We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel British House
Ranked #4 of 126 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spent 5 nights during a business trip.Lovely clean hotel.Very modern with a nice cultural touches throughout.
Staff were the most courteous and informative I have come across yet.Nothing is too much trouble for them.
The choice for breakfast is the most comprehensive I've ever seen.
The room was comfortable, immaculate with everything you could ask for and they were cleaned everyday.
Although, it is not cheap, it is within normal Tbilisi hotel rates - and it really is excellent value for money.
Totally recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    63
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
106
71
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clophill
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A wonderful little hotel - personal service and friendly. Rooms were perfectly functional - and didn't need to be anything more than that.

Even leaving at 4am in the morning, staff were happy to get up and make a great breakfast and were friendly and generous always.

It's a perfect little boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tquinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

i am a mature traveler with large experience, who is picky about hotels but not overly so, and who does a great deal of reserarch before traveling so is rarely disappointed in the hotel chosen.
/
i stayed at the british house a number of times on my most recent (and my first ever) trip to georgia. tbilisi is great, as is the hotel british house. the rooms are large and beautifully furnished as in a home. the place is comfortable and was quiet. the baths were clean and large, the delux ones have a tub.
/
the reception is english speaking and so very friendly and endlessly helpful - spending huge amounts of time on my many and interminable needs and situations. the breakfst is typically georgian and delicious. and served at ANY time - book night before. conversation in the comfortable little lobby area with the people on duty (24 hours a day) is a good way to meet and get to know georgians. the place is immaculate and it is a pretty good location at the western end of the center - but at the opposite end form old town. there is THE HILL. if you are young and strong, you can walk up this to the hotel, or there is the 78 bus from across from the philharmonic ant the bottom of the hill (to the second stop and then one block downhill to the hotel), or if you are taking a taxi home from a restaurant, of course it is not an issue. it is obvoius why this place gets such high marks - it seserves them. stay here.

Room Tip: any room is fine, expensive ones have tubs. the street isn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FROOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

During my four-night stay in the late October I felt as if I was living in a caring family's house. This small hotel is very clean, its atmosphere homey and the service warm but professional. The staff organized on my request a concert ticket, and a day trip to the Kazbeg region for which Levan was my excellent driver-guide. So, I am very thankful to Tamar, Irakli and Irakli, Levan, and to the lady who cooked me breakfast. You all greatly contributed to my first visit to Georgia being an extraordinary experience. So much so, that I am already thinking of going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent a lovely overnight in Tbilisi at the British House. The establishment is personal - with honest, considerate care for their guests. A good breakfast, clean environs, and extra help with our questions (and baby bottles!) we are planning on returning. It has personality and charm - and represents a good alternative to both "back packer guest houses" and "the marriott". Not cookie cutter, not a party-house - A unique, quiet, simple hotel with a breakfast that just keeps coming!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherish_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is near the central avenue Rustavelis in a neighborhood with the qualities of a genuine old oriental city. The service is quick, friendly and reliable, and the hotel itself charming and peaceful. The travel and trip service is excellent. I immediately found a driver-guide,Levan, who took me to the somewhat hidden historical places I came to Georgia to see, and only those I wanted to see. La rareté absolu. Thanks to British House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjorn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great hotel, wonderful staff.
Stayed there for 5 days. Loved the hotel and staff, great location. Would return again.
Thank you for the pleasant stay. Georgia is a special place, everyone should visit (:

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 126 in Tbilisi
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
0.8 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#7 of 126 in Tbilisi
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#3 of 126 in Tbilisi
595 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mirobelle Hotel
Mirobelle Hotel
#16 of 126 in Tbilisi
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Betsy's Hotel
Betsy's Hotel
#14 of 126 in Tbilisi
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel British House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel British House

Property: Hotel British House
Address: 32 Chovelidze | Belinski St. 32, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Phone Number:
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tbilisi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tbilisi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
#5 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel British House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British House is a finely decorated four star hotel, located in the most elegant neighborhood Central Tbilisi, which is recognized as the most ecologically free area of the city, in close proximity to embassies, government offices, business and entertainment centers. The hotel is owned and operated by a citizen of Great Britain - Mr. John Etchells. It combines tasteful, cozy atmosphere and service of high European standards with original Georgian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel British House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel British

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing