We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in a 'unique' hotel market”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel British House
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Tbilisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

By all counts, Tbilisi is a strange hotel market, in that prices and availability are VERY high for the quality available.....given this reality, Hotel British House is a great find, and totally makes sense why it is #1 on TA.
It's located on really nice street in a very 'local' feeling area, not far from the 'main' drag, metro and even to walk all the way to main sq is approx. 15-20 mins.. It feels more like a 'bed and breakfast', but rooms are large, and you have privacy of a boutique hotel. Service is outstanding, very good English speaking, nice breakfast, good wifi and overall comfortable, very clean - everything you need and all at a very reasonable rate for this city. highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

My goodness, it's far and few between to find a place with such genuinely friendly staff (each and every one of them), such unique character, a very good location (once you get used to it) and quiet rooms too. Oh and that's not even thinking about the amazing breakfasts you get here, internet that works without a hitch and with strength time and time again, and an amazing small garden where you gather and mingle with new friends....a true delight to stay - I would recommend this over and over again - the owner's heart is in each and every staff member! (and I haven't left yet either - couldn't wait to write the review)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbnicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel British House for 6 days. I chose it because it was so highly rated on tripadvisor, and I think what really sets it apart is the staff. All the wonderful things people have been writing are true, they are extremely friendly, kind and helpful. They are able to arrange private tours to other places in Georgia, which was very helpful for me as I didn't find very many group tours beyond Mtskheta. The hotel itself is fine, though it could be a bit refreshed (someone mentioned in another review that it was very brown, I thought it sounded like a weird comment until I saw the place. It is very brown). The rooms are spacious, I had a single room, it was clean and it had a nice large comfortable bed, the bathroom had a tub, there is a fridge in the room and a kettle. The breakfast is copious--bread, yogurt, cake, a Georgian cheese pie, eggs, fruit, and a rotation of other dishes (once it was pancakes, a couple of times it was crepes) are served each morning. The main downside for me was the location, as most of what I wanted to do was near Freedom Square and the old town. It takes about half an hour to walk there (btw the staff consistently underestimates how long it takes to walk places, and I am not a slow walker), which is fine if the weather is good (which it was) but it would be a pain if it were raining. The metro station isn't "far" but it is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel (it is only one stop away from Freedom Square metro station). They offer a shuttle service for the airport but it is more expensive compared to a taxi, 20 euros (I took a cab to the airport for 35 GEL, about 15 euros). The hotel is a very good value, and there are lots of little shops where you can buy food and stuff nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frauchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights in British House and I will recommend here for everything. Room rate is a little bit expensive if compared with other hotels in Tbilisi but it definitely worths the price (you may have a discount pirce if you pay cash). Amazingly, Eka/Beka/Irakli will reply your email in 15mins!
HBH is located 10mins walk from Metro Rustavile (one station north to Freedom Square), and you need to ascend up for a short distance along Belinski Street (passing by many small shops where you can buy some fresh tomatoes). And it is quite near to many interesting sites in Tblisi, such as Funicular and Freedom Square. The hotel offers airport pickup service upon request for EUR20/group and their driver(speaks little English) will hold a sign at the gate.
Our double room is very clean and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast is included and offers a variety of local food. WIFI everywhere.
Also in HBH there is a very friendly tourist guide/driver Lavani. He is a handsome/smiling/good-English-speaker/tourism major graduate and has a comprehensive knowledge about the many(but indifference to me :P) monasteries around Tbilisi and Kaheti. Kaheti is his favourite area in Georgia (Vineyards!) so just take his "8-places" day trip to Kaheti (to the east of Tbilisi), costing $200 for us 2 ppl including lunch(outdoor sitting mushrooms and BBQ). Lavani also took us to Gori and other parts to the west of Tbilisi for another day trip at $160 including lunch in "Hunters Restaurant" (the milk chicken was so nice). Caucasian mountain and the roads deep in the forest were very impressive.
I would like to thank again to the lovely and extremly helpful staffs in HBH. They even helped us to book another hotel when we returned to Tbilisi 1 day earlier but HBH was then fully booked. Irakli made so many calls to ensure us a wonderful last-night in Georgia.

Room Tip: - Pay cash to get discount - Rooms facing to their garden might be better as our room to the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It's a small hotel with 8 rooms, but dont go on it's size. People here are very friendly and always ready to help you out.

The lady serving breakfast is very courteous, and Irakli the receptionist and the lady are cool guys with always helping attitude.

Room Tip: The top 2 rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varunpatial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

If you are looking for a Hotel at the central part of Tbilisi where there is access to all entertainment places, shops and restaurants. British House should be your choice!
I stayed in the hotel for around 25 days and never complained about anything as they have a friendly staff who are smiling whenever you meet them, they just serve you with big hearts! It was very easy to go for round trips inside Tbilisi as the staff was ready to share information. It's actually a very cozy hotel where you can have the feeling that you are at home. If I will be able in future to visit Tbilisi for sure I will directly knock the British House door! Thanks British House for making my visit in Tbilisi unforgettable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghazolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spent 5 nights during a business trip.Lovely clean hotel.Very modern with a nice cultural touches throughout.
Staff were the most courteous and informative I have come across yet.Nothing is too much trouble for them.
The choice for breakfast is the most comprehensive I've ever seen.
The room was comfortable, immaculate with everything you could ask for and they were cleaned everyday.
Although, it is not cheap, it is within normal Tbilisi hotel rates - and it really is excellent value for money.
Totally recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
Rooms Hotel Tbilisi
#1 of 144 in Tbilisi
763 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
Holiday Inn Tbilisi
#4 of 144 in Tbilisi
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
No12 Boutique Hotel
No12 Boutique Hotel
#16 of 144 in Tbilisi
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
Tbilisi Marriott Hotel
#7 of 144 in Tbilisi
512 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cron Palace Hotel
Cron Palace Hotel
#12 of 144 in Tbilisi
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Iveria Hotel, Tbilisi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel British House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel British House

Address: 32 Chovelidze | Belinski St. 32, Tbilisi 0108, Georgia
Phone Number:
Region: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tbilisi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tbilisi
#5 Business Hotel in Tbilisi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tbilisi
Price Range: £47 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel British House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
British House is a finely decorated four star hotel, located in the most elegant neighborhood Central Tbilisi, which is recognized as the most ecologically free area of the city, in close proximity to embassies, government offices, business and entertainment centers. The hotel is owned and operated by a citizen of Great Britain - Mr. John Etchells. It combines tasteful, cozy atmosphere and service of high European standards with original Georgian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel British House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel British

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing