goold travel planer too. tidy and good location , love there so much !
Kitchen with cook set & bathroom like as my house , I feel it most like I stayed at home.
high celling , big bedroom and they treated us free breakfast on a long big table.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asaasang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Usually hostel is my home while travelling. And I travell a lot... Why Not is an excellent choise with best location in the old city centre and all main Tbilisi atractions in 5 min by foot. Rooms are clean and warm, staff helpful and never tired by answering the questions. Good breakfasts, no limits for tea and coffee, free washing machine, comfy sofas and friendly atmoshere, all you need is there! You will meet travelers to talk, cats to hug, maps and big table to share while discussing and planning next journey. And you feel like at home. For me - best offer for the best price!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here for three nights in a six-bed dormitory, booking via hostelworld. The location is good, maybe 5 minutes walk from Freedom/Liberty Square and just off Rustaveli, the main street. It's right behind the Marriott.

I was a bit nonplussed by the "no shoes" rule when I arrived; it didn't bother me as such once I got used to it, but I found it a bit odd all the same. The common room on the ground floor was nice, as was the free tea/coffee, and I enjoyed the cats, but if you don't like cats you should probably not stay here. I managed to hook up with some other guests to share a taxi out to Davit Gareja, which the hostel booked for us. I'm not the greatest mixer in the world and didn't socialise hugely with the other guests, but the atmosphere in the common room was nice and not as intimidating as I've found it in other hostels. I was pleased at the wide age range of the other guests, it wasn't all gap year students making me feel ancient. ;-)

The dormitory was fine if fairly spartan (what do you expect from a dormitory, though?); I had it to myself one night, and shared with one or two other people the other two nights. The lockers are not very big; I just managed to squash my (maximum aircraft carry-on sized) bag in with some difficulty, but I don't think a normal backpack would go in, and indeed the other people I shared with didn't seem to use the lockers. To be fair, it didn't feel as though anyone would nick my stuff if my bag hadn't been locked up; I'm just cautious.

As far as I could tell there was no sit-down toilet upstairs where the dormitories are, just a urinal - the only sit-down toilet I knew about was downstairs in the bathrooms off the entrance corridor. Not a huge deal, but a bit of a trek in the middle of the night had I needed it (and presumably worse for women, of course).

The wifi worked well, even up in the dormitory, and could handle Skype fine.

I'd certainly consider staying here again and I have to give credit for the non-intimidating common room atmosphere. I just find myself a little puzzled as to why other travellers seem to absolutely rave about the place; maybe I'm just a miserable git. ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZornsLemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Guests and staff are sooo friendly. Breakfasts are soooo delicious. Common room makes you feel like at home. You can't be bored at this hostel. It is so close to the all touristic places.It is a very good start to explore tbilisi. Love it !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hzlkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel  Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#72 of 113 in Tbilisi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.6 mi away
No12 Boutique Hotel
No12 Boutique Hotel
#11 of 113 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 113 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#7 of 113 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rustaveli Hotel
Rustaveli Hotel
#31 of 113 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nest Hostel Tbilisi
Nest Hostel Tbilisi
#1 of 415 in Tbilisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel

Property: Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel
Address: Tabukashvili 15/4, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 415 Speciality Lodging in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place run by travelers for travelers, we create a great atmosphere and in a funky and vibrant place in the very city center. We fell in love with Georgia long ago and now, we want to share the best about this country and the region with others! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Why Not? Tbilisi Legend Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing