We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Illuminating insight in to modern Georgian religion”

Tsminda Sameba Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.00*
and up
Tbilisi and Mtskheta Private Tour
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Full Day Private Tour in Mtskheta Gori Uplistsikhe and Tbilisi
More Info
US$130.00*
and up
Tbilisi and Mtskheta Tour - Historical Tour and Old Capital
Ranked #3 of 181 things to do in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Illuminating insight in to modern Georgian religion”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

There is a ardent commitment to their Orthodox faith throughout Georgia but I felt a visit to this cathedral gave as good a view as anywhere I visited into the strength and manner of how Georgians express their faith. The cathedral is modern (2004) but in a traditional style, tall (84m) and dominates much of south east Tbilisi (by day and at night). It is usually busy with Georgians of all ages visiting not as tourists but as part of their devotion to their faith. Try to go when there's a service on (e.g. Sundays), no one will mind if you stand (as everyone) and hold a candle (the old man next to me gave me his) as you listen to the evocative Georgian chants and prayers and feel the religious zeal of those around you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyT239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    274
    88
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Clean surroundings”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The complex is about a 10 minute walk from the metro station. The view is nice, and inside there are an array of nice icons. Nice to see so many locals going to pay respects.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GypsyTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Moving Experience”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My friend said a visit to Sameba was a must for any visitor to Tbilisi. I have been to literally hundreds of churches in my world travels so was expecting a pleasant visit looking at the architecture and icons. I won't go into detail but after spending 20 minutes in the magnificent church, for no apparent reason, I wept. The church has an unbelievable moving energy which I cant explain. If you are traveling to Tbilisi, you must make time to visit Tsminda Sameba Cathedral and visit it with a clear and open heart and mind. You may be wonderfully surprised what this church does for you.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank russsell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just BIG”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This place just big church and have nice lighting view at night. Tsminda is new church and I think don't have real church atmosphere. But this is new symbol of Tbilisi and recommended visit to everybody.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar-Saba
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very impressive and ridicules when taking into account the state of the country. Investing in such megalomaniac church is typical.
Worth visiting since it is there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noanirtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tsminda Sameba Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Tsminda Sameba Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing