We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and cozy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waltzing Matilda City Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
“friendly and cozy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've been to Tbilisi 2 times, and both stayed at Waltzing Matilda. It's one of my favourite places. The owner of the place, Tatiana, is a charming and hospitable lady who can tell you the story of that old house with high ceilings and wooden stairs, situated so close to the center on a quiet steeply rising street. It was her family house before the revolution and seen many faces and many events through all these years.
P.S.: check out the rooftop - it has amazing view, we used to taste local wine there
P.P.S: good local wine can be bought right on the reception ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letiaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    15
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
11
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Right in the center, near everything you need, with great view from terrace. There is huge group room, smaller rooms too for those who need privacy, great prices, several bathrooms so no need to wait for long time, free wifi and a big common place with kitchen upstairs. And the owner is so so kind you feel like home :) Certainly will stay there while next time in Tbilisi!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiktoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

There's a strong chance that you'd want to visit Tbilisi in a company. There's a place near the city center that can accommodate your gang: it is called Waltzing Matilda. Not only it has high ceilings with moulding, it has its very own history and truly very own hostess.
With her never-ceasing care the hotel is transformed into a temporary home to many. Personally I treasure W.M. for the collection of old books and a veranda with a great view where we used to enact Gogol's characters having consumed quantities of fine Georgian wine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andrevinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent 5 days in the middle of May in this hostel. The owner and hostess of the hostel was the kindest person I've met in all the hostels I've been to. She is like a mother to all her guests, offering hospitality and comfort, giving tips on travelling, eating out, using public services and saving money.

The hostel is in an old house very close to the centre of the city. There are a bunch of shops and stalls around selling food, fresh fruits and vegetables, local snacks and fresh bread. There are also a number of cafes and restaurants or all kinds where you can eat out. Optionally travellers can use the kitchen in the hostel.

The atmosphere in the hostel is bohemian - the house is old with very high ceiling, weathered plank floor, and full of old furniture, old kitchen utensils, and old books, and there is a nice terrace where you can share wine with the hostess or fellow travellers in the evening.

Soundproofing in the rooms is poor, so you are likely to wake up with other travellers, unless you are using earplugs. The mattreses in the beds in the room where we slept were not very comfortable - I could feel the springs all over my body. There were also problems with the shower - I had trouble getting the right temperature of the water; it was either too hot or too cold.

Despite the small nuissances, we had a great time in the hostel, and the hostess did her best to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaughterhouse-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stay at Waltzing Matilda every time I'm in Tbilisi. There may be newly open hostels around but I look no further, because this certainly has been the most welcoming, clean, safe, spacious and perfectly located place for me and my boyfriend in this part of the world. It is also a fantastic value for money- free wi-fi, use of laundry, towels, kitchen with utilities, complimentary tea and coffee. The common area upstairs includes panoramic roof top! and the newly renovated outdoor space downstairs offers a welcome respite from the heat during the hot summer days...
It is truly our home away from home.Thanks again for great hospitality x

Room Tip: double rooms have been recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighlanderPubRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

you can have your separate room and rest as in your own home. Actually, it is my second home now. The owners are very-very friendly and will answer for all your questions and needs 24/7.
if you will stay there ones, you will come back again.
Good price + nice location + excellent service + positive energy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niyaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipany, Slovakia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hostel is very spacious, with huge common room and a terrace. Tatiana treats all her guests as her children and is very helpful. She speaks both russian and english.
Tatiana cares about the hostel very well, creates a friendly atmosphere, introduces the guests, talks stories, gives tips...
During our visit the hostel was being reconstructed, but it didnt affect our stay. When I have seen one room which was already finished, I would like to come back and see the whole hostel after full reconstruction!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#6 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Betsy's Hotel
Betsy's Hotel
#14 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel British House
Hotel British House
#4 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.5 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rustaveli Hotel
Rustaveli Hotel
#33 of 116 in Tbilisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltzing Matilda City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltzing Matilda City Hostel

Property: Waltzing Matilda City Hostel
Address: 11, Al. Chavchavadze str., Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 431 Speciality Lodging in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Наш хостел расположен в самом центре Тбилиси недалеко от Оперного театра. У нас очень уютно - так считают наши гости, которые чувствуют себя здесь, как дома. Мы занимаем площадь 507 квадратных метров. В нашем хостеле много свободного места для отдыха, в том числе открытая терраса с видом на город. Комнаты солнечные. Просторные. Стоимость одного места в общеи комнате - 17 лари. Мы можем также предложить вам изолированные комнаты (от1 до 10 человек). Это стоит немного дороже, но цена весьма умеренная. В праис включены бесплатные чаи. Кофе, сахар, вы можете пользоваться интернетом, стиральнои машинои и кухнеи. Есть место для бесплатнои парковки. Вы можете забронировать места, написав нам прямо на электронную почту. Мы ответим вам подтверждением бронирования и ответим на ваши вопросы. Если вы прилетаете днем, до нас вы можете добраться на автобусе No37. Остановка - Оперныи театр. Переидете через подземку и проидете наверх по улице Александра Чавчавадзе до дома No11. Белая подъездная дверь, синии козырек. Если вы прилетаете ночью, вам придется нанять такси. Мы за дополнительную плату можем прислать за вами машину. Приезжаите, мы всегда рады принять вас. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Waltzing Matilda City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing